We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very friendly”

Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Botlierskop offers various activities: Guided game drives: Experience close encounters with Rhinoceros, Lion, Buffalo, Giraffe, rare Black Impala and many more species. Horseback Safari to the majestic mountain valleys. Elephant back ride: Experience the real African thrill on elephant back. Spa treatments: we offer various treatments including African massages. Bush walk: guide tour on foot through the reserve to spot the smaller things.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very friendly”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We are locals and felt that they prefer having foreigners and locals are a nuisance We left after 10 minutes

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Karon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    71
    17
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A return visit is a 'must'...”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Botlierskop Game Reserve is sheer luxury, and also a good place to get away from it all. We were met with welcome drinks upon our arrival, and immediately whisked away on an afternoon game drive: the highlights for me were the two rhino sisters, and ‘tea with the elephants’. We enjoyed our room; it was comfortable, delightful and we liked the personal touches…I still have the beautiful welcome card from Jeanne-Mari of the staff, and kudos to the Reserve for supporting the Mossel Bay Craft Art Workshop. We made sure that we zipped up our tent from the inside, as we were advised to do…in case we had visitors during the night. We did not take advantage of the outdoor showers, as it was too cold outside to really enjoy the experience.

Dinner was wonderful, with a choice selection of steak, lamb, warthog, crocodile, pork, and good old faithful chicken, with delicious accompaniments. Dessert was equally an experience.

An early drive to ‘greet’ the lions was arranged for my partner; it clashed with my spa treatment, and I opted for the latter, as I could always return for another visit. Breakfast was good, we were able to have a leisurely one, with no staff hovering around, and definitely plan to return for a second visit…we were just there for the night.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank monicaj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is smart - it has a wonderful ambiance - the game drive was a great experience with lots of animals! During winter the open fires inside the restaurant add to a cosy atmosphere while enjoying a lovely meal!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MosselBayDanaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK if you need an "animal fix" in the Cape”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We did a half day drive here in Jan '13. They have a few animals of each type - and a couple of lions in a fenced off area. Its sort of a crosse between a zoo and a game park.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great day”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We can't comment on the accomodation but we had a great day trip to Botlierskop. We started with an hour Elephant Walk, followed by a 3 hour game drive, lunch and then the walk with Lions.

This is not a huge park, and the animals will obviously get used to seeing the vehicles, which for us was good as we could get a lot closer to animals and take some great photos with the animals being caged, especially the walk with lions. Be warned that the drive to the lions is quite long (3/4 hour each way) over rough dirt roads, but boy was it worth it.

The staff we had for all 3 elements of our day were all friendly and professional. An excellent day.

Helpful?
1 Thank NeilLanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botlierskop Private Game Reserve also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing