We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”

Route 57 Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 89 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Route 57 Restaurant, Mossel Bay, is an association between international golfing star, The 2010 Open Champion, Louis Oosthuizen and well known Mossel Bay Restauranteur Anzelle Zeelie. The Route 57 Experience - we pride ourselves in serving you South African Cuisine with true South African Hospitality! Trio of Venison (Kudu, Ostrich and Springbuck), Cape Malay Curry, Fresh Fish, AAA Beef Steaks, Pork Belly, Lamb Neck, Ostrich Boboti, Pepper-crusted Fillet and many more superb dishes to choose from. 
Reviewed March 29, 2014

the food is excellent and the prices for what you get are good. service is fast and efficient. small step inside on way to loo is very dangerous. i fell and hurt my knee. it should be sloped. quaint house with many smaller rooms. have gone back many times. book beforehand

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annsouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Route 57 & for bringing the dangerous step under our attention. We will definitely look into the problem & correct it as soon as possible. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 408 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

No down side to this restaurant ...excellent food served by attentive staff in an atmospheric setting. Book early as the word is getting out !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phantom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about Route 57. We appreciate it and trust that we will see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just a bit of advice, if you intend having a meal here, book in advance as there is a good chance you will not get a table otherwise!! The service from the minute we walked in was brilliant. The casual yet elegant style is just what we wanted. The speed of service was amazing (maybe it was because we were the first customers for the evening?). The presentation and quality of the food was also top notch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We appreciate your review. Hope to serve you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We ate here on the recommendation of our guest house owner and were very pleased we did. Booked in advance which is probably necessary. It is much plusher once inside than it looks from the outside. It has several smallish rooms so has a very cosy feel. The service, wine and food were very good. Part owned by golfer Louis Oosthuizen, with much memorabilia on the walls.

Thank DaveC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for writing a review about Route 57. Hopefully we can treat you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I went here for the first time with my parents and wife. I had heard that it was one of the few very good restaurants in the area and so expectations were high. I was not disappointed.

I found a great selection of different dishes to choose from and the service was great. The wine selection was also great. After a two week trip in Mossel Bay I fully understand why the restaurant has its reputation.

The only minor suggestion I can make for improvement is for the creme brulee portion size to be bigger!

Thank MattHaydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for writing a review about Route 57 Restaurant. We value your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 57 Restaurant also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Route 57 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing