We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diaz Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Booked the room with booking.com said they offer free internet. They DO NOT!
Very poor service from front desk.
The view from the Hotel room was amazing.
The hotel room itself was not so great.
Very pricey 181.00Cdn Would NOT BOOK AGAIN

Room Tip: We had a beach view, only room with a skeleton key. All other rooms had card keys?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 125 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

JamesCapeTown
I stayed 29 Feb .2012 On arrival my booking was misplaced.My room was not 4 star clean. I ordered room service but was told you "are eating buffet for dinner" I went down to the restaurant ,there was a tour group and most of the food was finished.(21:00) There was no beef for me to eat and the little food that was left looked very ordinary , worse than at home .When i asked the chef he just replied it is not his fault.No manager approached me .This is the kind of service that makes us a bad tourism destination . what must these overseas guests think ?
Please don`t bother contacting me , you had your chance Diaz and blew it ,BIG TIME

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

It's everyone's dream to stay right on the beach with so much entertainment and scenery around you at a price you can afford. The indoor heated pool and SPA about 30 meters away, a lovely shopping center that caters for the necessary, a few restaurants to choose from, a swimming pool that glitters and the beach on your doorstep, keeps you away from using a car for days. The friendly staff, lovely rooms, beautiful views from the balcony over the ocean and the fantastic food, contributes to the most enjoyable stay you can ever think of. Other historical scenery, shopping malls, game farms, golf courses, etc are in a radius of 20km,s. The Diaz hotel is a must on everyone's holiday list.

Room Tip: Just request a room with a view over the ocean. There are many available. To enjoy a good rest, atay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeinPortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have been here once and had a fantastic stay. From check-inn to departing the guys were awesome. On arrival, some how my booking information was mistaken by putting me in a smoking area room and i questioned it, because i am a none smoker. With immediate affect, the porter phoned reception, and apologies for the inconvenience caused and moved me 3 floors up and gave me a bigger room. What a quick and excellent service.

Room Tip: Book the rooms that overlook the bay, awesome in the morning with sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The Diaz Strand Hotel at Mossel Bay is wonderfully positioned overlooking the bay, on the outskirts of the town, and has a small shopping centre attached where free internet access is available. The room was large, with a balcony to take advantage of the view. There was a problem with the temperature of the buffet food on the first night, but on the second night a staff member made sure that the lids were quickly replaced over the food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights this past weekend. We stayed in a suite on the 11th floor and the views from our balcony and the bedroom were breathtaking. The hotel self is in a fairly good condition, it has a mini market with everything you need as part of the complex. The breakfast buffet was good and again the views from the breakfast room were amazing. For some reason there were no face cloths in the bathroom and despite requesting some to be sent to our room twice, these never arrived. Otherwise the stay was very relaxing and I would go back any time.

Room Tip: Choose a suite on the 11th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonniCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have experience the hospitality of the hotel & resort on various occasions, and all we can say is excellent!! We normally book well in advance for even a week-end, due to the popularity and high demand for accommodation in this hotel. From the friendly and helpful staff at reception desk to the room- and dinning room staff, that go out of their way to make you feel welcome and special and assist to make your stay a memorable one.

All the rooms are sea facing, the higher the better we find, because it gives you a panaramic view from George mountains to the left to Mossel Bay town on the right with 90% of the front view overlooking the bay. If you are visiting in summertime, whales visit the bay regularly to give bith to their calves, you could be in luck to view these magnificent creatures from the luxury of your room's balcony - visit the hotels website gallery to sea pictures.

If you like to fall asleep with the sound of breaking waves, you will not be dissapointed! If the sound is too loud you can close the windows and sliding door, and enjoy the quitness of the room.

From the hotel you have access to shopping facilities "next door" that cater from beverages to beach wear and beach gear (sandals, costumes and umbrellas) for anything that you might have forgot to bring along. You walk from the hotel right onto the beach, walking for kilometres either way on the beach.

Other popular facilities that is also "next door" is an entertainment centre for young and older people (that is still young at heart) and enjoy water activities like waterslides (awesome, say a 50++ grandpa ), tube rides and mini golf. To enter these facilitiies, as well as a warm water pool centre, ask reception staff about access.

Then there are a variety of bars and restaurants in close proximity of the hotel to satisfy each and every one's taste. Having said this, the food that you will be served at the hotel won't give you reason to visit these places on a regular basis, in between maybe and for a sundowner, yes.

Mossel Bay is also very central for exploring the Garden Route and neibouring towns like the famous Hartenbos, George and Oudshoorn (ostrich mecca).

Overall, I can recommend this hotel and the facilities without any doubt to all local South African people as well as to visiting people from abroad.

Peet148

Room Tip: 1. Request a room to your preference, smoking or non-smoking, corner suites are normally larger with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peet148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1.2 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
3.4 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
204 reviews
18.9 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
16 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diaz Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diaz Hotel & Resort

Address: 1 Beach East Boulevard | Diaz Strand, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa (Formerly Diaz Strand Hotel & Resort)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diaz Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the picturesque Garden Route, in the historically-rich and climatically-temperate town of Mossel Bay, and right at the ocean's edge, lies a celebration of opulence and splendour: the matchless Diaz Hotel & Resort. Located only 10m from the high-water mark, it offers spectacular ocean views from every window and private balcony. It is the perfect venue for your next dream beach holiday, corporate brainstorming sessions or year end functions. It offers 81 bedrooms and 5 suites, all en-suite with separate bath and shower, private balconies and uninterrupted sea views. Packages include breakfast and undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Diaz Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing