We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$95
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Point Village Hotel(Mossel Bay)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Portao Diaz(Mossel Bay)(Great Value!)
$35
$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans Hotel(Mossel Bay)(Great Value!)
$47
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Country Inn(Klein Brak River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
97
63
11
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
63
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomsand boardingcool spotswimming pool issecure parkingone nightown bathroomlarge kitchensingle roomhotel roomstayed here for nightsoff street parkingwithin walking distanceopen fireother guestsgarden routebed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 174 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a amazing time I had. Probably the best kept hostel in South Africa. Wonderful little town with a lot of activities. The staff was exceptionally helpfull and friendly. I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethesda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We pulled in here after a lengthy tip from PE. Very welcoming, good value, showers were a bit dirty. Lack of bedside lamp in room prove a challenge. The hostel itself is clean and the staff were excellent in suggesting things to do and there's a lovely plar to chill out if you feel like relaxing!!!! Would recommend. Safe is under the bed! Bring a lock:)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMargaretH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinie777, Manager at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thanx Margaret! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! :-) We always enjoy any feed back! Safe travels! MBay BP Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Mossel Bay was the first stop of my BazBus trip from Cape Town to Johannesburg, and my first stay at a backpackers in South Africa. As other reviewers have commented, Mossel Bay itself is probably a little quieter midweek and low-season than you might hope, but Heinie at the Mossel Bay Backpackers was quick with a smile and full of about-town suggestions. Friendly in that super-chilled, surfer-dude kind of way, his demeanour is much the same as you will find the accoms: no frills, relaxed and easy. My self-contained room was basic and comfortable, clean and plenty of space. Bring your own towel and soap. No safe. Wifi connection fantastic and there’s a free-to-use computer if you don’t have your own set-up. Deposit required for room key and pay for breakfast. Hang out in the sunny and pretty courtyard or in the comfy reception lounge and kick-back listening to the awesomely good tunes on Heinie’s playlist. Beers are served super cold! A walk to the lighthouse to watch the sun go down is a must. Dinner in the nearby atmospheric Cuban Bar is nice and, on the way back, a venture into the bikers bar, Trawlers Action Pub, a bloody good time if you’re so inclined. If it’s the start of your trip, make use of Heinie’s great BazBus-route knowledge. Generous with his time and suggestions, I found his skill in marrying recommendations to my personality-type, spot on. Mossel Bay Backpackers’ and its laid-back, easy-going demeanour informed the start of my backpacking travels and was the perfect ‘attitude adjustment’ to kick me off.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoozSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinie777, Owner at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hello SoozSolo! Thanx for the cool review here.. I am glad we could kick start your backpacking chilled out mood and ignite that traveling spirit! All well wishes on your travels and do pop in again soon as we have now upgraded the whole place! Bigger bar, big sea view kitchen and some kickass in-house tours to scratch that traveling itch! ciao Bella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Mossel Bay is quiet and this accommodation was a bit run down and dated. We (a couple) stayed in a double en-suite. The staff were really friendly and it was pretty relaxed, but here are a few things to note.

For 390 ZAR, we had the following:

-Old rickety bed (squeaked loudly every time you moved in bed - even an inch - hard to fall asleep)
-Light was out when we arrived (however, they immediately replaced the bulb)
-Noisy, construction going on right near our window with the building of a lodge
-Old bathroom with dead cockroach
-Internet very slow in room, but excellent in main part.
-No breakfast

Would I stay here again? No. Could it be good for a young backpacker who doesn't care about cleanliness and all the above? Yes.

Again, staff were nice - super relaxed - but the accommodation was just average (we've stayed in nicer for the same price or cheaper)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeys4thesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinie777, Owner at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Why hello 1foreigner!
Firstly, I do apologize about the noise and building in the morning! We had to pick a time to vibrantly upgrade ASAP and you must have hit it spot on this time :-/ Please please, if you ever come this way again do pop in again for a free night or two, as I would love to show you our real side and what we are. All our rooms are super now and thanks to your review and some thought put into the new parts, our new beds are bolted to the walls... :-) no more squeakiness.
We do cater for a younger backpacker wild spirited market, however we take pride in listening to all our guests and making sure your stay is just... perfectly homy.
Safe travels!!
ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staff is great rooms are clean u can hang at the pool or play some pool... Price value is fantastic and there is lots to do in Mossel Bay, like shark cage diving, skydiving, u can even become a skydiver there for a very good price. Heini and Gerry are the best keep it up guys.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank packal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinie777, Owner at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Patrick!!
How are you man!?? Thanks for the review. You were indeed our favorite guest and more so friend this whole year!
Much love man!! don't break a leg! hahaa
Heinie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews