We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passionate people in stunning environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Onrus, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Passionate people in stunning environment”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The passion of management and staff for the environment and their business was evident upon arrival. Who can blame them with magnificent accommodation in such a beautiful setting.

We were warmly welcomed by the owner offering his knowledge and input after ascertaining our needs for the couple of days we had set aside to discover the area. We could make informed decisions on activities which suited our lifestyle. Although we had preconceived plans and ideas the local knowledge enhanced our stay and experience of the area as there are so many things to do and chose from.

We would recommend the total experience of accommodation, knowledge and passion for one of the most enticing visits we have had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    20
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
24
34
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Point village guest house 

I booked  Point village guest house for an overnight stay while doing the garden route and was not really sure what to expect judging from the website...

What we got on arrival was a warm and very friendly welcome from Delien the afrikaans manager who couldent of been more accommodating or helpfull. We were given the honeymoon room (it was not been used so we got a little upgrade)   which was thoughtful of her. The room , number 8 is on the top of the building and has glass sliding doors on two of its sides giving a open light and airy feel to make the most of its lovely sea views over the house tops.

There was a lovely feature bath in the middle of the room and unusually a toilet in the corner but we did not have an issue with this. I was sent out to the balcony when nature called which was a very nice place to be and did not inconvenience us at all. I could see some people having issues with this but it's a modern building, with modern features and it "fitted" the place's open plan arrangement somehow. 

The large wrap around balcony was a pleasure on a starry full moon night and with its elevated position afforded good views and added to the beachfront apartment feel which was carried throughout the fresh and modern decor. 

Toiletries and refreshments were better than the usual stuff and it was nice to see extras like candles and bath salts and decent coffee.

Breakfast was taken in a beachfront restaurant for which we were given vouchers, the food was ok, the staff ok but not the type of place I would normally choose. Having said that it was fine and not a deal breaker at all. For dinner we tried the Kingfisher restaurant one minutes walk from the guesthouse which was excellent.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, the room was nice, Delien very friendly and accommodating and the location very pleasant. If you are visiting Mossel bay try the Point Village guest house for something refreshingly different. If you are a young and modern couple then don't look anywhere else, you will really like it! 

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottishExplorers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Owner was really nice and we were made feel very welcome. Rooms were nice as well with lovely balconies and was situated right beside beach and restaurants. Good value in a great location.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NevandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed there for one night whilst travelling the Garden Route! We got there in the evening and were happy to find a last-minute option that pleasantly.

The rooms were so nice and cosy. The owner was a very friendly laid-back guy who gave us some background information about Mossel Bay and recommended a good restaurant. Loved the veranda and the view. Fair prices as well! I would come back any time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einhornprinzessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights enroute to Cape Town. The owner met us and was very friendly and hospitable. Our cottage by the sea was absolutely lovely, the decor was very cosy, the rooms amazing and comfortable. Even though the cottage is not directly ON the beach we could see the ocean through a walk way just a few steps away. Situated in a gated community, and with a few good restaurants around the corner, some wifi in the main building, this is an awesome place to be. We wished we had scheduled a longer stay here.

Room Tip: We had cottage number 12 Ansie's Self Catering Holiday Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansurmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I am a property developer and brought my landscaper and his team from another part of the country to work on my development in the next town. I have supported this establishment often in the past because of the beautiful setting, even though the accommodation is average. I made arrangements with the reception (Deniel) for my checkout and my landscaper would stay for another week. There was some miscommunication between the reception and Dewaal, the owner. He called me with an aggressively rude attitude and accused me of wanting to save R300 to his detriment. What idiocy. My phone was on speaker and the landscaper and myself decided to check out immediately due to Dewaal's unprofessionlaism and rudeness.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JohanClaassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed in room 8 of the guest house, supposed honeymoon room. Room had bath in the centre probably OK for honey mooners, but also had WC with beaded curtain on one side a a screen. When one of us wanted to use the WC the other went onto the veranda to give privacy. Unhygenic aswell as lack of privacy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JudgePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
3.0 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
236 reviews
18.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
338 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages

Property: Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages
Address: 1 Bland Street | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing