We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, stunning scenery, quiet and peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gondwana Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The service we experienced was fantastic. The staff are friendly and well informed.
We stayed in one of the villas which are well equipped, spacious and comfortable. The large fireplace in the lounge was great as we stayed in Winter as well as the gas fireplace in our bedroom!
The food was excellent and we had the pleasure of enjoying a wonderful bbq buffet on the last evening.
Our ranger was lovely and not over bearing.
The views from the villas are really stunning. We had a fantatic stay.

Gondwana is also close enough to drive and experience the rest of the Garden Route. If you are a keen golfer, there are great courses within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 907 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

Excellent all round, will be using them in future. The game ranger was very clued up on wildlife and I had an excellent time. The views and accommodation are excellent. The staff are amazing and very helpful. You can request a private dinner in your room where the chef will prepare it in your kitchen

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZaneJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

I would recommend a stay in Gondwana to any couple looking for a romantic, luxurious, safari trip of a lifetime. The accommodation was stunning and luxurious. We had our own private ranger who took us out for early morning and late afternoon/early evening game drives, and we saw lions, black rhino, buffalo, zebra, and much more. The service was excellent and helpful in every way. The food was delicious and all included in the price, along with the house wine. We even had the option of a chef who comes to your accommodation and cooks a personalised meal of your choice in your own place. The trip fulfilled my expectations in every way, and I would certainly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I highly recommend visiting the Gondwana Game Reserve. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, the scenery was stunning, and of course the game drives were a total thrill. Had I known how amazing this place was I would have booked it for much longer as a 1 night stay just wasn't enough to completely relax. There is always next time!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haightfillmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I cannot speak highly enough of our experience at Gondwana Game reserve - the people were top quality, the reserve itself is beautiful, the scenery stunning and the accommodation is superb!

Our guide Trevor was great and knew everything there was to know about the animals and the area. The rest of the staff we met were also really friendly and professional, nothing was too much trouble and we treated like royalty the whole time we were there. We stayed in one of the private villas which was absolutely stunning, the place was huge and tastefully decorated with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We also had a personal chef come out to our villa in the evening to cook dinner for us which was amazing. Our entire stay was luxury from start to finish, I just wish we could have stayed longer!! If you are travelling to South Africa then I highly recommend you pay a visit to Gondwana, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersieb, Manager at Gondwana Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2010

Thank you very much for this wonderful review! We thoroughly enjoyed having you at our lodge, and looking forward to seeing you in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Eleven thousand hectares is impressive for a private game reserve – particularly so for South Africa’s Western Cape, which is better known for Table Mountain and the winelands than for its top-class bush safaris. But with free-roaming wildlife that includes the ‘Big Five game, Gondwana Game Reserve is one of a kind in this part of the country, where viewing Africa’s big beasts are usually of the ‘zoo’ or ‘enclosure’ varieties.

Our guide, Forget Ndlovu, was in his element passionately interpreting the signs of the bush with a passion – his years of experience and depth of knowledge were obvious. His Black Rhino mock-charge ‘rescue’ will is fodder for safari tales - for a long time! We also viewed Elephant, Lion and Cape Buffalo. We were very impressed by the diversity of antelope and enjoyed seeing herds of Eland, Kudu, Grey Rhebok, Bushbuck, Bontebok, Cape Mountain Zebra, Redhartebeest and Springbok.

Amidst the fynbos-cloaked valleys and protea forests these breathtaking color accents added interest to our safari and we could not help but become swept up with fynbos spotting. There are more than 8500 species of fynbos (pronounced ‘fine-boss’) on Gondwana!

Highlights of our stay included a horseback safari – I felt like the queen of all I surveyed on top of Achillies, a 17-hand Shire cross thoroughbred gentle giant of a horse. We were also treated to a surprise bush breakfast, but it was more like a banquet! We also loved the en-suite dining whereby Ziyaad, one of four resident chefs, prepared a delicious three-course dinner for two in our private villa. Asian fusion Kingklip fish cakes served with local chenin blanc!

We stayed in the Fynbos Camp Villas that, at 200 sqm, are hands down the largest luxury villa suite we have stayed in in Africa! Afro Chic quality fixtures and furnishings don’t attempt to distract the eye from its natural course: the large windows that frame nature’s own canvas – the spectacular fynbos-covered valleys and dramatic Langeberg mountain views. We loved watching the tangerine sunrise ooze into the pale blue dawn from the comfort of our netted four-poster bed.

We were very impressed by the Gondwana team. One gets a sense that they are genuinely enjoying the hospitality industry and working at Gondwana. I am sure there are many more behind the scenes but a special thank you to the ones we interacted with: Wendy, Peter, Haneen, Forget, Alex, Ziyaad, Dirk, Nadia, Nadia, Virginia and Hugo. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingleonSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We recently had the privilege to stay at the Gondwana Game Reserve. We were extremely pleased with our experience. The professional staff at the main lodge will literally go out of their way to provide the best service! They even set up a table just for the two of us right in front of the fireplace dinner! We had our own guide for the duration of our stay who provided continuous info on animals, birds and flowers found in the reserve, On our last morning at the lodge, our guide even organised a bush breakfast which was just great! The very private and individiual chalets are totally furnished in the most modern and luxurious style with complete kitchen facilities with a view on the beautiful surrounding hills from the balcony! The one we stayed in could sleep 6 people with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, large kitchen and living room area, etc..To enjoy this property at its most, you should plan to stay at least 2 nights. If we have a chance to return to that area again (about 4 hours drive from Cape Town and 1 hour drive from Mossel Bay) the Gondwana Reserve will certainly be on our itinerary!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucieMontreal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
14.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
15.9 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
13.6 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
1,065 reviews
7 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#9 of 39 in Mossel Bay
235 reviews
9.1 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 39 in Mossel Bay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondwana Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondwana Game Reserve

Address: Garden Route | 4 hr drive from Cape Town, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $533 - $3,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gondwana Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gondwana Game Reserve provides the perfect safari break less than 4 hours drive from Cape Town and 45 minutes from George airport along South Africa’s popular Garden Route. The 11,000 hectare private game reserve offers a distinctive malaria-free safari experience in a spectacular mountain and Fynbos landscape adding vivid colour and interest to a Big Five wilderness experience. This exclusive reserve offers guests attentive service, superb cuisine, inspiring interiors, expert game rangers and a fun Junior Ranger Program for the kids. Kwena Lodge boasts 14 Khoi-San inspired Kwena Rooms. Each open plan suite is nestled into its spectacular surrounds with 180-degree views of the spectacular surrounds overlooking 2 waterholes where elephant frequent. The rooms offer sky lights for star gazing, clay pot fireplaces and deep baths to keep you warm upon return from an evening game drive. The spacious lodge facilities include a large infinity pool, chic open-plan lounge and bar, with food and beverage services offered in an elegant dining room set around 2 open fireplaces or in the outdoor boma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gondwana Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gondwana Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing