We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, very friendly and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Very friendly, relaxed, family-run Game Lodge. A long unpaved road leads to the lodge, which we liked as you feel really far away from everything. No traffic noise, weak 3G connection - great! If you want, there is a wireless hotspot available. Go on the Quad safari or on the horse back. On both occasions we got to see nearly all animals (Girafs, Zebras, Rhino, Wirderbeast, Impala etc.) and a lot of them really close by. The animals were less afraid and shy arriving on the Quads than on the horse back. A great experience overall.
The accomodation is cute and clean, do not expect overboard luxury. Food is good (go for the ostriche!), people are very friendly and helpful Nothing is a problem.
We had two absolutely great days there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 231 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

We arrived to a very friendly greeting, and arrival drink, and we were then shown to our rooms. The rooms are amazing little huts that are very clean and African themed. Each rooms has an outdoor fireplace, so you can sit and enjoy a drink on your deck around the fire.

We then went on a quad bike game drive, which was an great experience - it was amazing to be out in the fresh air, driving through the incredible African countryside.

The dinner was very nice, and served on a fabulous big outdoor deck with a huge outdoor fireplace. We sat around the fireplace and ordered drinks from the bar all night.

The rooms, location, and service were all really great. I highly recommend Nyaru.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BexUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Whenever we talk about our Nov 2011 trip to South Africa, Nyaru finds its way into our discussion invariably. What a time we had in Nyaru. Be it the nature, wonderful wild animals, horse back safari at the dawn, 4 x 4 safari at the dusk, sunset picnic near giraffe, eco-friendly huts, wild bar, homely food or Ruan and his family, all fit perfectly well in this little gem. Just few minutes drive from Mossel Bay, this private game reserve has everything that is available in a more expensive neighbors. Ruan and his Mum went extra mile to help and to make our stay memorable. Home cooked food was amazing. We were vegetarians but that was not a problem. We used to spend our dinner time talking to Ruan and his family. Donovan took me out for a horse back safari and it would remain in my memory forever. On the horseback I could get so close to the animals and needless to say Donovan knows their behavior so well. The horses were great. We were with our 5 months old son but we didnt face any problem, In fact he enjoyed the 4X4 Safari with us.
We highly recommend this place as they have kept a very reasonable price for everything which shows their passion. It is a private game reserve and animals are their life.... We loved everything in Nyaru and we'l surely return to this paradise.

God bless Nyaru family and we wish you great success in running the reserve. I am sure we'll see many more of fauna when we return in near future.

Room Tip: Family rooms have two floors!! (for your kids). Baby cot available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suhasbally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuanFouche, Owner at Nyaru Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

You were an amazing family with you’re beautiful son. Thank you for you’re kind review and please visit us again in future. Elmarie & the Nyaru team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

An absolute "surprize"! I did not know where we were going and it felt and looked like we were somewhere far away - somewhere that you'd need to pay a lot of money for; however its on your doorstep. Friendly, personal service; home cooked meals and lovely people! The quad bike safari is an absolute must!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diffenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Spent a day and night at Nyaru with my girlfriend. We were traveling from Cape town and was our second stop on the garden route. It's not well sign posted so ask for good directions. Our accommodation was perfect very clean and had everything we needed. We did an evening quad bike safari which was fantastic what a unbelievable way to see this game reserve, throw in a couple of heart racing moments when spotting some of the majestic animals. After this we were driven out to a hill overlooking the game reserve where we had a romantic picnic on our own. Then later had a lovely meal and sat around the camp fire where we had a couple drinks. At night time you completely feel in a different world as all the sounds you would expect on safari engulf the night time air. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. If we had another day here we would have done the safari on horse back. Very memorable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at the lodge with visitors from Kazahkstan in September and everyone went out of their way to make it a memorable stay. The food was also great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I had a wonderful weekend experience at the Nyaru Lodge, surrounded with nature and all the elements that make a getaway a great one.
We were greeted with open arms when we arrived late in the evening and was treated to a lovely pit fire and a braai. In the morning we had the chance to see the Rhinos being feed right in front of us and then we were taken on a 4x4 quad bike game drive around Nyaru, for a memorable experience! Rhinos, Giraffes, Cheetahs (to name a few) that we had the chance to get up close and "personal" with. Thank you to all who assisted with making our trip the beginning of may visits!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
8.2 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
352 reviews
10.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
11.7 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 34 in Mossel Bay
861 reviews
6.6 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
15.7 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 34 in Mossel Bay
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyaru Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyaru Private Game Lodge

Address: R 328 | Brandwag, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $134 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nyaru Private Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from George Airport, travellers will delight in a safari experience set right in the heart of the Garden Route. The perfect accommodation for guests travelling through Mossel Bay, Nyaru Game Lodge offers warm hospitality and a sumptuous sleep in a selection of picturesque thatch-roof chalets set around the main lodge. Relax and regenerate in a single bedroom chalet or family chalet. The ideal romantic hideaway for couples, the one-bedroom chalet is equipped with a queen-size double bed, a single bed and an en-suite bathroom. Catering to families of four, the double-story Family Chalet boasts a main bedroom equipped with a queen size bed, single bed and en-suite bathroom while the upper level houses a second bedroom with two single beds. While guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the morning, Nyaru's stunning African restaurant will delight tummies looking for delicious, traditional South African dinners. Serving mouth-watering fare as well as a great selection of wines, toast your toes in front of the roaring fire and fill your belly with Nyaru's delicious dishes.Guests seeking adventure will get their kicks with Nyaru Game Lodge's array of fun, family-friendly activities. Offering exciting 4x4 safaris as well as horseback tours and quad bike safaris, guests will be escorted by a Nyaru ranger and taken around the bushveld where 17 different species of game and wildlife roam free. Boasting giraffe, zebra, impala and more, safari-seeking guests will delight in Nyaru Game Lodge's special wildlife tours. Last but not least, those looking for a tres romantic evening can enquire with Nyaru about sun- downer picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Nyaru Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing