We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't deserve it's 4 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is listed as a 4-star hotel but falls far short of that in my opinion. The linen and towels were worn out and the bathroom didn’t even have washcloths. The hotel has a great view but is in dire need of a renovation or a downgrade to 3-stars. If you are happy staying at a 3-star hotel with great views then this hotel fits the bill -- it's priced OK for 3-stars. We were there on a dark, rainy day so the view and terrace couldn't compensate for the run down state of the room and common areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EH10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments received. We welcome all feedback whether it be positive or negative as this is our opportunity to improve our service levels. You will be pleased to note that The Point Hotel is in the process of refurbishing our rooms and we look forward to your return visit to experience our new and improved facilities.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Memorable place to stay located on edge of south africa.
Would love to stay here again and again and again.
Sea facing rooms with balcony amazing view.
The staff is also too helpful we asked to arrange for shark cage diving they arranged all with there own with drop and pick up facility.
Even the food served was fabulous.
If visiting Mossel Bay one should not miss this hotel it itself is one place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinerprvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback on The Point Hotel! We are always thrilled to hear that our staff contributed towards making a guest's stay a happy one! Our views at The Point Hotel are incredible and Mossel Bay has such a wide range of activities - we look forward to hosting you here again.
with kind regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This offered so much and undelivered. Recommended by parents who had stayed here before, the views from the room were amazing but then it started going downhill. There were bugs in the lamp in the bathroom, the UHT milk provided with the tea and coffee was off - we asked for a jug of fresh milk in the end, and the food in the restaurant was not good. My boyfriend and I both chose the mussels which came with a gloopy sauce and there were cold with a film of something on top and were sent back. Total contrast to my parents meal who had cobb, and it was well presented and delicious. Needless to say, I felt extremely rough the following day and avoided the hotel food for the rest of the stay. Hopefully a one off experience but it hasn't left a good impression.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMR0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments received. The problems you experienced have been investigated and addressed. We aim to have high service levels and offer warm hospitality to all of our guests - feedback received allows us to pinpoint those areas we need to improve on.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Can recommend this hotel to all! This was an amazing few days. The hotel is absolutely ON THE rocks and the room service menus was awesome. (Perhaps the best that we have ever had). So much so that we just relaxed listened to the ocean and ordered room service. Everything was perfect and we will return every year.
Thanks to the owner and the lovely personnel we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: You need to stay a few days to truly enjoy and relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We are thrilled that you selected The Point Hotel and Mossel Bay as your honeymoon destination! We look forward to creating many happy memories for you and your family.
with kind regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This biggish hotel is good for a stop over between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth or for a stay to visit the local towns close by. It would be nicer in summer, we visited in winter. Rooms are comfortable, beds are only double or single. Stunning views.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view, choose one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels We agree with you that the views are spectacular and invite you back to enjoy our newly refurbished restaurant as well as our updated rooms. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Enjoyed the view and the best part was opening the sliding door at night and falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks. Service was good

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels. The sound of the waves crashing against the rocks always a winner at The Point Hotel. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Monica,Leon,Lorraine & Charissa Bartmann friends and family from JHB Roodepoort area:
We were at the Point Hotel and Mosselbay for the 1st time ever for a wedding and stayed for
3 days. The Hotel location excellent, view excellent, staff now that i must admit better then the staff at the Table Bay hotel in Cape Town V & A. Neat, Friendly helpfull,make personal bookings for the geusts on request. We love the hotel and the area and the location.
The rooms beautiful sea views, neat and comfortable. we swam in the tidel pool it was amazing!
no pool needed here. We already booked 3 rooms for Dec 2012 for all our family to visit this stunning place. We will come back again and again everything is in walking distance and it is safe and the restuarants in the hotel and the area are all excellent. Well done to the Point Hotel and SOUTH AFRICA.

Room Tip: Higher floors; view;s to die for,- but all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica_B_12500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you to the Bartmann family for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels. We look forward to hosting you at The Point Hotel in December and that you will enjoy the newly refurbished restaurant and updated rooms.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
359 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
549 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
191 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Spa

Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $89 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, air-conditioned, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. Our in-house restaurant, The Lighthouse, serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge natural tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe swimming and bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze. The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combined with professional hospitality makes this a superb choice of venue for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Point Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing