We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
69
88
62
39
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
88
62
39
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on the rocks sea facing room light house visited this hotel indian ocean top floor excellent location south africa stunning views a lovely stay dolphins
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 292 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Memorable place to stay located on edge of south africa.
Would love to stay here again and again and again.
Sea facing rooms with balcony amazing view.
The staff is also too helpful we asked to arrange for shark cage diving they arranged all with there own with drop and pick up facility.
Even the food served was fabulous.
If visiting Mossel Bay one should not miss this hotel it itself is one place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinerprvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback on The Point Hotel! We are always thrilled to hear that our staff contributed towards making a guest's stay a happy one! Our views at The Point Hotel are incredible and Mossel Bay has such a wide range of activities - we look forward to hosting you here again.
with kind regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
197
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This offered so much and undelivered. Recommended by parents who had stayed here before, the views from the room were amazing but then it started going downhill. There were bugs in the lamp in the bathroom, the UHT milk provided with the tea and coffee was off - we asked for a jug of fresh milk in the end, and the food in the restaurant was not good. My boyfriend and I both chose the mussels which came with a gloopy sauce and there were cold with a film of something on top and were sent back. Total contrast to my parents meal who had cobb, and it was well presented and delicious. Needless to say, I felt extremely rough the following day and avoided the hotel food for the rest of the stay. Hopefully a one off experience but it hasn't left a good impression.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments received. The problems you experienced have been investigated and addressed. We aim to have high service levels and offer warm hospitality to all of our guests - feedback received allows us to pinpoint those areas we need to improve on.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Can recommend this hotel to all! This was an amazing few days. The hotel is absolutely ON THE rocks and the room service menus was awesome. (Perhaps the best that we have ever had). So much so that we just relaxed listened to the ocean and ordered room service. Everything was perfect and we will return every year.
Thanks to the owner and the lovely personnel we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: You need to stay a few days to truly enjoy and relax!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We are thrilled that you selected The Point Hotel and Mossel Bay as your honeymoon destination! We look forward to creating many happy memories for you and your family.
with kind regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This biggish hotel is good for a stop over between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth or for a stay to visit the local towns close by. It would be nicer in summer, we visited in winter. Rooms are comfortable, beds are only double or single. Stunning views.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view, choose one with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels We agree with you that the views are spectacular and invite you back to enjoy our newly refurbished restaurant as well as our updated rooms. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Enjoyed the view and the best part was opening the sliding door at night and falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks. Service was good

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels. The sound of the waves crashing against the rocks always a winner at The Point Hotel. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews