We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Gondwana!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gondwana Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were a group of 5: 3 high school students and 2 teachers from the U.S. We were looking for a short, two-night safari experience within a reasonable distance from Cape Town. And we found it in Gondwana. The accommodations were so lovely. The huts are nicely appointed in a "luxury African hut motif," if you can imagine that. The staff was very friendly. The food was excellent. We had a lot of fun and adventure on our twice-daily game drives. Our driver's name was "Delicious" and he knew so much about the animals, the flora and the fauna. We saw every animal but the lions, however we were A-OK with that. The lions are free-range, so they do not release them as you get close to them. You have to find them. We did not have the "I have to see a lion or I am not going to like this place" attitude. We really enjoyed all of the varied animals, and relished in our time at Gondwana. It was a do-able drive from Cape Town. We hired a very nice driver, and the trip was relaxing for us. We will return next year when we bring our students back in July. Thank you to all of the friendly staff. And oh yes... I had one of the nicest pedicures ever. What a view!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joggin-along-to-nowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaGameReserve, General Manager at Gondwana Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Helen and Michelle. Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us in July. We will most certainly welcome you back next year and look forward to spoiling you again. Its always a pleasure seeing our guests enjoy the Lodge and Reserve for what it was intended and the 5 of you certainly seemed to make the most of the good weather, the Reserve and of course the Lodge facilities. We will have to ensure we get those lions on board for your next stay. All the best for the remainder of the year. Regards, Neil and the Gondwana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 903 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

we were at Gondwana for only two nights at yet we managed to view so much such as: Hippo, Lions, Monkeys, Rhino, Buffalo, Giraffe, Zebra, Elephant, Ranges of buck and Birds such as our national bird and flower, proteas and the blue crane. We went as a family and stayed in this big and cozy guest house which ad an magnificent view of the reserve an we were lucky enough to hear the lions roar in the evenings. Dinner was delivered at night and breakfast was a buffet. Lunch was done amazingly and was delicious. Although we did have some bad points such as our fridge had no drinks and our fire wasn't lit when we got home which they said they would do.... Overall Gondwana is a lovely quiet and happy place and i'd like to thank our guide, Delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaGameReserve, General Manager at Gondwana Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Meg, thank you for your feedback on your stay with us in June. I am pleased our wildlife played its part and that Delicious was able to show you many of the species we host on the Reserve. Being a wild, natural Reserve, sightings are never guaranteed and this makes the search more exciting never knowing what lurks around the next corner. I appreciate you feedback on the missing room services, we will look into this to ensure it does not impact other guests stay on the Reserve. We look forward to hosting the Fisher family again soon on the Reserve. All the best, Neil and the Gondwana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family - which includes a 10 month old - spent 4 days at Gondwana in the company of friends at one of the Villas. It was a fantastic experience! Gondwana is an awesome spot and is a great mix of luxury and quality service on a true game reserve.

The service staff were fantastic and extremely helpful, particularly given our little guy being along with us. We had meals served at the restaurant and in the villa, which was not only accommodating but a great experience for the parents! We found the rangers / guides to be knowledgeable and enthusiastic about all aspects of the bush, which is always appreciated.

Highly recommended for a luxurious safari breakaway, particularly if you're in the Cape area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaGameReserve, General Manager at Gondwana Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Mark. Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us in June. Families travelling together and making use of the Villas, is the ideal way to enjoy the Reserve. It is a pit Nick and his family could join you for this trip, but we look forward to hosting you all again soon. Our Regards to Olivia, Blake and the Tait Family.
All the best, Neil and the Gondwana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was my first safari, and my husband and I stayed for two days. We saw giraffes, elephants, hippos, and a lion, not to mention scores of zebras, antelopes, impala and herons. The food was amazing, our guide was knowledgeable and kind, and we'd go back in a second. The spa was also great - I got a hot stone massage and it's one of the best massages I've ever gotten (and one of the best values, also). My husband got a facial that he loved.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaGameReserve, General Manager at Gondwana Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Michael. Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased your experience was memorable and enjoyable and that you managed to experience as many of our offerings possible. It was our honour to host you both, and look forward to welcoming you and Rafael back soon. Regards, Neil and the Gondwana team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 4 days in the Gondwana Game reserve and were blown away by the beauty of the park, the mass of game, the food and the service. Normally you would think of your Bush holidays being in Kruger or Botswana, but Gondwana offers everything you find there with a view of the sea and on the garden route! We took a laid-back 4 hour drive from Cape Town and found ourselves in a different world of plunging valleys with a Langeberg backdrop. We opted to stay in the Villa which catered to our every whim - great views from the bedrooms, fireplaces, stunning bathrooms and a very comfortable kitchen/dining room/living room - but the lodge rooms looked fantastic as well. We had a numerous game drives with a ranger who was very knowledgeable about not just the animals, but the birds and flora as well.

Certainly one of my top game reserve experiences and I would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaGameReserve, General Manager at Gondwana Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Brian and Louise. Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us over the Fathers day weekend. The Villas are great for families and the space and privacy allows you to enjoy the Reserve, views and everything that comes with them in your own time and comfort. We are sorry Nick and his family could not join you, and hope they will be able to come through and experience the Reserve soon as well. I trust you were spoilt on Fathers Day! Kind regards Neil and the Gondwana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were a group of 8 members of the Entrepreneurs Organisation (EO) who spent a weekend in June at Gondwana's Kwena Lodge for our annual forum retreat. The accommodation was impeccable and the attention to detail in terms of interior design and creature comforts hard to fault. The food was five-star (although way too much as is often the case with these establishments!). With regard to the conference facilities, it was also everything we needed in a beautiful and peaceful setting and with great service.

And the game-viewing experience was a pleasant surprise. The reserve is obviously still a work-in-progress with plenty of alien vegetation around while the property is being rehabilitated to its original state, but one gets the sense that these guys are really serious about this project and don't just see it as an opportunity to cash in on the demand for a Big Five experience close to Cape Town and the Garden Route. The guiding was first-class, bearing in mind the difficulty of the terrain, and we even managed to see an eland-kill by cheetahs!

Overall a perfect venue for a corporate bosberaad, but definitely fits all the criteria for a romantic breakaway too. We loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaGameReserve, General Manager at Gondwana Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Good morning Handri. Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent getaway with the EO Group. The Reserve is definitely settling in as a genuine Fynbos experience and the teams work around the clock in minimising the Wattle in areas of the Reserve and a successful project is in action eradicating them. Its rewarding to see, and the long term benefits will be immense. We hope to welcome you back soon with your partner and family, and perhaps give you the opportunity to enjoy the Villas and more of the Reserve. All the best, Neil and the Gondwana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Gondwana is not a typical African bush experience because of its location in a fynbos area and its relative age. In that context it is an excellent destination. The accommodation is very comfortable (Kwena huts) and the staff are friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding when the head chef (JC) was in attendance and was otherwise acceptable but not brilliant. The location is very scenic. The park shows its young age in that it is not yet mature so the biodiversity is not the same as a mature reserve and most of the animals are by definition newly introduced. We saw excellent Lion with cubs and were privileged to see a cheetah run down a small Eland. I was a bit disappointed in the bird life and it will take a long time for the place to feel truly wild but it is certainly one of the best game farms within 4 hours of Cape Town. There is a story online of the female elephant who was relocated from Bloemfontein Zoo to Gondwana and its an interesting conservation story. Two of the elephants were originally circus elephants who were also reintroduced - they could have more easily taken surplus elephants from Kruger but this gives a different angle and is more interesting.

We used the conference facilities for meetings and it worked very well. Its not really a location targeted at experienced African game viewers and game viewing was certainly not our main objective. I think its more for foreigners looking for a quick, convenient (and very comfortable) game experience on the garden route. Locals looking for a night or two with a difference on the way to Plett or wanting to take visitors to a game farm nearby to Cape Town won't be disappointed. Its not cheap but there is no good game reserve which is.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1 at Kwena which is right at the end of the row and feels very private. A longer w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaGameReserve, General Manager at Gondwana Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Good morning Arnold. It was our honour hosting the EO Group at Gondwana Game Reserve and trust the stay was as productive as it was enjoyable. Thank you for the balanced feedback on the groups stay! JC our new Exec Chef has worked hard in lifting the standard of the food offered on the Reserve and his team have taken to the challenge. We are excited at the prospects of what they can and will achieve. I am disappointed at the mention of the lack of birdlife. This is one of the very unique factors of Gondwana Game Reserve and the Fynbos Biome and as a birder I found it challenging in the beginning to adjust to the 'way' you go birding in Fynbos. We would be delighted to host you again soon, and will gladly arrange a specialist birding trip for you on your return. Kind regards Neil and the Gondwana Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
14.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
15.9 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
13.6 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
1,060 reviews
7 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#8 of 38 in Mossel Bay
235 reviews
9.1 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 38 in Mossel Bay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondwana Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondwana Game Reserve

Address: Garden Route | 4 hr drive from Cape Town, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $528 - $3,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gondwana Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gondwana Game Reserve provides the perfect safari break less than 4 hours drive from Cape Town and 45 minutes from George airport along South Africa’s popular Garden Route. The 11,000 hectare private game reserve offers a distinctive malaria-free safari experience in a spectacular mountain and Fynbos landscape adding vivid colour and interest to a Big Five wilderness experience. This exclusive reserve offers guests attentive service, superb cuisine, inspiring interiors, expert game rangers and a fun Junior Ranger Program for the kids. Kwena Lodge boasts 14 Khoi-San inspired Kwena Rooms. Each open plan suite is nestled into its spectacular surrounds with 180-degree views of the spectacular surrounds overlooking 2 waterholes where elephant frequent. The rooms offer sky lights for star gazing, clay pot fireplaces and deep baths to keep you warm upon return from an evening game drive. The spacious lodge facilities include a large infinity pool, chic open-plan lounge and bar, with food and beverage services offered in an elegant dining room set around 2 open fireplaces or in the outdoor boma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gondwana Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gondwana Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing