We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not amused!!”
Review of Park House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park House Lodge
Ranked #41 of 54 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We booked this place thinking it would be a pleasant stay to rest on our way to Cape Town. Little did we know that we would be given basic box size very tired looking rooms, nothing like the nice rooms shown on the website. It was late and we had no choice as we arrived late and prepaid.The icing on the cake was when we came back after just 2 hours and found that the basin and toilet was infested by ants. I wanted to walk out but I was travelling with 4 elders and could not chance us not finding other accommodation. I can say that the guy who worked there Michael was very helpful and cleaned up the ants. The sleep was not restful, the beds lumpy and the room was as we were on top of the laundry room. The best thing i can say about this place was Michael, the gardens and definitely the breakfast. If i was to ever be a backpacker and 18 years old, i would find this place ideal, at 40...NOT!

Room Tip: Maybe a garden room?
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank JorjaCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 33 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Don't go on holiday here if you want to avoid binge-drinking twenty-somethings.

Don't go on holiday here if you want affordable comfort.

Do go, however, if you've an interest in Victorian homes, braaing and walking. Oh and if you're a heavy sleeper!!! The doors slam, the stairs creek and the 'kids' party all night...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is a backpackers lodge, but also perfect for flashpackers (upgraded backpackers). Nice, helpful people, delicious breakfast, clean rooms, but the thing that impressed me the most was the house. This could easily be my house and my garden!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2badivegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The house is great. There is plenty space in and around to enjoy. unfurtunately a football team was staying over here so there was a lot of noice (not only talking, but al the time yelling, shouting) untill about 5 o'clock in the morning and from 7 am it started al over again (because of a rugby match). The lady of the house didn't do anything about it. It is a pitty, because I think it is a lovely place, but we were there at the wrong time. She should have been honest and tell about the noice. Also the lady was not very helpfull and hospital. I will never return, but I'd like you to give the advise, just try it and ask if there is no football team or so staying.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liefebeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This place may be an excellent backpackers and does have a very scenic communal area and garden but, as a guesthouse, is nothing special. Our room (a double) was very small but clean and overlooked the garden which was plesant but not if guests stay up late in the communal area drinking and talking - they could be heard through the closed window pretty clearly. Breakfast was available at a very steep R40 and was good enough. The location is not the best, not being in very close vacinity to anything decent. Neil (the guy running the place) was friendly enough without being particularly informative.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

This boutique backpackers in an old town house has so much space and charicture,all the spaces are well kept it realy shows that the owners love the house, this place puts a holiday relaxacing spell on you as soon as you enter. The shady garden is a peaceful escape where you can watch cameleons or just relax in the secluded terraces overlooking the towns pretty park.
I have travelled alot around the garden route and stayed in alot of backpackers, all good standard, but the Park House Lodge is deffinately at the top of my list.
If you stay in Mossel bay dont stay ianywhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spacesplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank FanchBzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
5.7 mi away
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
14.9 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 38 in Mossel Bay
903 reviews
5.5 mi away
Amzee Bokmakierie
Amzee Bokmakierie
#4 of 7 in Dana Bay
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Little Brak Beach House
Little Brak Beach House
#14 of 38 in Mossel Bay
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
5.7 mi away
Villa Chante
Villa Chante
#1 of 3 in Dana Bay
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Lodge

Address: 121 High Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $14 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge, with its lush garden setting, is home away from home to travellers, tourists and holiday makers. It is situated at the historical pulse of central Mossel Bay; near picturesque beaches, harbour, restaurants and vibrant entertainment activities. Mossel Bay is the front door to the spellbinding beauty of the Garden Route. The magnificent scenery of indigenous forests hemmed by sunbleached beaches makes a journey of this region an unforgettable experience. The sight of the brilliantly blue Indian Ocean juxtaposed to luxurious expanses of regal greens strikes amazement and admiration from around the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Park House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing