We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabian&Gigi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nyaru Private Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabian&Gigi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We’ve spent a wonderful week in Nyaru in December. Times ran quickly ever since, but we never forget our stay there. The gorgeous surrounding, the wild life, the fireplace, the cosy bed, the stylishness and cleanness of the place, the mouthwatering food were more than expected. But what mad us truly fall in love with this place is that Elmarie, Chris and Ruan made us feel at home every minute of our stay. And we’ve lost our heart to Fabian, a huge, male white rhino, and were happy to see him every afternoon. The story of his friendship with Gigi, the little black pug dog, is so unique – you have to see it for yourself. Christian showed us the beauty of birds and plants and so much more. And the quad bike safari with Josphat was pure bliss, after losing the sensation of riding a mad cow. Next time I’ll do the Cheetah dip for sure ;-)… Dear Nyaru Game Lodge family, we’ve left a piece of our heart in your place, and we hope to come back sometimes to feel complete again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette_Dirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    36
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
79
91
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed two nights with my family in Nyaru Game lodge and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Had initial correspondence with Ruan who was very prompt in answering all my queries. However when we visited the lodge, Ruan was away but his mother El Mary (hope I got that name right) was there and she couldn’t have been more nicer. We booked a two bed room family chalet but after seeing my mother in law would have difficulties in climbing up and down the stairs, El Mary offered her another vacant single room chalet free of charge which was a very nice gesture.

The rooms and the lodge including the pool were maintained very well and the whole place had a nice soothing/relaxing atmosphere. We did one game drive on 4 X 4 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Highlight was taking a bend and encountering the Rhino (Fabian).

We also had dinner one night in the Game lodge and it was definitely one of the best meals we have had in our 11 day trip in South Africa. So if you are staying in the lodge, I would definitely urge you to try out their dinner at least for one night.

All in all it was a memorable two-night stay and it is a place where we wish we had spent more days. If you are travelling along the garden route (whether as a couple or with family) and looking for a game lodge to stay, look no further than Nyaru Game lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sriramhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, the lovely chalet room we had and all the nice and lovely details that were obvisously placed with a lot of care. We enjoyed the time at the pool, the views of nature (and a touch of wilderness), the stars at night - and most of all the 4x4 game drive with Chirstian our guide who did a wonderful job.
It's definitely a nice way to get to know a little glimpse of african wildlife, and we enjoyed that.

Only thing that we don't agree on with the other guests on tripadvisor: Food was not really good, the touch of love and detail (which we found in rooms and staff) were clearly missing. We've eaten far better (and sometimes cheaper) in other places throughout South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frechmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Great 2 day stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Superb cottage accommodation with option to BBQ on porch which is recommended. Quad bike safari was fun with knowledgable guide. Good pool area for relaxing after safari drives.

Good value and thoroughly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I have just got back from holiday in South Africa. We wanted to stop off for a safari whilst driving the garden route from Cape Town to Plettenberg and it suited perfectly. We had a little bad luck with the weather impacting on the running of the lodge but the staff handled it all very well. We had a very wet safari on the quads but it didn't affect it. Getting stuck on a muddy track with a rhino (called Fabian) starring you down was the highlight of our trip. We would do it again in a heart beat. The food was great however the BBQ on the porch of your lodge was the best. If a good value, beautiful and friendly safari is what you are looking for then Nyaru is a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartmccutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We recently spent three nights here and have only good things to say about Nyaru Game Lodge - lovely accommodation, exceptional food and great service. The highlight of the visit was a fantastic (if somewhat muddy) quad bike game-viewing experience with Christiaan - highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaH3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

we spend our christmas holidays in this lodge and had a great time. The food is great and if you want you can ask for a "braai" on your terras. We felt like home...
The service is great, very friendly, also for kids...
The evenings on the terras are fantastic, especially when the rhino is in front of the terras.....in the reserve we did the quad drive with a small group and saw a lot of animals close by.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ivdbagency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
8.2 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
10.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
7.0 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 30 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
24.7 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
15.7 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 30 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyaru Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyaru Private Game Lodge

Property: Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Address: R 328 | Brandwag, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nyaru Private Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from George Airport, travellers will delight in a safari experience set right in the heart of the Garden Route. The perfect accommodation for guests travelling through Mossel Bay, Nyaru Game Lodge offers warm hospitality and a sumptuous sleep in a selection of picturesque thatch-roof chalets set around the main lodge. Relax and regenerate in a single bedroom chalet or family chalet. The ideal romantic hideaway for couples, the one-bedroom chalet is equipped with a queen-size double bed, a single bed and an en-suite bathroom. Catering to families of four, the double-story Family Chalet boasts a main bedroom equipped with a queen size bed, single bed and en-suite bathroom while the upper level houses a second bedroom with two single beds. While guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the morning, Nyaru's stunning African restaurant will delight tummies looking for delicious, traditional South African dinners. Serving mouth-watering fare as well as a great selection of wines, toast your toes in front of the roaring fire and fill your belly with Nyaru's delicious dishes.Guests seeking adventure will get their kicks with Nyaru Game Lodge's array of fun, family-friendly activities. Offering exciting 4x4 safaris as well as horseback tours and quad bike safaris, guests will be escorted by a Nyaru ranger and taken around the bushveld where 17 different species of game and wildlife roam free. Boasting giraffe, zebra, impala and more, safari-seeking guests will delight in Nyaru Game Lodge's special wildlife tours. Last but not least, those looking for a tres romantic evening can enquire with Nyaru about sun- downer picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Nyaru Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing