We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making a Point of making you comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Village Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Friendly staff made it easy to book our room over the telephone, and made us feel welcome the minute we arrived.
Good location and well appointed rooms.
The shower was a bit weird, but the water-saving showerhead means it was weird for a good reason!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacques M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 543 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

I just love this hotel - it's eclectic charm is incredibly inviting. Obviously it would serve the hotel well to have a restaurant on site as the brekkie served next door wasn't fantastic. I won't be staying anywhere else though on my future business trips to the Garden Route - in fact I have made it my mission to experience each room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marisaveeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We checked in around 10pm and got the smallest room 16 first floor in corner, the room had a bad smell. The walls are quite thin as the hotel can be very noisy. The next day we asked for another room which was bigger and really quaint. Beautiful views from balcony. However the room didn't have a shower only bath which we didn't mind.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed with a group of friends in a 3 bedroom/3 bathroom apartment. It was nice, but the beds and pillows were not really comfortable, the windows of the apartment were really dirty and one bedroom door couldn't be closed to get privacy and the bathroom had the same problem.
The reception gives you a password for the wifi that it will never connect. Different people gave different explanations and passwords so at the end you could tell they were just playing with you and were not going to give you a working password.
Its a good place to stay for 1 night, 2 max.

In this complex there is a guesthouse and cottages, a hotel and the apartments. As we rented an apartment we went to the guesthouse and cottages side to check in to rudely find out that we had to check in at the hotel reception. The guy in the guesthouse and cottages side was incredibly rude telling us where to go making "an obvious" statement of "an obvious" situation.

The really good thing is their location as they are a short walk distance to the "beach"

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pabstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and had to find a place to stay very urgent, as our booking in our current Hotel at that time was misunderstood and our flight back to Pretoria was only booked for the next day, we went to the Point Village Hotel we got a very nice room with absolutely no hassle. The per night rate was affordable and definitely worth the money. The reception lady was very helpful and friendly we enjoyed it very much and will definitely come again.

Mr & Mrs Byleveldt

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernedine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After an initial mix-up with our reservation, the entire staff went out of their way to solve the problem and accommodate our entire family. Throughout our stay the staff were all friendly and helpful. The views were fantastic, the units very comfortable and clean. A very well equipped kitchen made it a pleasure to cook for the family. The cherry on the top was having the unit serviced daily. The little extra's like firewood and firelighters was greatly appreciated. Will definitely be back again. Thank-you to point village for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here with 5 other friends for a night so we booked one of the 3 bedroom apartments. It was fantastic and at a great price. The apartment was modern, clean, bright and spacious. Beds were large and comfortable. We had a bathroom each which were clean. Linen was also clean and new. For the price we paid I don't think you could ask for much more and we were pleasantly surprised. I'm very picky with where I stay so I am surprised to read negative reviews. Maybe the apartments are of a higher quality than the hotel rooms?
The only issues we came across were - the wifi didn't work the whole of our stay and staff at reception weren't the most helpful and weren't very responsive when I was trying to book the apartment.
But would certainly stay here again - it's very good value and the location is fantastic - right on the beach and only a 5 minute walk to the main street.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 5 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.2 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
140 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Village Hotel

Address: 5 Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $58 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Village Hotel has made a significant statement with its presence at the entrance to the popular Mossel Bay Point recreational area. The Point Village Hotel offers luxury accommodation in 16 en-suite rooms, each with its own kitchenette, as well as 7 suites with self catering facilities, each with 2 en-suite bedrooms and fully equipped kitchens and 6 fully self catering units with 3 bedrooms, en-suite bathrooms, lounge, dining area and fully equipped kitchen. The atmosphere is chic yesterday that blends with modern today in a relaxing holiday feeling. The hotel rooms are very spacious, luxurious and furnished in contemporary stylish but unpretentious themes. The hotel has not only become popular with South Africans but has also become a first night venue for hikers on the World Renowned Oystercatcher Trail. A typical quote is from Gary Welsh, the leader of one of the hiking groups who spent a night here on Sunday last week, before setting off on the 4 day walk along the coast to Gouritz River, "Great and spacious rooms, modern and in a way futuristic. The decor is stimulating and unusual, moving away from the normal ‘copy and paste style’ of most hotels. The locality is indeed, unbeatable." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Point Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing