We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, good fish....”
Review of Cafe Gannet

Cafe Gannet
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Café Gannet Restaurant is Mossel Bay's seafood House. Acclaimed for local seafood specialties, ingeniously prepared. Coastal oysters, black mussels and Mossel Bay Sole are delivered daily from the harbour to make a delectable and varied a la carte menu, which includes pizza, salads, meat dishes, light lunches and Rainbow Cuisine. For a relaxing afternoon, come and enjoy a cocktail overlooking the Indian Ocean... The Cafe Gannet is a great treat, which will please the most discerning palate - very trendy, so bookings are recommended.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, good fish....”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've been coming to the Gannet (seasonally) for years now. The setting is lovely with a narrow view toward the ocean and the Outeniqua mountains behind. Great place for a sundowner on the terrace or at the bar. Menu is not very inspired (lots of puff pastry), but we both had simple grilled fish (baby cob and stumpnose), and both were delicious. My companion had fresh oysters to start and I had snails in the aforesaid puff pastry - tasty but way too heavy. Service was fine but unpolished. It seems to be a bit overpriced as well. But we'll be back, mostly for the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shortrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    423
    121
    47
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel restaurant but does the job well.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We ate here after walking around and deciding this looked the best place. They have a sushi bar and a drinks bar overlooking the bay which is pretty lively and fun. The restaurant itself offers a wide selection of food pizzas, fish, meats, salads and sandwiches. We ate here twice in our 2day visit. Once in the evening and once for lunch. Whilst the service can be slow the food is good quality and tasty. They have a good wine selection too. I had the salmon and noodles with ginger soy chilli which was very tasty and a chicken salad at lunch which again was full of flavour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pennylane1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced yet lacking in quality”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Despite their menu being on the higher end (R70-100/ entree), I found the quality of the food to be sorely lacking - as did the friends I was traveling with. However, it is definitely set up as a nice sit-down restaurant with an excellent outdoor patio that connects to a beach house/ cabana style bar on the far end. Great views of the sea - and they also have this giant postal box replica for photos. It is attached to a main hotel (Protea) - so clearly caters to the guests there. We also tried the similarly high priced cocktails at the beach-type bar - but even those left a lot to be expected. Service was good and courteous. Loved my espresso drink. So would recommend it for a coffee/ snack meal and not a full supper/ lunch experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“An elegant place to eat”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We breakfasted here. The buffet food selection was good as was the attentive and pleasant service. The room was elegant and opened out on to attractive gardens. Had we been staying longer we would consider it a definite contender for an evening meal. What is more there is free parking on the road directly outside (and a fee paying car park opposite if the road is full).
An excellent way to start the day!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Pick of the Bay”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

As this was our first time at Cafe Gannet, we cant comment on the ambience of the past, but we were more than impressed with the views and ambience even if it is now part of a hotel. For us it was more about seafood and there can only be compliments from all of us. Service was efficient, professional and of a high standard. Even if you are not a seafood lover, there are more than enough other dishes to select from and suit every pallet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaypeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gannet also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Gannet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing