We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fixed Cavery”

MOSSEL BAY Ponto Grille & Carvery
Ranked #21 of 83 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fixed Cavery”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the fixed menu carvery as offered on Saturday afternoon. Good value for money and friendly service with a good view on the sea!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Easyref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy P, Manager at MOSSEL BAY Ponto Grille & Carvery, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest

A nice meal on a Saturday afternoon with a good view can only leave you happy - we're thrilled that you had a great time with us and hope to see you soon to create more happy moments!

Thank you very much for taking the time to boost our spirits with such a positive review - we truly appreciate it.

All the best

The Ponto team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    73
    33
    13
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Value.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been going to Pontos since it opened and have never been disappointed. I always have the 500gram Rump Steak, good value at R98.00. their Buffet is also excellent. Definitely a must for anobody visiting Mossel Bay

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy P, Manager at MOSSEL BAY Ponto Grille & Carvery, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very very much for taking the time to rate us! It makes us so excited to know you keep coming back and enjoy dining with us.

We appreciate your patronage and loyalty tremendously!

Best Regards

All of us at Ponto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food / Setting”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Friendly Staff / Kitchen staff - service were quick - i would say good Management / Front Desk Management again i would like to have / see a indoor & outdoor kiddies area somewhere close to Point

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank yolande k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy P, Manager at MOSSEL BAY Ponto Grille & Carvery, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us of your experience - we are thrilled that you enjoyed dining with us and noticed our friendly staff - we enjoy cooking great food for great customers and love working together to create happy, memorable moments.

A safe and comfortable kiddies area is definately something we'll work towards in the future - thank you for the reminder.

We hope to host you soon in the near future.

Best Regards

The Ponto Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Value Great View”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

With a magnificent view of the waves breaking on the rocks at The Point Mossel Bay, this restaurant offers great value for tourists and locals alike. My daughter and I spent a week in Mossel Bay and this was one of our favourite spots to visit for a great meal of just a drink on the deck

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy P, Manager at MOSSEL BAY Ponto Grille & Carvery, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mike

We miss you and Sasha! Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us and write a beautiful note - we enjoyed hosting you and hope that you'll return soon to make many more special Mossel Bay memories!

All the best to you two

All of us at Ponto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good buffet”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We used to love going to Pontos but i must admit that our last visit was a bit of a let-down. The buffet was nice although they advertised salmon pasta on the blackboard but alas nothing on the buffet. Desserts were average and lemon meringue very very sweet. But we still enjoy going there ... beautiful views.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuanitaBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kika289, Manager at MOSSEL BAY Ponto Grille & Carvery, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us - we value your feedback and would hate it if you ever stop to 'love coming to us'...

We ritually serve a smoked salmon sauce separate from the pasta drizzled with olive oil on our Wednesday Night Seafood Buffet - I sincerely apologise that is was not on display when you visited and can assure you you that it will be there in the future. I will review the lemon meringue recipe and take all your comments to heart as we would really like you to return, not only for the great view but for a great dining experience.

Please don't hesitate to contact us should there be anything we can do to make your future visit to us more memorable.

Best regards
Wendy Pace
Ponto Grille & Carvery
044 6905574
071 4807222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MOSSEL BAY Ponto Grille & Carvery also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to MOSSEL BAY Ponto Grille & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing