We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whales and penguins!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little Brak Beach House
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whales and penguins!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a great location if you want a nice quiet time to chill out and take in the beautiful beach scenery. A bit out of the way (Mosselbay town is about 150 rand taxi ride away) but a very quiet and relaxed place.
We saw whales very close to the beach and even a penguin that looked a bit lost. Phillip was very helpful and even advised us where to stay next as we wanted to hike and save a bit of money. Definitely a great place to stay if you're a bit partied out and want some quiet time.

Room Tip: Off season deal on private 2 bed ensuite, 3rd night free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a perfect location if your just looking to chill and do nothing. We stayed here for 4 nights in early July which is winter time here. Thankfully the weather was lovely in the day so we went for really long walks along the beach and spotted a couple of whales not far from the shore which was fantastic. Although Julia and phil do not offer a shuttle service ( which is a shame) you can get a cab to Mossel bay for 150 rand each way.
The ensuite rooms are lovely and we found phil and Julia really friendly and accommodating.
The train station is now a restaurant and pub which are really cute :) and we were lucky to have Sunday lunch here which was amazing :)

Room Tip: The location is out of reach from the town unless u get a cab. So,depending off what your looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in this homely, peaceful hostel. It's really close to the beach, and has all the facilities you would need. As we visited in off-season, we had the whole apartment to ourselves! The staff were incredibly helpful, as they advised us on lots of places to visit along the Garden Route. The free breakfast was lovely as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, it was really close to the beach and it was out of town so a lot quieter and more peaceful. The rooms were lovely, great bathrooms, great included breakfast and wifi, well equipped kitchen, and the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimmergirl_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We only stayed for one night but would have gladly stayed for more. Large, clean rooms with a nice bathroom and powerful shower. Simple breakfast was waiting for us on the counter when we woke up. Julia was most welcoming and tipped us to the old train station restaurant close by which was amazing. We were completely satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A very nice place! Lovely rooms (clean, nice design, nice bathrooms++), garden, braai area, close to the beach and an incredibly helpful and kind manager! One of the best hostels (more like a hotel) I've been to. Really recommend this place, wish we could stay longer.

Room Tip: Double ensuite with bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Perfect!!!! The place is amazing!!! Clean, near for the beach, organied, food, place to braai, tv, kitchen, for fair price. Perfect place to the last stop when u are going back to Caape Town. Cable tv, included breakfast and beatiful saillor design.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaBelloFornari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
6.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
5.7 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
179 reviews
6.6 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
124 reviews
6.3 mi away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#10 of 53 in Mossel Bay
378 reviews
6.5 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 53 in Mossel Bay
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Brak Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Brak Beach House

Property: Little Brak Beach House
Address: 9 Barwell Street | Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6503, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Brak Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Little Brak Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing