We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar-t-nique Guest House
Ranked #4 of 53 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Bargain”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, the room was very nice lovely veiws of Mossel Bay from the balcony. The breakfast was gorgous was very impressed with this B&B. We had a nice meal at the Point which was walkable from Bar-T Nique, but a steep walk back. The second night we walkes back up to the lighthouse was less steep and a impressive veiw.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    118
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
185
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Bar-t-nique on our way to Cape Town and we were so pleasantly surprised with the beautiful Guest House! We didn't plan to sleep over on our way back from Cape Town but after seeing the Guest House we immediately decided that we are going to book a room and sleep there again on our way back! Beautiful view, friendly service, clean comfortable rooms! Was so worth it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meriske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed for one night with 2 small children and it was the ideal place for us. We were given a family room which was more than big enough, very clean and comfortable. Fabulous honesty bar just outside the room which allowed Mum & Dad to have a nightcap with some of the other guests while keeping an eye on the kids! Fantastic views over Mossel Bay and a great breakfast. Hill was too steep for us to walk with the kids but otherwise its walking distance to the town, but not for the faint-hearted or elderly perhaps. Ideal for a stop over.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roisin_corr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had a lovey stay here. The staff where very welcoming and the room was very nice, we had a balcony overlooking the sea. The pool area looked great but we did not have time to enjoy it. Breakfast was lovely with loads of choice. The thing we missed was a fridge inthe room however ice was available from the bar.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSteede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Very well maintained guest house with great views. The guest house has a nice and elegant modern design. The breakfast was effective and efficient. We only stayed a night and found it good overall.

Note: we noticed that it doesn't have Air Conditioner. It wasn't that bad when we stayed but could be an issue if it's hot while you are there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live_It_Ez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The hotel is welcoming, very friendly owner, stunning views (it's on top of a hill). The room was clean and spacious but it got very very hot at night (no AC and it wasn't even hot outside) and we did not sleep well at all. Noisy in the morning as breakfast room is in centre of hotel. Breakfast was so-so. The hotel is better than average, it's good and is certainly good value for money... I just wouldn't want to stay more than a night really

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Firstly, you'll meet this lovely woman who owns the place. Then, you will be introduced in some of the superb rooms from where you can see the whole bay.
Should you need any help, the owner will be most helpful for you.
Very good breakfast, too.
If we ever come back in Mossel Bay, we know where to stay.
Regards from Spain!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow4ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.6 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
524 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 53 in Mossel Bay
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 53 in Mossel Bay
637 reviews
3.8 mi away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar-t-nique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar-t-nique Guest House

Property: Bar-t-nique Guest House
Address: 82 Rodger Street | Linkside, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bar-t-nique Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar-t-nique offers top quality corporate and tourist accommodation. Magnificent panoramic views of the harbour, Indian Ocean and distant Outeniqua mountain range. Charming sea facing bedrooms all have private balconies, all rooms have twin or king size beds, DSTV and tea and coffee making facilities, security safes and hairdryers. Swimming pool, honesty bar and guest lounge. Evening meals on request. Breakfast is prepared each morning between 7 am and 9 am and is served in the dining room which has unsurpassed views of the harbour and ocean. Close to golf courses, beaches and many popular restaurants. George airport is only 30 minutes away. Bar-t-nique is your perfect base from which to explore the many attractions of the Garden Route and Little Karoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bar-t-nique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing