We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably best value for money we had in South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little Brak Beach House
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably best value for money we had in South Africa”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed there in one of their double rooms for one night. The beach and the river mouth are within walking distance, the room was ok, the bathroom was more than ok, probably even the best shower we had in South Africa.
Accommodation is simple, but there is everything you might need. A restaurant ranging between good and original is within walking distance, we used the big and well equipped kitchen instead. Communal facilities (dining room, patio etc.) are very nice and comfortable, free wifi. We also had a look at one of the dorms, it looked above-average.
We did not hear the train mentioned in one of the reviews but the N2 in the distance. Was not loud enough to bother us though. It takes about 20 minutes to get to Mossel Bay by car.
The hosts, Philip and his mother Julia, were not exactly our type but since we were not really their target group (rather bagpackers) that is ok. They seemed very helpful and willing to provide their guests with information and they were very friendly, no doubt about that.
It sure was not the most stylish or atmospheric accommodation we had, but if you are travelling on a budget or you want to have something more basic than usual to cut back your travel expenses I can clearly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dassie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed here two nights brilliant value room was furnished more like a small hotel room than a backpackers. Room was very clean comfortable bath, good shower and it had a tv. Stayed in a double room upstairs had a nice shared balcony/walkway thing which was very pleasant to sit out on and read my book while resident cat hung out by my feet. The noise of the train at night was quite loud but apart from that we slept very well. Very good lounge and kitchen facilities with good selection of books to read. A short walk to the beach and a nice restaurant (Vaaljapie Station). Very quiet spot very relaxing. One of the reasons its so quiet maybe that its quite difficult to find!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brecon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We spent one night here fo a stop-over during our travel.
The owner is very kind and helpful: he proposed many activities but we just stayed the night.
Our bedroom was quite cheap and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast provided and tea and coffee available in the kitchen.
It is in a village just outside Mossel Bay: we did not visit it but you can get there easily by car.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights. It is an excellent value guesthouse near the beach. A yummy breakfast is included in the price. We had a lovely double ensuite room. It is very quiet and very clean with off-street parking. The owners are great with lots of knowledge of the area. There is a full kitchen available for use as well as a common lounge and dining area. Much better option than Mossell Bay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed here during the world cup. Philip could not do enough for us. You do need a car if you are going to stay here though. Nice breakfast and good living area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

What a lovely little guest house! We stayed at the Little brak beach house for a couple of nights in July. Littlebrak river has a charming, relaxed holiday feel to it, and with the numerous activities available directly from the house organized by Philip ( our amazing host) we enjoyed every minute of our stay.
The house is really 2 self contained units, upstairs and downstairs sections. The downstairs lounge opening onto a large braai (BBQ) area. And the upstairs having a very nice open plan lounge, kitchen area.
Be sure to try a canoe trip down the Littlebrak river, which winds its way down towards the Botleerskop private game park. The lodge rents out brand new two seater canoes at very resonable prices, and although we didn't take one, a picnic basket can be made up to take along. Once again, Philip our amazing host was very helpfull and gave us (complete novices) a quick lesson on paddling before we set off down the river.
I cannot recommend the Littlebrak beach house enough, and if you are looking for relaxing, friendly accomodation be sure to book here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba_Steve60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
6.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
5.7 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
179 reviews
6.6 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
124 reviews
6.3 mi away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#10 of 53 in Mossel Bay
378 reviews
6.5 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 53 in Mossel Bay
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Brak Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Brak Beach House

Property: Little Brak Beach House
Address: 9 Barwell Street | Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6503, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Brak Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Little Brak Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing