We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exciting! not scary”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Shark Africa

White Shark Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exciting! not scary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

White Shark Africa's Great White Shark cage diving experience has definitely got to be on one's To Do List!
I thought it would be terrifying, but in fact it was more exciting and thrilling and a great morning's adventure. I felt safe and well taken care of at all times. The staff are entertaining, hands-on, knowledgable and very helpful.
The visibility in the water was not that great on our particular trip but the on-board viewing was fantastic. There were sharks galore, quite interesting considering seal island is so close to shore.
It was winter when we participated - winter being the better time to view the sharks as there are more in the area and hence one would stand a better chance of seeing them.
I would do this excursion again and on the next trip I would pack warmer clothes! When they say bring a big warm jacket, pull on your woollen socks, big boots and huge jacket to go out there, oh, and take your gloves and beanie too! It was COLD but once you are in the wetsuit - the cold no longer crosses your mind, there are more exciting things to think about!
Breakfast and lunch are provided as well as wetsuits, booties and masks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    46
    12
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is a must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

A really great thrill to do, you will have close encounters with white sharks, its amazing so close at the beach. They throw some dead sardine juice in the water and after 15 minutes the sharks are there…

The action is great the pull big fish to the cage, so the sharks will hit and touch the cage the thrill is amazing and very good. You will regret it if you don’t do it.

I will not dive in this place!!!!!

Link to video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wfnybsp0bFI

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Experience of our Lives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My partner & I stayed a night in Mossel Bay to experience a shark dive as sharks have been a fascination of mine for years, and we are so glad we did!

We started around 10am and enjoyed breakfast which was prepared for us before hand while watching a shark documentary made in Mossel Bay. We were then given a brief and a talk about safety before being led down to the harbour to board our boat.

The journey was only around 20 minutes. We then put on our wetsuits while the staff threw out chum to attract the sharks which didn't take long at all! without wasting any time, as soon as the first sharks were seen we were told to get in the cage.

Though the cage looks quite old & battered we didn't feel in any danger at all (looking at the video footage from my GoPro, you wouldn't believe it!). We saw 12 different sharks and were constantly underwater watching them swim past, attack the bait and hit our cage!

The staff had were so friendly and did their best to give us the best sightings; you could tell they enjoyed their jobs.

We were in the water for around 40 minutes, but we were lucky that not many people had booked on that trip as we got to stay in for twice as long as usual.
After the experience was over we were taken back to the premises and shown our video.
I also ordered a shirt to be delivered back home which came a few weeks after i was back, a great service if they don't have your stock in size!

Overall we had a great time...if you are thinking of booking onto this excursion....DO IT!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibby36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were a bit in doubt wether or not to go here, but are we glad that we did.
Admitted, it is not cheap(around 100euro) but it was so, so, so amazing.

We were nose to nose with these great animals and also from the boat got great views and dito pictures. Would recommend this!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wouterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great shark viewing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great shark viewing, short boat ride just out of the harbor.
Friendly crew.

Food was basic but good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Shark Africa also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to White Shark Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing