We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked the 2-Bedroom Suite nr 17 that was on the top floor....The 2nd room with Bathroom inside the unit were very dark. Lift was only working occasionally. This hotel has NO restaurants or room service or any service for that matter. In general a good hotel for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUANITAPIENAAR, Manager at Point Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review with regards to our Hotel. We do however confirm that we have 2 restaurants on the same premises as the Hotel - Delfinos Restaurant and The Kingfisher Restaurant which is also used for any room service if any orders are required. The menus of these restaurants is for viewing in the Information Booklet in every unit. We do hope however, that you will visit our Hotel again in future. Thank you and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 544 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We made a booking on the road @ 15:30. When we arrived at 17:30 they had no place available. The answer a shrug of the shoulders and a swallowing of the tongue. Despite proof of my call. Truely proffesional. It was supposed to be a highlight end to our holiday especially if you look at the Tripadvisor reward for 2013 instead a very frustrating low light.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUANITAPIENAAR, Manager at Point Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you firstly for your review of our Hotel herein. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused and confirm that an investigation has been launched to identify the problem and to make sure that this does not happen again. We assure you that this is not the standard that we would like to upkeep as we pride ourselves in doing our utmost to keep the Hotel's standard high and make sure that all reviews are dealt with accordingly to ensure changes where necessary. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A clean hotel with personal sevice. It was just a pity that they sold two single beds covered with a fitted sheet as a "King size bed". The room was tasefully decorated and they made an effort to accomodate the needs of our family

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Douglas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wonderful location for a family vacation. Beach, shops, restaurants all within walking distance. Fortunate enough to stay in a beautiful two bedroom suit and fantastic value for money. Highly recommended whether you are there for a night or the week. Make a point of getting up early and catching the sunrise over the tidal pool each morning.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wonderful night, wish I could've stayed longer. All I needed for a business stayover, with a benefit of a beautiful location and a few steps to good food and views.
Was shown room 6 first, which made me look elsewhere, then came back and was shown 13. Much better, if I was shown this room first I wouldn't have looked around. Just prefer a light open feel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay, will definately be back for a longer period of time when the weather is a bit warmer. Very central location, close to restaurants which cater for everyone's needs. Great beach and rock pool close by for the children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacques V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Location is perfect! Bang on the seaside! Unfortunately the room we had was looking onto the next door balcony. But some of us had very nice rooms overlooking the sea. You will wake up to the sound of the waters breaking on stone......lovely! The reception area could do with an uplift and of course, would also be nice to have a staff there as it was almost always empty.

Room Tip: Higher floor on the front side ensure top views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayochoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.2 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Village Hotel

Address: 5 Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $56 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Village Hotel has made a significant statement with its presence at the entrance to the popular Mossel Bay Point recreational area. The Point Village Hotel offers luxury accommodation in 16 en-suite rooms, each with its own kitchenette, as well as 7 suites with self catering facilities, each with 2 en-suite bedrooms and fully equipped kitchens and 6 fully self catering units with 3 bedrooms, en-suite bathrooms, lounge, dining area and fully equipped kitchen. The atmosphere is chic yesterday that blends with modern today in a relaxing holiday feeling. The hotel rooms are very spacious, luxurious and furnished in contemporary stylish but unpretentious themes. The hotel has not only become popular with South Africans but has also become a first night venue for hikers on the World Renowned Oystercatcher Trail. A typical quote is from Gary Welsh, the leader of one of the hiking groups who spent a night here on Sunday last week, before setting off on the 4 day walk along the coast to Gouritz River, "Great and spacious rooms, modern and in a way futuristic. The decor is stimulating and unusual, moving away from the normal ‘copy and paste style’ of most hotels. The locality is indeed, unbeatable." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Point Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing