We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Reviewed March 23, 2012

As I am typing this review I am sitting on my veranda with a cup of coffee. This is a beautiful hotel with absolutely stunning views of the sea. The staff are all very friendly and they will help you with anything you ask them. My room is huge with beautiful corner bath and corner shower. The breakfast is good and you don't need more to eat as to what's on offer and if you want to complain about breakfast then call yourself a little piggy. We have had two suppers here so far and it is good food and the pricing is good. My wife and I are staying here for seven days and we are in our fourth day so far and we are very much enjoying it here.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Pierre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 265 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

Beautiful location with magnificent views. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed the freshly baked scones at breakfast . Will be happy to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfer12300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! I must admit our fresh scones are great. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Point Hotel, Mossel Bay.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We spent one night here, which was more than enough. The hotel does have great views and being able to swim in amongst the rocks is fantastic, although to be fair you can swim there even if you don't stay at the hotel as the are publicly accessible. The hotel is in need of a real facelift, the corridors have a strange smell about them and the place looks generally tired. We didn't try the resturant as it looked like something from fawtly towers, and when we returned to our room for a night's sleep the sounds of the ocean managed to keep us awake for most of the night, a high price to pay for such a remarkable view.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan-Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Location very good but that's about it. Room and decor very dated. While location was really good when it's foggy the lighthouse sends warning sounds all night and it was impossible to get any sleep on the very small bed. Don't eat at the restaurant. However staff were very friendly and it wasn't an expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments received. We welcome all feedback whether it be positive or negative as this is our opportunity to improve our service levels. You will be pleased to note that The Point Hotel is in the process of refurbishing our restaurant and rooms and we look forward to your return visit to experience our new and improved facilities.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The view maybe 4 stars but hotel is bland and dated. It feels more like a 3 star motel. The restaurant is ok but nothing special. The staff are very friendly however, it's just shame they don't renovate.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jah2864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChantelMosselBay, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding our great service levels. We are pleased to advise you that we are in fact in progress with refurbishments to the hotel this year and will soon have a newly upgraded restaurant and rooms. We would love you to come back and enjoy the upgraded facilities.
with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager, The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Walked in on the door, got a good (slightly out of season) rate. The room on the 5th floor had great views of the ocean, watched dolphins and either a sea lion or sea otter from the balcony. . . . The hotel is having a right result on account of the free swimming pool provided by mother nature adjacently located, 'appen you can only use it when the tides in, but we organised our day round high tide to make use of it. The crashing waves on the rocks make for an exhilarating time for the adventurous (reminiscent of an "old spice" advert I remember) - but this is optional, as also provided by the good Lord is a much calmer area for gentle breast stroke . . . .
The included breakfast was perfectly acceptable, and the bed was comfy enough.
Only downside was the fee for the wifi (but lots of places charge in SA at the moment) but Im sure it will change.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylortowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

We agree 100% on the fantastic sea views at The Point Hotel. Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The location and sea views from individual rooms are outstanding. The hotel interiors (lobby, restaurant, and rooms) are bland and sterile (you could be anywhere). We stayed one night and it was okay, but a little pricey for so little atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are pleased to announce that we are in progress with refurbishments to our restaurant and rooms which will update our look. We look forward to hosting you on a return trip to view the successful results.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager, The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
17.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
18.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
204 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Diaz Hotel & Resort
Diaz Hotel & Resort
#6 of 9 in Mossel Bay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Spa

Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $111 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, air-conditioned, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. Our in-house restaurant, The Lighthouse, serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge natural tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe swimming and bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze. The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combined with professional hospitality makes this a superb choice of venue for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Point Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing