We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, the rest just okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mossel Bay Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, the rest just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The hostel is located pretty close to everything you'd want in Mossel Bay - close to the point (ocean views, food, spectacular lighthouse) and town (there are a few good cafes within a few blocks). This was the best part of the place.
The actual hostel though is a bit loud (the walls seem quite thin). And our room smelled like urine - it was clean, but there must be some sewage pipe or something close by making the stay somewhat unpleasent. We were also disappointed that the off street parking was only for guesthouse customers and not for the backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    55
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
57
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We went to Mossel Bay in the winter so it was a little bit of a sleepy town. However, Mossel Bay Backpackers has a extensive list of activities you can do while staying in the area. The great thing is, the staff has done all of the activities. It isn't a guess on what you are going to experience, they know first hand!

Location -

Mossel Bay is pretty small. But the backpackers is really close to the point (five minute walk). A grocery store is about a 7 minute walk away and their are several pubs in the immediate area as well.

Staff -

Staff is very chill! Really helpful with anything you need to know and always there to great you with a smile.

Cleanliness -

The hostel is really clean by hostel standards. The blankets aren't old and worn out, the common areas are kept clean, and the showers/bathroom are clean as well.

The only down side was the hot water was hit and miss. The hostel was pretty much completely full so I think this may have contributed. If you showered outside the morning hours of 8 - 930, you would catch some hot water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Very nice people, very nice place ! They gave us many advices about what to do around Mossel bay, one girl even spent at least twenty minutes talking to me about the best place to see big cats..
We spent two nights there (including one day when it was raining cats and dogs) and I have excellent memories of the trip.

I'm willing to go back next time I go to South Africa !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is probably one of the more luxurious hostels I have stayed in. The rooms look just like a hotel room, and all the commodities are present. The shared toilet was Ok, but not quite as impressive. .

The communal area is quite nice and spacey, there is a really great pool in the central garden. The roof terrace has amzing views over the whole bay, and it is a beautiful place to have breakfast.

There is a bar serving alcohol, and they do offer breakfast at a price.

The guys in the reception were quite helpful, even volunteering to call around to book the next hostel for us.

I think a lot of the people staying here were surfers, but there was a good mix of other travellers as well. This is the reccomended Lonely Planet hostel - so obviously very popular.

It is quite close to the main street where there are lots of restaurants and shops.

The reason I don't want to give it 5 stars is mixed :

- I think the room was a bit expensive. I know we could have had a room at some of the other hostels much cheaper. We paid less for a single room in the centre of Cape town. The dormitory is priced similarly to other hostel though.

- I think it is very unreasonable to charge for using the Wif-fi , specially when we alredy paid a lot of money foir the room.

- this is probably the first hostel I have seen were you are not allowed to drink your own alcohol, you have to buy it from their expensive bar...not good....

- The breakfast was expensive, but at least there was a kitchen, so an option to make your own breakfast as we did.

They offer free tea and coffe, which is quite nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Was so so so much surprised in a positive way!! amazing private room (i saw that shared rooms are also nice), friendly and helpful people are working there

if you want atmosphere of complete relaxation and remoteness from the rest of the planet, meet new people and share with them your travel experience, a bottle of beer and, perhaps, a bed - come to Mossel Bay Backpackers

from Russia with love

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yarrilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

They stay was great with friendly staff. stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. Would definitely stay at Mossel bay Backpackers again.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Micheal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We didn't stay there but we asked to book for us sanboarding. The blond boy was very friendly to us, he booked for us sanboarding for next morning, told us that we can use coffe and tea, explained everything in Mossel bay, gave us a map.
Next day after sanboarding we took a shower and we cooked some food for us and.. we didn't stay in the hostel, it's just because this place is really good. They can give you everythink that you need just because they are very nice and friendly. So.. I really recommend to stay in this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
18.3 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
#6 of 30 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mossel Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mossel Bay Backpackers

Property: Mossel Bay Backpackers
Address: 1 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aaah, The Bay of Diamonds. So called for the sea that shines night and day, this bay is so scenic you won't be able to close your eyes at night. But if you do, come try our vibrantly upgraded backpackers! Run by two brothers raised in this very backpackers, we know what it’s about, whether sea salt, tequila or an adrenaline shot, you'll get your fix here.Mossel Bay Backpackers proudly offers the best of a 3rd World country:Situated next to one of SA’s most consistent surf spots, so GET WET!Cooking with a view! We have stylin’ Sea view self service kitchen,In-house restaurant serving home cooking or traditional meals and braais from our fancy Chef, come hungry and settle in around the fire with local live musicians.So your mother is gravely worried about her Precious Flower in wild Africa, well keep in touch via FREE wifi and PC facilities. Loads of advice on everything from surf tides to girl hides.Pool table, foosball and fully functional sleepers bar, like uh.. Fully bru.Ensuite doubles overlooking the swimming pool.Please book in advance, so we can organise you nice weather! Much love.. Management x ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mossel Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing