We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique top class holiday experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Unique top class holiday experience.”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our stay at the resort has been a fantastic overall experience with top class cuisine and service. The game is also marvelous. The only disappointment to me was the lion camp. It was sad to see the lions having to watch the other game through an electrified fence, without being able to practice there natural hunting instincts.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinkwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    174
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
288
661
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moorreesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Amazing experience! We enjoyed every moment. Dinner at the Botlierskloof Restaurant is a must! The infinity pool overlooking their wildlife was just perfect. The elephant ride and safari's are an awesome experience. Will go back any time. Thank you Botlierskop!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestertyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We loved every moment of our short stay here. The wild life, views and situation are all exceptional.
The tent was very elegant, beautifully furnished, and with a stunning outlook over the river.
The raised sun deck was very private, and a great vantage point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StewartCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottuln, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

It's unbelievable, what we've experienced. The best was the Cat Walk. I recommend everyone so this!!!
The tent was clean and the bed was heated by a heating blanket. The Game Drive Guide was very kind and show us everything

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris-Rolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We did not stay but came from Mossel Bay for a morning drive. We chose the drive-in option at several places (see Schotia and the excellent Kwantu near Port Elizabeth) and it saves you money. Our drive was excellent: lots of varied animals to see, good vehicle, great guide, pretty site. And a very good lunch. We missed out on the walk with lions at their other location (see website) since the times did not fit. Work out what you have time for - they are helpful when you phone to discuss options - before finalising your itinerary. There are perhaps not too many private game reserves between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth, but check out his one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Botlierskop is located close to Mossel Bay. It offers the possibility of safari at the end of the Garden route closest to Cape Town. We did the full board option with two game drives. We stayed in the tented accomodation, and our tent was located in the woods a decent distance from the other tents – son very private. Access was via a little ferry across the river. The kids loved pulling the ferry across the river and the fact that we were staying in the woods. There were warnings to close doors to keep moneys out of the tent. The safari guides mentioned if they do get in they drink the alchohol and create havoc (the monkeys that is). The tent was luxurious with a big bathroom with a bath. There was a lovely (and private) outdoor shower some yards away from the tent. The kids were accommodated on pull out beds in the same room. Food in the lodge was excellent. The safari offered the option of being guaranteed to see at least 3 of the big 5. They are all close by the lodge. We enjoyed our one night stay and this allowed us to see all that we wanted to see in terms of the animals. Walking with the lions was particularly awesome where you got to get really close to young lion cubs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We are in South Africa for 4 weeks and high on on our list was visiting a game park. We stayed at Botlierskop for 3 nights. We slept in one of their luxury tents close to the river, very private. The whole experience was first class from facilities to service. The games drives were very well run. Take the opportunity to walk with the cats.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank letsbike190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
8.8 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
338 reviews
10.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
13.6 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 34 in Mossel Bay
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 34 in Mossel Bay
225 reviews
22.2 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 34 in Mossel Bay
89 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bush Villas Botlierskop
Bush Villas Botlierskop
#1 of 6 in Great Brak River
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Property: Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop reserve is stretching over 3500 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 17 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. The Manor house on the reserve has 7 rooms with views over the plains and good game viewing opportunities. Some rooms has baths and showers some only showers. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, horse back safaris, bush walks and spa treatments. Game includes lions, elephants, buffalo's, rhino'giraffes, black impala, zebra and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing