We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the hamburgers!”

Route 57 Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 86 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Route 57 Restaurant, Mossel Bay, is an association between international golfing star, The 2010 Open Champion, Louis Oosthuizen and well known Mossel Bay Restauranteurs Ilze Nel and Chef Anzelle Zeelie. The Route 57 Experience - we pride ourselves in serving you South African Cuisine with true South African Hospitality!
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try the hamburgers!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We didn't have dinner, but a late lunch there, so we decided to order burgers, which were very tasty and creative. For example the "King Louis Burger" with bacon, pineapple, cheese and mushroom sauce. The service was a bit slow, but this is quite common in SA, so not really a negative point.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you very much for the review. We are pleased to hear you had a fantastic meal. We strive to give only the best and friendliness service. Will look into your remark & make sure we don't drop the ball on service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    112
    46
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Uniquely Themed”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent food and service in an old house artistically themed to create a unique atmosphere. Good value for money. Very neat, clean and quiet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank des h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! Hope to serve you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southafrica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

the food is excellent and the prices for what you get are good. service is fast and efficient. small step inside on way to loo is very dangerous. i fell and hurt my knee. it should be sloped. quaint house with many smaller rooms. have gone back many times. book beforehand

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annsouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Route 57 & for bringing the dangerous step under our attention. We will definitely look into the problem & correct it as soon as possible. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy !”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

No down side to this restaurant ...excellent food served by attentive staff in an atmospheric setting. Book early as the word is getting out !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phantom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about Route 57. We appreciate it and trust that we will see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Brilliant service and value”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just a bit of advice, if you intend having a meal here, book in advance as there is a good chance you will not get a table otherwise!! The service from the minute we walked in was brilliant. The casual yet elegant style is just what we wanted. The speed of service was amazing (maybe it was because we were the first customers for the evening?). The presentation and quality of the food was also top notch!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We appreciate your review. Hope to serve you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 57 Restaurant also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Route 57 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing