We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect place on the earth-very beautiful. Thank you for all.”
Review of Air del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mossel Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Air del Mar
Ranked #12 of 52 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Bremen, Germany
1 review
“a perfect place on the earth-very beautiful. Thank you for all.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

the house with familiar flair. Very welcoming and kind. Good service. On request there is also Restauranttips nearby. The third time have been in this house. Again and again, very nice. A highlight of our trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enzianpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
57
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I couldn't have been happier arriving at Air Del Mar!!! A perfect spot for honeymooners and anyone looking for relaxing and breathtaking views of the sea and sunsets, impeccable taste in food and decor, friendly hostess and excellent service... We absolutely enjoyed our stay and would be back in a heartbeat - save for work!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This owner managed guest house right on the beach in Mosselbay offers the the optimum mix of comfort, care, good cuisine and relaxation. The breakfasts are made personally by Susan, with heaps of TLC and are just soooo good! Susan and her hubby are around if you need them and are available to give you info. on the local eateries and attractions, but not' in your face' like some proprietors are. The location is just incredible, you stroll off the lawn on to the beach and into the Indian Ocean! The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need....it is just a stunning place to stay!

Room Tip: Any of the Sea facing rooms are just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capesplendour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

It was the absolute high-end accomodation with the most lovely owners i have ever met. Felt like beeing at home. The view is fabulous and the house is arranged in the best of taste! The breakfast is prepared by the owner herself with tender and loving care. All wishes are respected. There's no better holiday than relaxing on this incredible terrace or being lulled to sleep by the sounds of the sea. I can't wait to get back...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeNotNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A wonderful location,The most friendly hosts I ever experienced.
Susan, you're a wonderful, remarcable woman.Your hospitality cannot be described.
Your breakfasts were breathtaking.I thank you so much for everything and I sincerely hope I can come back ,one day,
André,Monique and Filip from Belgium

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanderheydenandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have just returned from a 2 week trip to South Africa and can honestly say that this was my favourite place that we stayed in. The accommodation is just wonderful - beautifully and stylishly decorated with a fantastic view of the sea. Susan is absolutely lovely, so welcoming, accommodating and helpful. She made us feel so special and relaxed and could not do enough for us. The breakfasts that she served us were magnificent - so beautifully presented!
The location is perfect - a short (5 min) drive from Mossel Bay, right on the beach. We went to sleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the shore and went running on the beach each morning (4 miles or so). I couldn't recommend this place more highly. Thank you Susan for such a wonderful stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Truly hard to believe how nice this B&B really is until you stay here. The website photos simply dont do it justice. Every aspect of this facility is 5 stars and so perfectly well appointed. My wife and I simply can't believe how lucky we were to find this and glad we reviewed TripAdvisor so we could have the chance to stay here. Otherwise we would have never known about this gem of a B&B located right on a magical beach in Bayview, the high end area of Mossel Bay. Actually most of Mossel Bay has no real beaches as the majority of the areas are rocky. But this entire approximately 5 kilometer stretch of beach is completely sand, and clean clean clean. The best of the best. We loved it and if we are ever back in Mossel Bay and this B&B has no vacancies, we would rather sleep in the car than anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
3.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
14.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fly me to the Moon Guest House
Fly me to the Moon Guest House
#10 of 52 in Mossel Bay
70 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 52 in Mossel Bay
257 reviews
3.8 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 52 in Mossel Bay
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Air del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Air del Mar

Property: Air del Mar
Address: 12 Awie Dodd Street | Bayview, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Air del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience why people say this is paradise in every sense of the word. Everyone who stays at Air del Mar falls in love with its spectacular, unspoiled natural beauty and harmonious, safe and tranquil lifestyle. Owned and managed by Fred & Susan Bezuidenhout for the past 10 years. The bay becomes South Africa's whale nursery between May and November, when the Southern Right whales arrive to mate and calve. Air del Mar offers its guests the opportunity to walk, swim or laze in safety on endless beaches just a few steps away. We are situated right next to the ocean with private stairs down onto the beach. Let the waves lull you to sleep at night. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing