We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Ranst
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The perfect place!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

At backpackers Mossel bay you experience fast, friendly and correct service!
They got a lot off rooms and attrack nice young people.
It's located close to a good surfspot and a few good bars / restaurants.
The rooms are basics backbacker rooms but perfect!
They got a own bar and chill out area with table soccer, a pool, fire place and lots more!
Try the shooters (I recommand the "Kakpot")!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrie B, Manager at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
AAH:)

Thanks so much fellow traveler for taking the time to review us.

Many thanks and best wishes
With love
Mossel bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    57
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
59
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I was shocked by this place. The staff was great, the place was beautiful, the rooms were clean and very nice with beautiful views. The pool area is beautiful and it has an awesome bar and fire pit area. I will defiantly be coming back here! And only a short walk from restaurants and the beach!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aacesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Mossel Bay Backpackers exceeded our expectations ten fold. This place consists of what appears to be 2 premises that had the walls taken down and combined to create one stunning modern establishment. There is a massive kitchen area with balcony (sea view) where one can prepare food and eat. Recreation area indoors and outdoors with bar, pool table and foosball.

The dorm we stayed in had an en-suite bathroom and slept 6. They also have private rooms available as well as regular dorms with communal bathrooms. The staff were awesome and you can book any of the countless activities around the area directly from them. And not to mention the free wifi was great.

I believe the private room guests can park vehicles inside the premises whereas dorm guests park outside. However the location appeared very safe and we had no issues with our vehicle parked in the street. This backpackers is centrally located with everything you may need within walking distance.

I will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What a striking place for back packers. This venue is also a B & B which we have stayed at many times. Excellent B & B. The kitchen for the back packers is a dream, the dorm's and private rooms are all you need, the swimming pool is a treat and over and above this they also offer an adventure outing. This is such a great conseption, what's more it is just a step away from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonPuchert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinie777, General Manager at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hiya Jettnova!
So glad you enjoyed your stay in MBay! You hit us in the quieter time of the season, but it seems that you made great use of your time! Happy travels, love & light friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised by Mossel Bay Backpacker. We stayed in a double room with ensuite which was clean, tidy and was one of the best budget accommodation we stayed in during out time in South Africa. The staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful. Location was good. Loved the swimming pool and felt more like we were in a really comfortable hotel for a very reasonable price. Great stay, awesome breakkie!
Keep up the good work and a big thank you for a great stay - just wish it was longer!

Room Tip: Try the omelette at Breakfast - yummy! Also if you get a chance pop over the road to Route 57 for d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jettnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ness Ziona, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

They have dorms and privet rooms. I stayed in a privet room which was amazing! Comfortable, clean wither access to the pool. They have a bar and information place and its close to the beach and its on the main road so it's also close to bars and restaurants..
I enjoyed it very much and recommend to all! Young, old, honeymoon....

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin_pri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Great facilities. Lots of places to chill...little pool with loungers, bar area with outdoor benches, little sandy area with sofas..gorgeous!! Kitchen was well equipped and good place to meet people.

Staff were really friendly and helpful. There was a breakfast with a few choices of hot and cold dishes...cheap and tastey.

We had a private twin with shared bathroom..comfy bed.
Wish I could have stayed longer!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.3 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
#6 of 32 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mossel Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mossel Bay Backpackers

Property: Mossel Bay Backpackers
Address: 1 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aaah, The Bay of Diamonds. So called for the sea that shines night and day, this bay is so scenic you won't be able to close your eyes at night. But if you do, come try our vibrantly upgraded backpackers! Run by two brothers raised in this very backpackers, we know what it’s about, whether sea salt, tequila or an adrenaline shot, you'll get your fix here.Mossel Bay Backpackers proudly offers the best of a 3rd World country:Situated next to one of SA’s most consistent surf spots, so GET WET!Cooking with a view! We have stylin’ Sea view self service kitchen,In-house restaurant serving home cooking or traditional meals and braais from our fancy Chef, come hungry and settle in around the fire with local live musicians.So your mother is gravely worried about her Precious Flower in wild Africa, well keep in touch via FREE wifi and PC facilities. Loads of advice on everything from surf tides to girl hides.Pool table, foosball and fully functional sleepers bar, like uh.. Fully bru.Ensuite doubles overlooking the swimming pool.Please book in advance, so we can organise you nice weather! Much love.. Management x ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mossel Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing