We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had the most memorable weekend at Botlierskop. The food was fantastic, the tents very clean and cozy, and the attention to detail was obvious.

We enjoyed the game drives, the horse back safari and the spa treatments.

Felicity and Viljoen went out of their ways to make us feel special and wellcome.

Botliers will see us again!

Room Tip: Choose the luxury tents!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tienie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place! I only picked up a leaflet in the tourist office and thought we'd give it a try as we drove the garden route.

We were greeted at the gates and walked through to the main hall. My jaw dropped as I saw the room and the spectacular view. Then we were shown our 'tent'. I hate camping so was very nervous, but I need not have worried. It was awesome!! Huge bed, air con, free standing bath, loo, kitchenette and an outside private shower. I have never stayed anywhere like it.

We had a game drive and saw ALL the animals. Because its a private reserve, you are guaranteed to see elephants, rhino, lions etc... All the animals have acres and acres of land and are all very well cared for and live a very natural life. All the staff and guides were extremely knowledgable and courteous.

We enjoyed a lion walk where you actually walked within a few feet of two lions. You can also feed elephants or do a horseback safari

The dining room and food were absolutely 5 star and the huge open fire places, hilltop infinity pool and panoramic views were breath taking.

I couldn't believe the price either! I know the pound is strong against the Rand, but two of us stayed full board for one night, including a host of wildlife experiences for less than the cost of a trip to an amusement park.

Unbelievable. Just go.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jarvo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and 4 daughters. Could have stayed longer, the place was amazing. Where to start.... the food, the tents, the staff, the safari experience - all were perfect. From the minute we arrived we were treated so well, offered fizzy wine and snacks as our room wasn't ready (were were early), and enjoyed the beautiful views while sitting near the infinity pool. The tents were gorgeous and brought even glamping to a whole new level. The tents were superb, beautifully decorated, spacious, clean and just lovely. Staff would take you to and from your room at a moments notice in golf buggys and the journey was quite steep but it was never too much trouble. We enjoyed going out in the jeep for safari's (which would take a whole separate review to how wonderful it was) plus my daughters went on horseback, each time assisted by our guide for the whole trip - Corlea who was so knowledgeable and so nice. The food was amazing, well cooked and the choice so good, again staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: All tents (we had three) were lovely with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancesStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The elephant walk was amazing! Something very unusual. The game drive was OFF THE HOOK but remember to dress up warm as high on the plateau and the wind and cold really hits you even when warm in the valley. They do give you blankets but just not enough and they don't warn you so can be a terrible two hours if you are not prepared. We stayed in the luxury tents and it was magic..... Kids loved every minute and we felt like we were really in the bush. The staff were fantastic really attentive and great with the kids. Loved the selection of foods all the great variety of game.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Mess V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

A well hidden gem and a wonderful surprise hidden beteeen George and Mossel Bay. Spectacular views were only eclipsed by a 4 day old baby elephant. An absolute little charmer; we wish him a long life. Good place if you are into wild bird spotting too.

Be good to see a few more lions though and perhaps in a larger enclosure.

Service in the dining area was capable and not intrusive. Good cross section of food on offer at the buffet. Stunning, huge roaring fireplaces in the common lounge more than made up for some grotty weather during our stay.

We will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_Kern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wow...this is the best 4 star accommodation we have ever stayed at...I dont understand why they dont have 5 stars! Its perfect from the second you arrive to when you leave. Friendly staff, amazing interiors, the tents are luxurious and beautiful. Superb finishes...only the best. Its the little things they attend to. You get a glass of champagne and a snack bowl on arrival while you fill in the forms. Then they escort you to the tent where they explain how everything works and complimentary sherry and fruit bowl in your tent. There is a mini bar and electric blankets and bear throws so its perfect for winter accommodation. The best thing is the log fires in the dining are that is always burning...it creates such a warm ambiance. Dinner was superb and so was breakfast. I recommended this for any occasion and the best in the Garden route. We will be back! Thank to the owners for sharing their peace of heaven with us!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tasha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is my second review of Botlierskop but our first return visit since their recent upgrade. Our stay was truly spectacular and we are once again planning another visit since we are blessed enough to live only 4 hours away from this piece of heaven. We received 5 star treatment from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. The upgraded lodge is warm and inviting with spectacular views in every direction. This was our final destination after a 2 week holiday along the Garden Route and it was a perfect finish to our holiday. The service, the staff, the accommodation, the activities and the food are outstanding and this is a stop over not to be missed. Although the rest of my family are meat eaters, I only eat the occasional piece of fish so am always concerned when we are heading into a buffet dinner situation. There is however, something for everyone and they were more than willing to prepare a separate meal for me. It was not necessary since there is plenty of choice anyway. Breakfast was delicious and very single thing you could possibly want is on offer, including delicious Méthode Cap Classique and orange to round off a decadent breakfast. Our children enjoyed their stay too which was great as we were a little concerned that it was not the ideal place to take them. Dinner was somewhat wasted on them and it may be nice to see a simpler children's menu introduced. This would not effect our decision to go back though and we understand that this is ideally a wonderful adult escape. I cannot imagine anyone leaving Botlierskop with a complaint. It is outstanding and we look forward to going back. Thank you to everyone at Botlierskop for another magical stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
10.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
8.8 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
360 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
13.6 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 38 in Mossel Bay
887 reviews
6.6 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 38 in Mossel Bay
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $197 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop reserve is stretching over 3500 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 17 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. The Manor house on the reserve has 7 rooms with views over the plains and good game viewing opportunities. Some rooms has baths and showers some only showers. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, horse back safaris, bush walks and spa treatments. Game includes lions, elephants, buffalo's, rhino'giraffes, black impala, zebra and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing