We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent two nights at Nyaru a few weeks ago and loved every minute. Elmarie and Chris are wonderful hosts and the chalets are beautiful, peaceful and well equipped. The 3 course dinners are substantial and very good value and the setting is beautiful. We would highly recommend a quad safari. How exhilarating! We couldn't stop grinning, in spite of my initial worries about whether or not I'd be able to drive one. Donovan was an excellent guide, attentive and knowledgeable. We felt very safe during our close encounters with giraffe and other wildlife. We'd love to keep this little piece of heaven to ourselves but it's too good to hide!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    38
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
81
92
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnievale, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I arrived as a stranger, and left as a friend, part of the Nyaru family. The staff made our stay as enjoyable as possible, although I had a lot of work to do. Had a nice braai in the boma. The game drive was an experience like no other for me and my daughter. We saw among others the brown 'rooibok', zebra, rhino!, baby giraffe, bontebok, etc. I'm coming back in March for a few days of rest! Best kept secret for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsabé M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I would highly recommend this place to anyone. We have a 1 year old and a 3 year old and this place was totally perfect for them. It's a smaller, family run lodge so the atmosphere is very welcoming and comfortable. Nothing was a bother for them, which is a blessing as usually two very busy toddler boys is an inconvenience to most. It's very quiet and safe. My 3 year old went on the 4x4 drive and loved every minute. The quad bike drive was superb. We saw everything we'd hoped to see and more, including the rhino making its way very close to the lodge dining area. Food was fantastic. Chalets perfect for couples, singles or families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent 1 day at Nyaru and had a fantastic 4X4 quad drive. It was really wonderful and we enjoyed every minute. It was our first experience at a SA game lodge, but it was very enjoyable. The braia area is great and gives us inspiration for the next trip at Nyaru!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlinLondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Thank you for your welcome. We loved the passion you put into your reserve - the wildlife , the lodge and your visitors. We took to the 4x4 quads soon after arrival and the open jeep ride the following morning - each was different. We saw the rhino, bay zebra and young giraffe. Back in the lodge, the menu gave us the option of tasting South African fare at its best, while the chalets provided a tranquil retreat. memorable

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinjf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had our Company Year end Function at Nyaru in December 2012. We were treated with Game Drives and experienced a 3 week old giraffe up close! Amazing!! Afterwards we had a Lamb spitbraai on the Lapa enjoying the beautiful view, the food was exquisite. Their chalets are an absolute treat and so tranquil! We did not want to leave! Thank you Nyaru and staff for exceptional service and a unforgettable experience we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
567 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I really ejoyed the 2 days we spent at nyaru. we did their atv safari which got u up close to the many animals on the prroperty. the family run buisiness is very accomodating. we did see the rhino on the 4x4 safari. the private style chalets with own dining and braai(bbq) area is great for a private supper. really nice pool as well. check it out and talk to Ruan.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
8.2 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
338 reviews
10.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
11.5 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 34 in Mossel Bay
801 reviews
6.6 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
24.7 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyaru Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyaru Private Game Lodge

Property: Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Address: R 328 | Brandwag, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nyaru Private Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from George Airport, travellers will delight in a safari experience set right in the heart of the Garden Route. The perfect accommodation for guests travelling through Mossel Bay, Nyaru Game Lodge offers warm hospitality and a sumptuous sleep in a selection of picturesque thatch-roof chalets set around the main lodge. Relax and regenerate in a single bedroom chalet or family chalet. The ideal romantic hideaway for couples, the one-bedroom chalet is equipped with a queen-size double bed, a single bed and an en-suite bathroom. Catering to families of four, the double-story Family Chalet boasts a main bedroom equipped with a queen size bed, single bed and en-suite bathroom while the upper level houses a second bedroom with two single beds. While guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the morning, Nyaru's stunning African restaurant will delight tummies looking for delicious, traditional South African dinners. Serving mouth-watering fare as well as a great selection of wines, toast your toes in front of the roaring fire and fill your belly with Nyaru's delicious dishes.Guests seeking adventure will get their kicks with Nyaru Game Lodge's array of fun, family-friendly activities. Offering exciting 4x4 safaris as well as horseback tours and quad bike safaris, guests will be escorted by a Nyaru ranger and taken around the bushveld where 17 different species of game and wildlife roam free. Boasting giraffe, zebra, impala and more, safari-seeking guests will delight in Nyaru Game Lodge's special wildlife tours. Last but not least, those looking for a tres romantic evening can enquire with Nyaru about sun- downer picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Nyaru Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing