We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel at the main street of Mossel Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hostel was very quite when we arrived and we only spend here one night, but the service was good. We got a dorm for the two of us and they have nice hang-out places for during the day. The beach and harbour is just a 50m walk and you can also just walk from and to the pubs at night.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ALSAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in a private ensuite room. It faced the pool and was clean and beautiful.
Great bar area and breakfast area. Awesome kitchen if you would like to prepare your own meal.
We were 2 South African girls, and met 2 German guys at the hostel. After going out on Saturday night for dinner and drinks, once we came back to the hostel, a lady was 'shooshing' us and sending us back to our rooms. She then stood outside our rooms for a while to make sure we go to bed! Not what I would expect of a hostel...
Would still stay there again though, as the room and facilities were so nice

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sharnay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I really enjoyed staying here. Several outdoor and indoor places to hang and enjoy a cup of tea, lay out by the pool, or have a drink in the bar. Pleasant and peaceful surroundings and friendly staff. They gave what turned out to be great recommendations for backpackers on our route and must do's that went beyond the tourist stuff. I'd stay here again and I'd definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a nice place near to the sea. It takes about a 10 minute walk to get into the center. The internet reception is kind off weak and you don't get it in the room just in the general area. Beer is very cold and the service is alright. The rooms are pretty clean and the bathrooms are about average.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klavertje123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I were on our first ever backpacking experience and had previously stayed in only one backpackers on our trip which was absolutely outstanding! We arrived here to a bit of a cold reception and discovered that our private room was very run down. We were aware that this was more typical of a backpackers than the brand new one we had stayed in previously, but after discovering the light was out in the bathroom and a couple of dead roaches were in the shower tray we began to feel disappointed. The bed was extremely uncomfortable also. The backpackers hostel is located in a decent area just a short walk from shops and restaurants and the staff did become a little warmer on our second day. After staying in many backpackers on South Africa's garden route we were able to have a little more of a comparison and a good idea of what can be considered a decent backpackers hostel. Unfortunately this was easily the worst we stayed in and yet happened to also be one of the most expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picasso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it was a really great and clean place! The staff is really nice and helpfull. They served an outstanding breakfast with a lot of options. I would really recommend this place when visiting Mosselbay! You can also book excursions with them.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ArjanvandenBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

One of the best places I've stayed. Great location, the staff was very welcoming and very kind.
The rooms are very big and spaced, clean and beautiful design.

Nice big garden outside, with a pull area, great place to just chill.

Also have a huge kitchen with a lot of equipment, and amazing view!

Best place for backpackers

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Limor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinie777, Owner at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Wow Thanx Limor! I'm sure if when you come back one day soon our 'Pull' will be waiting just for you! haha H
Hope your travels are going awesome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
#6 of 38 in Mossel Bay
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#2 of 54 in Mossel Bay
290 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Backpack Shack
The Backpack Shack
#21 of 38 in Mossel Bay
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#9 of 54 in Mossel Bay
410 reviews
6.6 mi away
Little Brak Beach House
Little Brak Beach House
#14 of 38 in Mossel Bay
50 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mossel Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mossel Bay Backpackers

Address: 1 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $60 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aaah, The Bay of Diamonds. So called for the sea that shines night and day, this bay is so scenic you won't be able to close your eyes at night. But if you do, come try our vibrantly upgraded backpackers! Run by two brothers raised in this very backpackers, we know what it’s about, whether sea salt, tequila or an adrenaline shot, you'll get your fix here.Mossel Bay Backpackers proudly offers the best of a 3rd World country:Situated next to one of SA’s most consistent surf spots, so GET WET!Cooking with a view! We have stylin’ Sea view self service kitchen,In-house restaurant serving home cooking or traditional meals and braais from our fancy Chef, come hungry and settle in around the fire with local live musicians.So your mother is gravely worried about her Precious Flower in wild Africa, well keep in touch via FREE wifi and PC facilities. Loads of advice on everything from surf tides to girl hides.Pool table, foosball and fully functional sleepers bar, like uh.. Fully bru.Ensuite doubles overlooking the swimming pool.Please book in advance, so we can organise you nice weather! Much love.. Management x ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mossel Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing