We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Truly beautiful place with a warm family atmosphere.
We spent 2 nights at Nyaru. This was the first time that we had ever been to a game lodge & our first time in Africa & we felt this was a great introduction.
The individual chalets are very nicely done up in safari style, with a patio in front with a buil-in barbeque. This was a great way to spend the evening, over a bottle of wine. They set up the barbeque for you, supply all the cutlery & will even provide salads & desserts if you want. Do try their Malva cake - its yum!

The main house has a well-stocked bar, TV lounges, & an outdoor verandah facing the bush. Tea & coffee is served whenever you want.

We did the quad-bike safari the next day with Chris & Elmarie & what a great time we had! Saw giraffe, zebra, impala, rhino, gnu etc.

There are lots of other activities to do around Mossel Bay which is just 20 mins away. Ruan told us about the 'catwalk' - with lions, which we did in the afternoon & what an amazing experience it was!!

Breakfast has all the things you can think of, as well as a cooked English breakfast. Lunch we drove into Mossel Bay. Dinner was nice, but limited choices, especially for vegetarians.

The family who runs it are extremely friendly & Nyaru feels like you are staying with friends. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaytp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 239 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

A fantastic family experience with remarkable service one can only expect from a family owned game farm. Never before have I felt so well looked after and welcome, that it was hard to leave. The rooms are beautifully decorated in the african/safari theme. The lapa is spacious with many small rooms and sitting areas, so you can still find a little peace even if it´s full with other guests. The food was a experience in its own with the dinner menu further playing on the african/safari theme. After dinner you can sit outside on the deck under a blanket of stars around a cosy fire and enjoy a night cap. Relaxing days around the pool with staff always in close proximity should you need anything. We did a late afternoon game drive and got to see all the animals including the rhino which was only about 5meters away from us. Chris informed us about all the various animals and their habits as we met them. We also got to taste some wild figs :) I really cannot thank Ruan and Elmarie and Chris enough for this truly amazing experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Warm welcoming with drinks on arrival. Friendly and helpful staff always available. Fantastic food with true African influence. Rooms are clean , beautifully decorated and attended to daily with a personal touch. General public area very comfortable and cosy with a bush lapa fire going every night during supper, great spot to enjoy a night cap and a chat. Quad safari is a MUST, gives you a completely different experiance with the animals!!!! All in all Nyaru is by far one of our best experiences.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suskiaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Wow I'm not sure where to start... We booked our family in for the weekend at Nyaru Private Game Lodge hoping to show our 3 year old a little bit of South Africa's wildlife. We arrived to be greeted by the owners who were ever so welcoming and they personally showed us to our Family Chalet. The decor was out of this world all the way down to the finest details. A true Game Lodge feeling. Our chalet was beautifully designed and came with all the necessities in order to feel at home (spacious and very comfortable)! We also attended a group dinner on the first night which if I may add was so relaxing and we felt like part of the family along with the other guest at Nyaru. The food was delicious and true to the South African culture. The owners Ruan and Elmarie, so relaxed and happy to be there with all the guest. We booked ourselves onto the Quad bike tour and this was to become one of the most incredible experiences of my 27years on this earth as well as my daughter who is brought up in England. We managed to get up close to all the wildlife on the Game Lodge and had a one in a life time encounter with a Rhino in its true habitat. This on its own was incredible!! On the last night I was dreading having to leave such a peaceful and relaxing place but felt completely renewed and South African again...lol :)
I do not know how to Thank the staff at Nyaru for truly blessing us with so many fond memories and we will be sure to return to this fantastic Lodge in the future. We wish them all the best and success in the years to come

Room Tip: I believe that any room would be well served... but our family chalet was stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielleNagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuanFouche, Manager at Nyaru Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Memories to treasure of you as a beautiful family and very brave mom on the Quad Bike Safari. Ruan, Elmarie, Chris & Donnevan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

For our 30th wedding anniverary trip through Southern AfricaI wanted to give my wife the feel of a game lodge without killing our budget or getting too rustic. We also needed a room and public areas that we could navigate with a wheelchair. Nyaru fit the bill perfectly for these requirements and more. The narrow road to the property had my wife asking "...and where do you think we are going?" which was fun. And then we arrived and she understood completely and was delighted. We had a great chalet and easy access to the main lodge. Dinner was perfect - but what made this stop most delightful was meeting and talking with the family that runs Nyaru. They were so attentive to make sure that all of our needs where met - always checking to see if they could do anything. We had great conversation through out our stay and you could sense the passion they have for what they have built and what they are bringing to their guests. Dinner and breakfast the next morning made us feel like we were staying with family friends.

Room Tip: Every chalet sits along cresent of rooms around the main lodge building. Some that are farthest aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuanFouche, Owner at Nyaru Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Two people we will never forget! There are truly angels among us. Elmarie & Ruan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Ruan and offered a choice of rooms, all of which are cute little chalets with thatched roofs set in the garden around the main lodge. The setting is very quiet and peaceful and it is a perfet place to relax. We did a horseback safari which was great as you were able to get quite close to the wildlife in their natural habitat. The whole family really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuanFouche, Owner at Nyaru Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

You were such a lovely happy family and we enjoyed all the laughter on the patio that filled the night. Thank you for the nice review. Elmarie, Chris, Donnevan & Ruan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Recently went to the Nyaru Private Game Lodge with my family, and what can I say other than Awesome. My husband and I are South Africans living in London and we came home to spend some time with the family. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Ruan and his family, and were told that we were the only one's on the plot so we could choose what ever room we wanted, which was very exciting. The Rooms are decorated in the traditional African theme with amazing attention to detail. The Rooms are equipped with fridge, oven, kettle, plates, cups and utensils. After settling in we were offered drinks and a beautiful fire was lit outside on the patio with an open view of the outdoors. As we were the only family there we were given free roam of the place and my mom promptly brought out all the Salads and secret food stash and laid the Table where we proceeded to Braai. It felt like home away from home and was a truely a memorable night. First thing in the morning we were shown to the Quad bikes to do our very own family quad bike safari, all I can say is Wow, we all went together 7 of us and with the fresh outdoor air we jumped on the quad bikes and off we went. We saw, Zebra, Wildebees, my mothers favourite of course the very elegant Giraffe Family and a very playful rather large Rhino to name a few. It was amazing yet.... another memorable experience. After 2 hours on the quad bikes and our stomachs grumbling we came back to the Reserve and were told our breakfast was ready on the Patio. There on the Patio was a beautiful long table covered in the warm morning sun, and set for breakfast with all the trimmings, mmmm delicious. It was with great sadness that we had to leave after only 1 night but felt renewed and relaxed, I really enjoyed the experience with my family. I would definitely return again, but for a bit longer next time and do recommend staying at least for one night. The Owners are so friendly and really make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
10.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
11.7 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
265 reviews
8.2 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 39 in Mossel Bay
945 reviews
15.7 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 39 in Mossel Bay
115 reviews
6.6 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyaru Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyaru Private Game Lodge

Address: R 328 | Brandwag, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $153 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nyaru Private Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from George Airport, travellers will delight in a safari experience set right in the heart of the Garden Route. The perfect accommodation for guests travelling through Mossel Bay, Nyaru Game Lodge offers warm hospitality and a sumptuous sleep in a selection of picturesque thatch-roof chalets set around the main lodge. Relax and regenerate in a single bedroom chalet or family chalet. The ideal romantic hideaway for couples, the one-bedroom chalet is equipped with a queen-size double bed, a single bed and an en-suite bathroom. Catering to families of four, the double-story Family Chalet boasts a main bedroom equipped with a queen size bed, single bed and en-suite bathroom while the upper level houses a second bedroom with two single beds. While guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the morning, Nyaru's stunning African restaurant will delight tummies looking for delicious, traditional South African dinners. Serving mouth-watering fare as well as a great selection of wines, toast your toes in front of the roaring fire and fill your belly with Nyaru's delicious dishes.Guests seeking adventure will get their kicks with Nyaru Game Lodge's array of fun, family-friendly activities. Offering exciting 4x4 safaris as well as horseback tours and quad bike safaris, guests will be escorted by a Nyaru ranger and taken around the bushveld where 17 different species of game and wildlife roam free. Boasting giraffe, zebra, impala and more, safari-seeking guests will delight in Nyaru Game Lodge's special wildlife tours. Last but not least, those looking for a tres romantic evening can enquire with Nyaru about sun- downer picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nyaru Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing