We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of C the View Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
C the View Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 53 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Time away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

C the View was LOVELY
We had the best time there
The atmosphere was welcoming and beautiful, It was clean and comfortable
It is self caterting, and everything you need you can ask for

The staff are warm and very accomodating and I would recommend them anytime :D

I wish them all the luck
They deserve it

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite offers space and comfort It quiet and on the Top Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SugaFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CtheView, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! It is much appreciated! I am glad we did not disappoint!

Hope to have you as our guests again soon

Kind regards
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    50
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
123
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a wonderful experience.
We saw whales everyday, twice a day, and very very close. We loved it.
The guesthouse is nice and they solved all the small problems we had.
They made us feel like home, but with an hotel service.
They even bought some European food just to make our breackfast even better.
Everybody there was more than kind and available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVEL2FEEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CtheView, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Toto

Thank you so much for your review! I am so sorry I was ill when you stayed with us and I could not meet you personally, but I am so glad the staff kept up the good work, even with me absent! Hope to meet you and your friends soon! I am glad to hear South-Africa did not disappoint.

Kind regards
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The large house has lovely rooms with private balconies and big open common areas with a limited honesty bar and lounge area. There is a heated jacuzzi pool on the first floor level which shares the same wonderful sea views. Alternatively enjoy sundowners on the glorious wooden deck . I was travelling solo on business in Mosselbay for the week 8 to 15 September 2013 so reserved a standard room. A small microwave oven and kitchenette situated opposite the open-plan jacuzzi area allowed me to heat my take-out meal one evening.
The standard rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities and a hair dryer.
C The View Guesthouse staff - Lolla and Alice were both so sweet - friendly and very helpful.
Breakfasts were superb and the view absolutely 'to die for'!

The only drawback was the cold weather which made the room rather chilly, with no means to warm it or the comfortable-but-cold bed.

Thank you so much Charlotte - the accommodation made a very trying and challenging week much more manageable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joburg_Girl_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CtheView, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Gwendoline

Thank you so much for your informative review! It is so glad to hear that our service and guesthouse made a trying time for you easier. That is what the HOSPITALITY industry is suppose to be ad what w are striving for! To make your stay and life for that little while easier! I am so glad we succeeded. We are looking into buying electric blankets for next winter. I am so sorry the hot water bottles did not do the trick, but we are definitely going to remedy what was your only drawback.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a great experience at C the view - we stayed two nights and had the priveledge to eat a great homemade breakfast in the morning while the whales were only few metres away. Friendly service, great rooms! Perfectly situated between George and Mosselbaai!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yolandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CtheView, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Yolandi.

Your review is greatly appreciated! That is why I appreciate it so much, because then future guests can see that we are not lying about our amazing views, the whales, our service and breakfasts, AND that we are perfectly situated in the center of the garden route so from C the View you can take daytrips to Oudtshoorn, Knysna, George etc etc.

We can not wait to treat you again as our guests.

Kind regards
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vereeniging, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent three nights at C the view in August 2013 as part of a Garden Route holiday. The service was excellent and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. All rooms had awesome sea views and we could see the whales from our room. We will definitely stay here again, what a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TalitavdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CtheView, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Tahlita

Thank you so much for writing a review for us! We are so glad you got to see the whales. The dolphins and whales right in front of the guesthouse is a very big attraction always and that makes our location so great! We hope to welcome you back as our guests quite soon!

Blessings and kind regards
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welkom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights at C the View, and I must say had a lovely relaxed time, at night would leave the sliding door open so that I could hear the waves. The view was great and every morning at about 8am, a whale would pass by The staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to make us feel welcome

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CtheView, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello John

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review, so that everyone can see we are telling the truth about seeing the whales even from your own room! It is one of the most fantastic experiences to see these large animals during whale season July-Oct.

We really hope to have you as our guests again soon!

Kind regards
Charlotte and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

In April my mother and I stayed the weekend... I loved the homely feel of this place and the friendliness of the staff.. Waking up to the sound of the waves was such a relaxing feeling... Breathtaking view... If you ever in Mossel Bay I suggest you booked into this Guest House, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa.Swanepoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CtheView, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Melissa

Thank you so much that you took the time to write your review! It was so nice to have you and your mother with us! Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards and blessings
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
12.7 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
7.8 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 53 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
12.2 mi away
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
8.1 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#5 of 53 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C the View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C the View Guesthouse

Property: C the View Guesthouse
Address: 277 Kusweg Road | Tergniet, Mossel Bay 6525, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — C the View Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
C the View Guesthouse is right on the beach of Tergniet, near Mosselbay in the Beautiful Garden Route, South-Africa! You can literally enjoy the breathtaking view from EVERY room of the house. The view will astonish you from your private balcony! Our warmth, hospitality and genuineness to serve sets us apart from other guesthouses. As one guest said, "I came as a guest and left as a friend" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your C the View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing