We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Dining”

Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 83 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This cosy coffee shop is situated in a Victorian-inspired pavilion, with outdoor seating available in the lush courtyard. Breakfast and lunch are served - and whether you feel like a cappuccino and a slice of cake, a breakfast or a light lunch, Fynbos Coffee Shop serves it with flair. It is a busy coffee shop and popular lunchtime meeting spot during the day. Dishes are inspired by local availability, trends and the seasons, with something for every taste. Due to the nature of our business we do not allow children under ten years.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

For many years, Fynbos has been one of our favourite stops in Mosselbay - be it to take my aged mother for tea and their legendary apple pie, or to go fine dining with my fiance. We love this place so much, that we have decided to use Fynbos for our High Tea and Champagne celebration after our wedding in Feb 14! We could not wish for a more stylich beautifully decorated environment to share this beautiful day with all our loved ones. However it is with sadness that we've learnt that theresident chef has not renewed his lease and that the Fynbos rstaurant will revert back to a Coffee Shop. We wish the Fynbos management well in trust that they will find suitable personell to build up an their fine tradition of warm friendly service with excellent food in a beautiful surrounding!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    26
    8
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Firm Favourite Despite the Music”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Fynbos is accessed through the security gate in the adjoining gift shop, but don't let that put you off. I've been there for lunch with my wife on two occasions and I can tell you that if you only have time for one meal in Mossel Bay you won't go far wrong with Fynbos.

The first thing you'll notice is how many locals there are eating here, its clearly not just a favourite restaurant of mine. The lunch menu is smallish but there is a specials board which usually includes a few local South African dishes as well as a fish and soup of the day. The food is not especially adventurous, but is, fresh ingredients cooked with attention to the flavour and presentation. The portions are generous (possibly too large for lunch), so you may want to pace yourself as the desserts are excellent.

The only real downside is the music which is a classical track that lasts about 3 minutes. This is played on a continuous loop. Its difficult to see why what is otherwise such a good restaurant can't get a few more tracks to its background music, whilst this is only a minor issue as a visitor you get the impression that the staff must be quietly going mad (though they're too polite to show it).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rorcster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inzell, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just great”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, awesome cakes, delicious coffee and friendly staff! We had a very nice afternoon in the Fynbos Restaurant and would love to call in there again soon! This is definitely a place we would recommend to our friends and family!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
261 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Delicious Blueburry Tart”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped by for a coffee and dessert break and it was just great..coffee was great, and the blueburry tart was so delicious you can't have enough..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money and food is really good”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely ambience, excellent chef and great food what could be better! For the same price you could have a below average meal in a well known cowboy eatery. Here you can have a really nice dinner with great atmosphere. Booking is essential because space is limited!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing