We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great wished we had gone to Fynbos down the road”
Review of Cafe Havana

Cafe Havana
Ranked #25 of 86 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Cuisines: Cuban, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not great wished we had gone to Fynbos down the road”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Only in mossel bay for one night thankfully. Tried this place as we wanted a cocktail to relax after a long drive. It's rated 4th on trip advisor. The staff were friendly but forgot things when we asked for them.
They had no crushed ice so cocktails off the menu. We had Burritos. They were not Burritos. The tapas we ordered came fried! out of the same fryer as the potatos as all the food tasted the same...bland, we left it after a mouthful. This was not tapas.
Hate to write a negative review but if you like food avoid this place. O and top it off the toilets are disgraceful (maybe trying to give an authentic Havana backstreet eatery feel) no soap in the gents and my wife said the women's were as bad. Place to be avoided.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyGordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    61
    28
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best place in Mossel Bay”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Coming to Mossel Bay mostly because of this place. Excellent cuisine balanced with original design of the place. Every dish is worth of trying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yarik_rsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zane was great!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a waiter called Zane on both nights we were there, he knew all the drinks, contents and alternatives, he was attentive and sweet! The cocktails were very good!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tumisang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very laid back and very cool. Nice food and great atmosphere on beautiful summer's nights. Don't miss if you staying in Mossel Bay.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Meat”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The meat (Filette Uruguayano) in there was excellents and the dessert (Chocolate bomb) was even more impressive, but concerning the beverages don't take neither an open wine nor a coffee.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Havana also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing