We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in the wild”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gondwana Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Luxury in the wild”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was traveling to South Africa and came across the Gondwana reserve. I was so taken in by the advertising.... The experience from landing at the reserve to the exit was phenomenal :-). I was recieved at the entrance by friendly staff, and a welcome choco drink. A private tour of the property followed by a lovely 3 course lunch, amazing chef choices along with a great wine accompaniment. The property was awesome inviting you to just relax ...i was sorry that i was just spending one night. The Game drives conducted by "forget" were even more amazing... and met some great people... who made my solo trip most memorable. I think this place is total value for money in this part of South Africa. To top it all, i had a facial at the in house spa. It was splendid, never had such a nice treatment...The "Back to Nature" facial comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeethaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    142
    58
    18
    8
See reviews for
220
363
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We experienced our first safari at Gondwana last week and it far exceeded our expectation. From the warm welcome to our fantastic safari ranger everyone was so enthusiastic. Accommodation was perfect and we ate so much delicious food made by the chef. Definitely if you are thinking of a safari outside cape town - this is the one. We were in cape town visiting our son who has just started working there and we all got such a buzz out of tracking the animals.

from Yorkshire England

Room Tip: we stayed in the kwena huts which were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Gondwana was wonderful!! The people were so friendly, so welcoming and so accomodating. The house we stayed in was beautiful, and the view was amazing. Levi, our cook, and Isabella served us some of the best meals we had during our two week stay in South Africa. Henk was an amazing guide - on our evening safari he found 2 male cheetas who entertained us for quite awhile while they played. It was so amazing even Henk took pictures. There were 9 of traveling together, including 3 teenagers, and we all agree we cannot say enough great stuff about Gondwana.

Room Tip: If you have a large group, or enjoy the privacy, we recommend renting a house with staff. They will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBBinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south notts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a very pleasant resort in a beautiful setting with marvellous scenery.The Kwena huts are very comfortable and well equipped and the staff friendly and helpful. The food is fine without being 5 star. We had very interesting game drives with an excellent guide, Delicious, but the number and variety of animals is distinctly limited. maybe we were just unlucky but we did not see their single rhino nor their 3 lions, single cheetah or lepoard. Admittedly the reserve is only 8 years old but we feel that their promotional material is rather misleading; until they acquire more animals they should advertise themselves as a Nature Reserve with game , not as a Game reserve.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SouthNottsMagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

As a resort it was a perfect experience. Staff were incredible in their attention to detail and service. Lodgings were beautiful, we were staying in the thatched huts which complimented the site perfectly and the food was gorgeous. These aspects will not disappoint you. These points were the highights of the visit and if you look for these things in a holiday then you are going to the right place.

However there were a few points that mean that it wont get full marks:
The park is still young and there are therefore not as many animals as some of the others, this coupled with the fact that it is a large area to cover means that you wont get to see that many animals during your safari. We saw 2 of the big 5 (unfortunately the elephants outsmarted us and evaded being spotted on both safaris) but you will not see the 5 and we know how lucky we got just getting to see 2.
We were staying for just one night so everything was a bit rushed such as getting off a safari and going straight to dinner making us feel like a bit of a burden wanting to have a shower and get ready.
We also booked for a private safari but didnt get it - A good point is that the safari was so intimate and the ranger so friendly that it would have made very little difference.

For one night it was a bit too much if you want a relaxing time so we would recommend a few nights if you want to try out the spa or just chill as this is the perfect place to get away from it all. A perfect resort with the chance of seeing a few wild animals rather than a full on safari is how this reserve shoud be seen as.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoobiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We experienced the most amazing weekend at Gondwana. Every touch point has been carefully thought out and the service was outstanding. I still cannot believe such an amazing Big 5 reserve exists just a few hours from Cape Town. It's ideal for a weekend getaway! I can fully recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuan_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I would just like to complement Mark Rutherfoord and his team at Gondwana. From the rangers, chefs, waiters, waitresses and receptionists, it was simply 5 star.
the service was incredible, the Kwena huts spectacular and the game drives extremely informative and scenic. thank you guys it wa a very special experience and I am looking forward to many more trips in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
12.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
14.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
15.9 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
17.8 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 30 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondwana Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondwana Game Reserve

Property: Gondwana Game Reserve
Address: Garden Route | 4 hr drive from Cape Town, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gondwana Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gondwana Game Reserve provides the perfect safari break less than 4 hours drive from Cape Town and 45 minutes from George airport along South Africa’s popular Garden Route. The 11,000 hectare private game reserve offers a distinctive malaria-free safari experience in a spectacular mountain and Fynbos landscape adding vivid colour and interest to a Big Five wilderness experience. This exclusive reserve offers guests attentive service, superb cuisine, inspiring interiors, expert game rangers and a fun Junior Ranger Program for the kids. Kwena Lodge boasts 14 Khoi-San inspired Kwena Rooms. Each open plan suite is nestled into its spectacular surrounds with 180-degree views of the spectacular surrounds overlooking 2 waterholes where elephant frequent. The rooms offer sky lights for star gazing, clay pot fireplaces and deep baths to keep you warm upon return from an evening game drive. The spacious lodge facilities include a large infinity pool, chic open-plan lounge and bar, with food and beverage services offered in an elegant dining room set around 2 open fireplaces or in the outdoor boma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gondwana Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gondwana Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing