We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer than the 2 nights. Lovely African style chalet but with advatage of fridge, kettle etc.and plenty of crockery etc. if you wish to self cater, but we opted for the 3 course dinner at 165 Rand. You have to order before 5 p.m. to get a choice. We arrived later on the first night so did not get a choice but it was an excellent meal. The second night we ordered in advance and had an excellent Bobotie. Very nice wine at 20 Rands a glass. Coffee just 12 Rands. Perfect watching the game from the lovely deck with the flickering Boma. Ruan was such a lovely host, and we loved playing with Zizi the little pug always dressed in a different outfit, much to our amusement. Breakfast was substantial and very well cooked and presented. We will be back. SOON.

Room Tip: Two types of chalet, but only one family accommodation,so book early if you need the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridafanatic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    38
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
81
92
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We arrived here on a rainy day and were welcomed by Ruan who offered us a larger cabin to make us more comfortable. Loads of space to relax and a great private verandah where we enjoyed a bottle of wine or 2.

The setting is amazing and during dinner at the main lodge we were called over to the terrace to view the giraffes grazing nearby. The quad bike safari was great fun and we got pretty close to giraffes and a rhino. To be honest, just seeing the scenery is worth the trip. We also did the 4x4 safari the next morning and again, really enjoyed it. Donovan knows his stuff.

The whole experience was really good value for money and is a perfect stop off from the Garden Route.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arrived at Nyaru for an overnight stay after a long journey and immediately wished we could have stayed longer. It is just such a beautiful,relaxing and authentic place to stay. We had already been on a Game Drive, so opted for the Sundowner Picnic. This did not disappoint us! The picnic spot, high above Nyaru Lodge had amazing views, and the picnic itself was beautifully laid out with an excellent array of food & ice cold drinks.

Owners Ruan & Elmarie were very friendly, helpful and trusting. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

I would highly recommend Nyaru for a peaceful, secure stopover, just off the Garden Route, however one night is not enough!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent two nights at Nyaru a few weeks ago and loved every minute. Elmarie and Chris are wonderful hosts and the chalets are beautiful, peaceful and well equipped. The 3 course dinners are substantial and very good value and the setting is beautiful. We would highly recommend a quad safari. How exhilarating! We couldn't stop grinning, in spite of my initial worries about whether or not I'd be able to drive one. Donovan was an excellent guide, attentive and knowledgeable. We felt very safe during our close encounters with giraffe and other wildlife. We'd love to keep this little piece of heaven to ourselves but it's too good to hide!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnievale, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I arrived as a stranger, and left as a friend, part of the Nyaru family. The staff made our stay as enjoyable as possible, although I had a lot of work to do. Had a nice braai in the boma. The game drive was an experience like no other for me and my daughter. We saw among others the brown 'rooibok', zebra, rhino!, baby giraffe, bontebok, etc. I'm coming back in March for a few days of rest! Best kept secret for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsabé M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I would highly recommend this place to anyone. We have a 1 year old and a 3 year old and this place was totally perfect for them. It's a smaller, family run lodge so the atmosphere is very welcoming and comfortable. Nothing was a bother for them, which is a blessing as usually two very busy toddler boys is an inconvenience to most. It's very quiet and safe. My 3 year old went on the 4x4 drive and loved every minute. The quad bike drive was superb. We saw everything we'd hoped to see and more, including the rhino making its way very close to the lodge dining area. Food was fantastic. Chalets perfect for couples, singles or families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent 1 day at Nyaru and had a fantastic 4X4 quad drive. It was really wonderful and we enjoyed every minute. It was our first experience at a SA game lodge, but it was very enjoyable. The braia area is great and gives us inspiration for the next trip at Nyaru!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlinLondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
8.2 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
337 reviews
10.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
11.5 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 34 in Mossel Bay
801 reviews
6.6 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
24.7 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyaru Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyaru Private Game Lodge

Property: Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Address: R 328 | Brandwag, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nyaru Private Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from George Airport, travellers will delight in a safari experience set right in the heart of the Garden Route. The perfect accommodation for guests travelling through Mossel Bay, Nyaru Game Lodge offers warm hospitality and a sumptuous sleep in a selection of picturesque thatch-roof chalets set around the main lodge. Relax and regenerate in a single bedroom chalet or family chalet. The ideal romantic hideaway for couples, the one-bedroom chalet is equipped with a queen-size double bed, a single bed and an en-suite bathroom. Catering to families of four, the double-story Family Chalet boasts a main bedroom equipped with a queen size bed, single bed and en-suite bathroom while the upper level houses a second bedroom with two single beds. While guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the morning, Nyaru's stunning African restaurant will delight tummies looking for delicious, traditional South African dinners. Serving mouth-watering fare as well as a great selection of wines, toast your toes in front of the roaring fire and fill your belly with Nyaru's delicious dishes.Guests seeking adventure will get their kicks with Nyaru Game Lodge's array of fun, family-friendly activities. Offering exciting 4x4 safaris as well as horseback tours and quad bike safaris, guests will be escorted by a Nyaru ranger and taken around the bushveld where 17 different species of game and wildlife roam free. Boasting giraffe, zebra, impala and more, safari-seeking guests will delight in Nyaru Game Lodge's special wildlife tours. Last but not least, those looking for a tres romantic evening can enquire with Nyaru about sun- downer picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Nyaru Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing