We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at a beautiful spot - Lovely hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Air del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mossel Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Air del Mar
Ranked #10 of 53 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at a beautiful spot - Lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at this excellent B&B for (only :-/ ) two nights and loved it ! The guest house is beautifully located directly on top of the beach with excellent views to the sea. The whole interior is made with so much diligence you can realize right away that the Hosts, Susan and Fred, are dedicated to making your stay a most pleasant experience.
Susan was giving us a "feel-home" throughout the whole stay. She helped us with making dinner arrangements and getting to play Golf at Mossel Bay Golf club.
And: I have never had such a good full breakfast. It's made with so much love and beautifully arranged that you hesitate to eat this "art of breakfast" :-)
Definitely can recommend and definitely looking forward to our next stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed at Room 3, but all rooms are equally recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_BAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
55
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed in Mossel Bay for one night on a stop over from Hermanus to Plettenburg and we were disappointed when we arrived as we wished we had booked to stay for longer. The house is beautifully decorated with stunning views of the beach and sea. The host Susan was so welcoming and obviously takes great pride in her guesthouse and what she does which shone through. Can't recommend highly enough if you're staying in Mossel Bay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECharlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We travelled the garden route and mistakingly booked our accommodation for a different hotel for the previous night. In a shambles, someone suggested Air del Mar.. thank GOODNESS! What an amazing surprise. We managed to get in. We are 2 travel agents from Australia (I know, we stuffed up our own booking) and we were travelling the garden route with our family. Susan was amazing and really made our time in Mossel Bay worth while. While sitting on our balcony sipping fine red wine, we spotted a group of whales less than 100m from the front deck! INCREDIBLE! The breakfast was 5* and the place was too. Much deserved for Susan and her B&B. We will definitely be back and send all our clients here too. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This guesthouse is absolutely beautiful, with breaktaking views of the ocean, as it is, of course very close to the beach. The rooms are well appointed with luxurious linen and lovely bathrooms. Good WIFI. But the highlight must be the scrumptuous breakfasts Susan cooks every morning. It was an adventure to see the different place settings every day, with the cooked breakfast a surprize we looked forward to each day! Susan is a most gracious host and her take on interior decorating an inspiration. Certainly one of the best guest houses we have ever stayed in, we had lovely relaxing time and felt thoroughly pampered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrietMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The most romantic and accurate accomodation during our 16 days journey in South Africa.
The location is wonderful and passion of Susan, the owner, in making the guests having a wonderful experience is amazing. I warmly suggest Air del Mar to couples looking for a romantic staying!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciro_Morra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I visit Air del Mar once a month on my business trip to the Garden Route, and it has become my home away from home. I would definitely recommend this to anybody that appreciates the finer things in life. The rooms are always in immaculate condition. #beautiful #fluffy #whitelinen. And then you get to breakfast.............. What a treat! Never in my life have I experienced breakfast made with love, like this. #fresh #juicyfruit #mouthwatering # scrumptious #yummybreakfast. Food presentation = 10 out of 10. I would recommend Air del Mar for all travelers, business, family and honeymoon couples.
Air del Mar wil NEVER dissappoint you. It is really something out of this world.
I just arrived back from dinner, got into my spa bath, switched on the airconditioner and made myself comfortable. Got into bed...... It wasn't a cold bed, Susan came upstairs while I was away and switched on my electric blanket. Me in my warm bed, enjoying a packet of nuts and chocolates out the mini bar. Ready for a peaceful sleep. Hearing the the beautiful roar of he ocean in the background. What more do you want? Good night all. Yvette Maritz xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were most disappointed to not be able to stay at our regular guest house in Mossel Bay and were recommended to try Air del Mar!!! What a beautiful home with spectacular views. Our host Susan could not have done more to make us feel welcome. The rooms were wonderful, bathrooms gorgeous and the facilities and proximity to the ocean could not have been better!!! Our breakfast was way beyond our expectations (so delicious and beautifully presented) and the decor and facilities 5 star!!! Thank you to Susan and her husband for a truely wonderful and warm stay only wish it was on a happier occasion and for a longer stay. We will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: We loved the suite with its own kitchen and lounge area!!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
14.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
6.3 mi away
C  the View Guesthouse
C the View Guesthouse
#8 of 53 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#5 of 53 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Air del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Air del Mar

Property: Air del Mar
Address: 12 Awie Dodd Street | Bayview, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Air del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience why people say this is paradise in every sense of the word. Everyone who stays at Air del Mar falls in love with its spectacular, unspoiled natural beauty and harmonious, safe and tranquil lifestyle. Owned and managed by Fred & Susan Bezuidenhout for the past 10 years. The bay becomes South Africa's whale nursery between May and November, when the Southern Right whales arrive to mate and calve. Air del Mar offers its guests the opportunity to walk, swim or laze in safety on endless beaches just a few steps away. We are situated right next to the ocean with private stairs down onto the beach. Let the waves lull you to sleep at night. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing