We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We cannot praise Botlierskop enough, everything was perfect and the attention to detail amazing. There is nothing we would or could fault - the staff, the beautiful tent, breakfast, lunch and dinner were incredible. The games drives and bush walk were so interesting and we saw so much wild life, but I have to say the highlight was the Cat Walk, I am still pinching myself and looking at the photos to believe it really happened!

We would thoroughly recommend Botlierskop to anyone that wanted a perfect 3 days - thank you to all the staff and the people in the background that made it happen so efficiently

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnChalfontSPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent just one night at the reserve on our way to explore the garden route (great first stop if coming from cape town - just 4h drive) and it was truly beautiful and relaxing.
We were warmly greeted and had a welcome drink outside while we checked in (and meanwhile our baggage was brought to our tent).

The "tented accommodation" is much more than a tent - it boasts everything you might need but still manages to give you an "outdoorsy" feeling.

You will find everything to make yourself a coffee, tea or hot chocolate - towels, bath robes - great bath tub!, outdoor shower - and a great view onto the river and mountain from your private deck.
Some fruits, some sherry (and of course a fridge to buy more from) - cushy blankets...I am sure I am still forgetting something!

They offer you to call a golf cart every time you want to go to the main complex, but most tents are not to far - but its convenient! (I just wonder if there was never a guest who fell of the cart - the drivers are not slow:-))

We also opted for the dinner buffet- great value for money and you can try different sort of game!..and when we came back to our tent - they put on the heater to make us feel comfortable.

The tents are not that far from each other - but you hardly see them - we had number 5 - but were very able to hear another couple fighting about his bad habits -
even if you feel alone...you have neighbors!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlandos66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Everyone was kind, friendly and very well informed (Lanice was our guide). The luxury tents were spectacular! The activities were well organized and the food was great and plentiful. It's a beautiful location. The safari was exciting and the horseback riding gave us a opportunity to get closer to all of the animals. We also saw two newborn bucks on the reserve born that morning.
Thanks for a great time.

Wendy and Sarah (Washington, DC)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyCReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We visited Botlierskop as part of our trip along the Garden Route and took it as an opportunity to visit a game park in the safety of the western cape. This is a great way to get up and close with animals including Rhinos, Lions, Giraffe, Zebra and lots of antelope. Our host Vijolen was really welcoming and we liked that he was responsible for us throughout our stay.

The food was excellent quality and the staff we friendly and attentive.

Personally I wasn't keen on sleeping in a tent but the accommodation was a reasonable standard. The wildlife was very noisy but I guess that's what people visit for!!

I'd recommend Botlierskop for anyone looking for a safari experience on the garden route.

Room Tip: Tents 1-4 are close to the lodge. Other tents are a walk with some of them requiring a significant u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Andy

So glad you have enjoyed your stay especially the wildlife, food, your guide and the rest of our friendly team. Pitty you did not enjoyed the tented experience but please remember on your next visit, we also have the Manor House with suites that you can book. It is ideal for GUESTS that prefer a build structure compare to a tented safari experience.

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasure. Friendly staff. Beautiful restful setting . 2 days here and you'll feel very refreshed. A must see while in George. Thanks to the staff for a lovely stay and still a few hours left. Well done!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Stuart

Thanks so much for your review and it would great hosting you. Glad you have enjoyed your stay and felt relaxed. Looking forward hosting you again on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and i spent our 1st wedding anniversary at Botlierskop. Firstly i changed my booking on 3 occasions and Jeanne Marie ( Reservations) was ever so helpful in accomodating this. On arrival our guide met us at our car (Corilea )with a golf cart to transport us to reception- she was delightful and always there to assist us with anything. Tracey checked us in and we were welcomed with a glass of champagne and some snacks whilst seated outside to take in the view. Our tent was fabulous, clean and you get a feel of the colonial decor throughout the lodge. The bathrooms with large sliding doors, outside shower even the smallest detail such as candles and fizzballs for your bath, gowns and slippers made our stay just that much more special. There was a bottle of Pierre Jourdan champagne in our room to congratulate us from the hotel- it was such a special touch..thank you! We had wonderful massages at the spa and then wisked off for a game drive with Christo who was exceptionally informative and enjoyed sundowner drinks and snacks with a spectacular view of Eland, Bontebok and Mountain Zebra. Dinner is a wonderful experience and we were well looked after by Marinda and i can say is we love how the food is prepared with having your meat ( different types from warthog, Impala to beef ) cooked in front of you. We joined Rico for a horse ride - what a gent! We both ride- so to see the horses in such good condition and trained so well even coming across a snake the horses did not shy...thank you Rico for a lovely afternoon ride. To sum up our experience we have stayed in various hotels and lodges and we can tell you this by far has been the best of the best- superb food, excellent service and what a lovely setting. Thank you for making our 1st year anniversary ever so special, we certainly wont forget our time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 - lovely view and close to the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoragWilson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Wilson

Thanks so much for your review and we were honored to host you on your 1st wedding anniversary. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again on your second year's anniversary with some more spoiling!

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stay for one night full board. Afternoon Safari of 3 hours was mostly just driving around the area. Actual sighting of animals took less than 1 hour. We skipped the early morning Safari. Perhaps tent accomodation is not our thing. It didn't 'feel' clean. Didn't use outdoor shower as floor was mossy. Electric bed-warmer was a nice touch. The skewer of ostrich at lunch was very good but skip the mussels as it gave my husband diarrhea. You are better off staying at a nice B&B in Mossel Bay and participate in the day visitor activities. Walking with the Lions and Elephant Riding were awesome.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Mrs

Thank you for your review posted on tripadvisor. We do value your input. The Reserve is big so you will see a variety of animals but not around every corner as they are free roaming. Pitty you did not do the early mornig drive as the route they take is totally different. Glad you enjoyed the Catwalk and the Elephant experience. The tented suites do give GUESTS a unique bush feeling and all our guests loves this but could be that this is not really for you. With regards to the mussels, I am not sure if you husband could be have picked up a bug before visiting us as we get in fresh mussels daily as we are so close to Mosselbay.
Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
10.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
8.8 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
352 reviews
15.5 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
489 reviews
10.7 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 34 in Mossel Bay
861 reviews
6.6 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 34 in Mossel Bay
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $204 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop reserve is stretching over 3500 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 17 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. The Manor house on the reserve has 7 rooms with views over the plains and good game viewing opportunities. Some rooms has baths and showers some only showers. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, horse back safaris, bush walks and spa treatments. Game includes lions, elephants, buffalo's, rhino'giraffes, black impala, zebra and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing