We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than what meets the eye”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Brak Beach House
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and i stayed at little brak beach house as a overnight stop before making our way back to capetown. Everything was in order and the hosts were friendly and very welcoming.We ended up staying longer than expected and taking the canoe on the river aswell also an activity available from little brak. The muffins where delicious.

Mohammed & Suaad

Room Tip: Any room the all peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mo786wp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

when you are searching for party, it is not the best place.
But otherwise the acomodation is perfect.
Verry clean, free Wi Fi and a nice breakfast incl a brownie.
It was a perfect place for us.
Sorry 4 my english

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed over at Little Brak River on our way up the coast. What a welcome relief to find such a lovely place to stay at. This backpacker truly puts the others we stayed at to shame with a lovely room that was more to hotel standards. The value for money was outstanding, with the usual cereals for breakfast along with bread available for toast, and homemade muffins. The hospitality and friendliness from Philip and his mother was lovely and they were always on hand to help or give advice. We were unfortunate to arrive in heavy rain but managed to make it over to the quirky little restaurant that was recommended just next to the railway track. This is totally unique and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed there in one of their double rooms for one night. The beach and the river mouth are within walking distance, the room was ok, the bathroom was more than ok, probably even the best shower we had in South Africa.
Accommodation is simple, but there is everything you might need. A restaurant ranging between good and original is within walking distance, we used the big and well equipped kitchen instead. Communal facilities (dining room, patio etc.) are very nice and comfortable, free wifi. We also had a look at one of the dorms, it looked above-average.
We did not hear the train mentioned in one of the reviews but the N2 in the distance. Was not loud enough to bother us though. It takes about 20 minutes to get to Mossel Bay by car.
The hosts, Philip and his mother Julia, were not exactly our type but since we were not really their target group (rather bagpackers) that is ok. They seemed very helpful and willing to provide their guests with information and they were very friendly, no doubt about that.
It sure was not the most stylish or atmospheric accommodation we had, but if you are travelling on a budget or you want to have something more basic than usual to cut back your travel expenses I can clearly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dassie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed here two nights brilliant value room was furnished more like a small hotel room than a backpackers. Room was very clean comfortable bath, good shower and it had a tv. Stayed in a double room upstairs had a nice shared balcony/walkway thing which was very pleasant to sit out on and read my book while resident cat hung out by my feet. The noise of the train at night was quite loud but apart from that we slept very well. Very good lounge and kitchen facilities with good selection of books to read. A short walk to the beach and a nice restaurant (Vaaljapie Station). Very quiet spot very relaxing. One of the reasons its so quiet maybe that its quite difficult to find!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brecon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We spent one night here fo a stop-over during our travel.
The owner is very kind and helpful: he proposed many activities but we just stayed the night.
Our bedroom was quite cheap and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast provided and tea and coffee available in the kitchen.
It is in a village just outside Mossel Bay: we did not visit it but you can get there easily by car.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penelope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights. It is an excellent value guesthouse near the beach. A yummy breakfast is included in the price. We had a lovely double ensuite room. It is very quiet and very clean with off-street parking. The owners are great with lots of knowledge of the area. There is a full kitchen available for use as well as a common lounge and dining area. Much better option than Mossell Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
6.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
6.6 mi away
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Mossel Bay Backpackers
#6 of 39 in Mossel Bay
172 reviews
5.3 mi away
Diaz Beach Guest House
Diaz Beach Guest House
#22 of 55 in Mossel Bay
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#9 of 55 in Mossel Bay
423 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
#4 of 39 in Mossel Bay
99 reviews
13.6 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 39 in Mossel Bay
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Brak Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Brak Beach House

Address: 9 Barwell Street | Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6503, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $40 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Brak Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Little Brak Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing