We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned country hospitality and so much more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Way back when I was a tourist guide I got to stay at Eight Bells a few times and always enjoyed it so I jumped at the opportunity to spend a night on a recent business trip on the Garden Route. The hotel makes one feel at home with excellent personal service. I recognized the two ladies in the restaurant from probably 10 years back and the fact that they are still there means that the staff is happy. I stayed in one of the log cabins which is more than comfortable enough with stunning views across the valley to the mountains in the distance. The only complaint perhaps is the fact that it takes time for the hot water to get to the cabins, but that wasn't a train smash. I just feel bad for the water being wasted. I had absolutely no complaints about the food with the prices cheaper than most other restaurants and the portions a lot bigger. Pity I couldn't stay longer and hope to be able to bring the mrs for a visit at some stage. She will love the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at Eight Bells and that you recognised two of our long-serving staff members. We are very fortunate to have fantastic staff, some of which have been with us for nearly fourty years and we are justly proud that we are now on the fourth generation of two families that have always worked at Eight Bells. As explained in response to a previous review you need not worry about water wastage as it all gets back into the ground and comes from a spring on the property. Signage in each rooms explains the system and it has been in operation this way for many years. Thank you once again for staying with us and for your positive review, we hope to be able to welcome your wife here soon to also experience our special brand of hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 371 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in one of the chalets. Lovely views, clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed all the facilities with our family, incl our 2 young grandsons who had a super time....all made more enjoyable by the excellent weather.
We would recommend a stay there if you want to be peaceful and relaxed or to enjoy the sporting facilities.
Downside was that we had no hot water no matter how long we ran the hot water tap. At best it was luke warm. There is no cycling for young children...we misread the web site and brought bikes that couldn't be used.
Overall...a great place for a break.

Room Tip: Stay in a chalet and enjoy the views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Every review is important to us and we thank you for your positive views on our property. Apart from the mountain bike tracks offering a 15km, 35km and a 75km route from our hotel, we offer lots of wide open spaces with hard surfaces for the guests grandchildren to ride their bikes on. Perhaps he was not made aware of this adequately and I apologise for the fact that the kids were not able to ride while they were here at Eight Bells.
The guest mentioned that the hot water took some time to reach their rooms which is feasible as there rooms were the furthest away from the boilers used for our hot water needs. It is on a closed system and all cold water needs to be drawn out before the hot water reaches the rooms. Fortunately there is no wastage as all runoff water gets back into the ground. Because of our location we are not connected to any Municipal services and are self-sufficient as far as our water, sewerage and refuse needs are concerned. No electricity is used for the heating of water as we still use old-fashioned boilers fuelled by burning the invading black wattle trees that we were asked to try and eradicate.
Thank you so much for your honest review and we hope to be able to welcome you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The log cabin was well appointed, very clean and neat and the view wonderful. We walked along the "yellow trail" which meanders through the forest and river: it was lovely and peaceful. We loved the quaint bell ringing to announce tea and meal times. The sitting room and bar are very cosy. Staff members are very friendly and helpful and our meals (real silver and linen) were of the highest quality and well presented. Will definitely visit again when in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Do not choose a log cabin if climbing stairs is a problem. The rest all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizegouws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review, it is much appreciated. We strive to meet and surpass every guests expectation and are particularly pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Eight Bells soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We loved the log cabins and the freedom of the grounds that are on offer at Eight Bells, we arrived in time for complementary afternoon tea that was great. Breakfast was good and the evening meal was good and wholesome. But I was disappointed that my Bobotie was a bit bland. The staff were very helpful and aimed to please.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank borntotravel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your fair and honest review, it is much appreciated. I will speak to our cooks to ensure that if requested we add a bit more oemf to our Ostrich Bobotie. We are justly proud of our staff and what they achieve in satisfying the needs of our clients. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Lovely room, good swimming pool, extremely well proced, great gardens. No air con, but good ceiling fan, adequate bathroom, excellent views. Food average, but well proced. Good breakfast, excellent staff

Room Tip: Near the pool seemed nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinyhead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We appreciate all reviews and am especially pleased that we were able to meet with your expectations. It is always nice to receive such positive feedback and we will certainly share your views with our great staff. Thank you and we hope to be of service again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I prefer to give him/her Eight Bells. I have taken groups of seniors to this lovely resort without receiving a complaint from any of my clients. Lovely clean and comfortable accommodation. Staff are polite and very helpful and to crown it all the food is delicious. I will be returning to Eight Bells with another group from Cape Town on 22 April this year for 5 nights - you are welcome to join me. Clarence (Boet) - Tours-4-U 021 782 5901 / 083 301 4978

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for the positive review. We do serve Bells here as well as many other brands, but as you experienced, it is more about the people, the staff the food and the overall feeling of well-being that we strive for. We are looking forward to again offer you and your next group our special brand of hospitality when you arrive with your next group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Eight bells had very good facilities. Nice location but should only stay one night as it is too far to travel to the tourist sights and return each day.
Staff were very good,a warm welcome. Rooms lovely. Only thing wrong was the food. We had to eat there as it is so far away, the quality of the meals were poor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review which is appreciated. I am very surprised to hear that this client found us to be too far away from Mossel Bay and therefore suggesting a one night stay only. Situated in the mountains at the Foot of the Robinson Pass only 35km from Mossel Bay and 50km from Oudtshoorn is ideal to explore what both Mossel Bay and Oudtshoorn has to offer. Added to that we offer guests the freedom of wide open spaces and a host of outdoor activities like a pool, walking trails, horse riding, tennis, squash and a bowling green all on our 150 hectare estate. That is even more reason to stay longer, as one day is not enough to experience everything.
It is a pity that the client did not mention the food during dinner or on departure as we would have been happy to discuss it. We are justly proud of the fact that we receive daily accolades for the variety, taste, freshness and quality of our food as our visitors book can detest. Thank you for the review and hopefully we will be able to satisfy your expectations during a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
17.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.6 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
259 reviews
16.3 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
568 reviews
22.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
17.1 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Bells Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Address: Robinson Pass on R328 | and Oudtshoorn ., Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $119 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in South Africa’s picturesque Garden Route, Eight Bells Mountain Inn nestles in the Ruiterbos Valley Region at the foot of the Robinson Pass on the R328 between Mossel Bay (35km) and Oudtshoorn (50km). Renowned for its friendly hospitality, superb service and range of recreational facilities amidst magnificent mountain scenery.Facilities include swimming pool, tennis courts, squash, bowls, billiards, children’s play park and playroom, horse riding, walking trails, birding, on the 400-acre estate.Free wifi in all public areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eight Bells Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing