We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impressions Last”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My partner and I recently redeemed a voucher for a two-night complementary stay at the Eight Bells Mountain Inn in the picturisque area between Mossel Bay and Oudtshoorn on the Garden Route in the Western Cape, South Africa. The owners of the hotel sponsored the voucher as part of a fundraiser for a national charity, Reach for A Dream.
The reception was not only friendly and efficient, but we were escourted to our wooden room on stilts with arguably the best view in the resort. Our outside deck overlooked the green forest clad mountains in the distance, valleys below and a horse paddock in the distance to the right. In keeping with the rustic vibe, the room with en suite bathroom was welcoming and comfortable with underfloor heating, air conditioner and satellite TV.
As we arrived late afternoon we only had time to unpack and enjoy a sundowner on our deck before we moved to the dining room of the hotel. The restaurant came alive at night with a distinctive stylish atmosphere, a more than adequate menu and good wine list. The service during dinner was impeccable with the staff friendly, professional, always at hand, but never intrusive. I bravely declared that the special dish of the day, roast chicken, was the best I've tasted in a long while.
For the rest of our stay, the service exceeded our expectations. We both agreed that the staff could easily put dust in the eyes of the staff at many of the 5-star hotels we visited before. What rounded the service off the best was the fact that it was sincere, unpretentious with a genuine interest in our experiences at the hotel and general well-being.
The food continued to impress as well; good quality country home cooking with a contemporary edge to it. We should have known that the food would be good; the friendly, loving and well-rounded resident cats bear testimony to the quality of the catering. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch in the shade of a 250 year-old oak tree on the outer border of the beautifully maintained garden which exudes peace and tranquility.
We even braved the professionally designed hiking trails in the 44 ha's of the estate and had a exhilirating two hour walk which rewarded us with exquisite views of the surrounding valleys and even Mossel Bay Harbour on the horizon.
During lunch the owner of the resort made a special effort to welcome us and gave us a very interesting run-down of the history of the resort which opened its doors in 1802 as a resting place for sailors from Europe who anchored ship in the Mossel Bay Harbour on the route to the East. The original rooms now accommodate the billiard room with a very stylishly appointed lounge next door, complete with a fireplace for the colder winter months.
The resort is ideally located as a base from where you can take day trips to nearby destinations such as Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn, George and Knysna.
Eight Bells really impressed; we are already planning our next trip and have started to canvas our friends to share the experience with us as one does when you happen upon such a charming find.

Room Tip: The Swiss villa rooms next to the forest provide exquisite views and great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CapeTownHennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 371 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

What a little gem.A beautiful rustic hotel nestled in a valley with a forest and a river ideal for hiking.The location is stunning and perfect for those weary travellers who want to get away from glitzy hotels in the city. The staff are wonderful and most of them have worked at the hotel for many years and they all have the amazing ability to look after you.From the Manager to the gardener,they are all great friendly country people.Although the dinner menu is fairly restricted,the food is excellent and I would recommend that you try the calamari for supper and ask for the ostrich sausage for breakfast The food is old country style .You can ride horses,play billiards,squash and swim in the pool.The rooms are not very big but you must bear in mind that the rustic feel of the place is what it is all about.I cant wait to go back to this Rustic Hotel to break away from the City Madness.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spend only one night here and I have to agree with previous reviewers that allthough its a nice place with charm,it needs a hands on manager with a bit of oomph.Years ago when the previous owners was still there this place was a magnet for a weekend getaway!! I feel the new owners just bought the place and are leaving the workers to get on with it.The flats and wooden cottages are all tired and in need of refurbishment.(We were shown 3 possibilities and chose the cottage)I found the food very nice both in the evening and at breakfast,but the service was slow and the waiter was not very respectfull,not bothering to call us Mr or Mrs but the more personal "jy and jou"!All in all we did enjoy it and the price was right,but we will not visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My family and I (3 generations) spent 5 nights here and our expectations were exceeded in every respect.
The place is beautiful and jam packed with things to do, all of them bar the horseriding are free.
The service is friendly and efficient.
I will certainly be recommending Eight Bells to all my friends (especially those with kids).
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonandPetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We had a lovely time at Eight Bells - but do not expect a 4 star hotel. If you do, you'll will be let down. Very kiddie friendly, lovely old-style country food, horse-riding etc fun but the rooms are very, very tired. We had a 2 bedroom log-cabin that was in desparate need of a total revamp. I would say 2-3 stars at best. Quite good value. Great location for sightseeing, cango caves, nice beaches nearby.

Room Tip: Log cabins seemed best positioned away fron road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abraham312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have had the pleasure of spending a weekend with my in laws, husband and 17 month old daughter at Eight Bells Mountain Inn. They have been coming here for close to 25 years. We have had such a wonderful weekend we just cannot fault them on anything!The rooms are lovely - we stayed in the Palm Court. The meals are definite value for money and the service is wonderful. My husband enjoyed the horse riding - he went twice a day! My daughter loved the horses and the donkey. The whole experience was magnificent. We leave tomorrow and have already booked our accommodation for the Easter holiday
next year. This place is amazing and will highly recommend this place to anyone travelling in this area. One thing I would suggest is enquire about rooms situated away from the road side as the constant passing of vehicles past your room could damper your stay of relaxation! Consider Eight Bells for your next getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiki3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at Eight Bells for 3 nights during a recent long weekend. Whilst our small children enjoyed the place - the adults all felt the place needed a serious shot in the arm. The service is slow, the food very poor and rooms smelly. Our room waas located right on road (R328) and we had to endure the sounds of cars and trucks whizzing passed our heads throughout the night - hardly a country get away!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayDudeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
17.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.6 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
259 reviews
16.3 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
567 reviews
22.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
17.1 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Bells Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Address: Robinson Pass on R328 | and Oudtshoorn ., Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $118 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in South Africa’s picturesque Garden Route, Eight Bells Mountain Inn nestles in the Ruiterbos Valley Region at the foot of the Robinson Pass on the R328 between Mossel Bay (35km) and Oudtshoorn (50km). Renowned for its friendly hospitality, superb service and range of recreational facilities amidst magnificent mountain scenery.Facilities include swimming pool, tennis courts, squash, bowls, billiards, children’s play park and playroom, horse riding, walking trails, birding, on the 400-acre estate.Free wifi in all public areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eight Bells Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing