We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to be”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent two nights at Outeniqua Moon and found it the most relaxing and one of the most harmonious and beautiful places on earth. The scenery makes you feel you're in paradise. There is a lovely long-shaped refreshing pool in the garden oberlooking the mountains. White horses walk around at leisure. The farm is very spacious and ideal for children with the most creative little playground in the front. The experience with the horses is a definite must. These gentle giants are not only indescribable beauties, they are therpeutic in the peace and friendliness they radiate. Christine Watt, who runs the place, understands the needs and personality of each and every horse, which adds to the peace and harmony. It is possible to sit, and lie on the horses. There was a newly born foal which allowed us to muzzle up close together with its happy mom. The cart ride is an unforgettable scenic experience.
The bedrooms are lovely, decorative, with very comfortable beds. It makes a person feel at home with the extra special treat. Christine cooks excellently. We had steak filets on the second night with delicious home-made chips. This was the best meat and the freshest chips we've ever eaten, followed by yummy creme brulet (wow!).
It is a place to visit and a place you will never forget.
The price is very reasonable and definitely value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Manager at Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
A big thank you for your generous review, we appreciate it so much that you chose us for your holiday destination. Christine does seem to have a way with food, and I will make sure she reads your input. Your pictures are stunning, thank you so much for posting them:)

Regards
Jeni
Outeniqua Moon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
22
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kassel, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I can just agree with Alex (pls see feedback below).
It was a wonderful stay, absolutely idyllic.
If you want to relax for some days this is definitely the perfect place.
We had a beautiful day there, could swim in the pool for the whole day
and finally had an incredible tasty dinner.
Thanks Chrissie for the nice and welcoming atmosphere!

Aileen

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AileenVanCava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Manager at Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Aileen

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, please stay in contact :) Thank you for the wonderful feedback, every word is deeply appreciated.

Kind regards
Jeni
Outeniqua Moon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruhl, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

my wife and me had a very nice stay at the guest farm. The horses are big, the dogs huge and very friendly and the owners mad us feel really comfortable and welcome! Best dinner in SouthAfrica and we definetly recommend the place for other travellers and will come back on our next visit to the country!

Room Tip: We were lucky to get the lovely honeymoon suite, go for it! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Manager at Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing compliment on Christine's cooking :) She truly loves feeding people and your feedback gave her a huge smile. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Jeni
Outeniqua Moon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I find it very difficult to find words to describe this place, but I find myself having this yearning look on my face when I take my mind back to this location. The few days I spent there made me enter a world in which I was able to come as close to perfect relaxation as possible.
At the Outeniqua Moon Farm, which was recommended to me by an expert of South African travelling spots and backpackers/hostels, things are simple, just like they are supposed to be when you're on holiday. You wake up with this beautiful scenery around you, huge but friendly animals (wether it's horses or dogs, these animals are impressively BIG) greet you, you take a swim in the 20m pool and „every little thing is gonna be alright“. The nice staff is more than helpful and the lovely and cheap rooms are very comfortable. I suppose the most fitting word is harmony, a unique type of harmony is what you will find.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing M, Manager at Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
You really have a way with words Jakob. Thank you so very much for the compliments, and we hope you will visit again :)

Kind regards
Jeni
Outeniqua Moon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Outeniqua Moon is one of those special gems that one stumbles upon only by some carefully orchestrated accident of the cosmos. The place itself is spectacular through and through, vibrating with a balance of serenity and natural vitality and beautiful people and creatures.

Feel the grass between your toes, spend time with the wonderfully unique characters who are lucky enough to call this home, look into the infinite eyes of those magical horses, be fed great food, and take a moment out of the hurricane that is the rest of the world to regroup and find your centre.

Couple, family, friends, lone wolf, high flyer or vagabond, I guarantee you will fall in love.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

What can I say about this amazing space? Every time I start to write, my words seem wholly inadequate to describe the feelings of peace, welcome and general awesomeness that envelop me every time I visit Christine, Peter and the animals at Outeniqua moon. The guest house is set amongst rolling green paddocks in the foothills of the beautiful Outeniqua mountains in the heart of South Africa's coastal garden route. Christine and her team have decorated the rooms to luxurious perfection and work tirelessly to ensure that the guests' every need is catered to. From farm fresh bacon and egg breakfasts, to cart rides with Bobby the Percheron and relaxing by the pool, Outeniqua moon has everything you need to leave the city stress behind and let your soul soak up the feelings of peace and wellbeing that pervade this magical place. If you do feel a little more active, activities like game viewing, surfing or hiking are within easy reach for the adventurous traveller. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Do yourself a favour and pay them a visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Outeniqua Moon was my first stop after leaving Cape Town. Comming from the hectic and crowded city it was like stepping into another world. Absolutely peaceful and stunning place. The whole farm is surrounded by this untroubled and amicable atmosphere. The landscape is overwhelming and invites you to beautiful excursions into nature. A place to relax your mind and let go from all negative thoughts. See you again soon Outeniqua Moon!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
12.8 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 32 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
6.5 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
17.7 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 32 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm

Property: Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm
Address: Ruiterbos | R328, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm is a farm with a difference. Situated at the foot of the Robinson Pass, we offer spectacular mountain views. Not only do our guests enjoy the luxurious Victorian-style self-catering units, they are also given the opportunity to interact with the majestic, regal heavy draft horses that we breed and protect on the farm. A visit includes an exciting cart ride over Fynbos-covered lands on the illustrious Bobby that leaves our guests exhilarated and invigorated. It is a bird-watchers paradise, the African silence broken by the singing, twittering, chirping, tweeting and whistling of the huge variety of birds that share their land with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Outeniqua Moon Percheron Stud and Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing