We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A fantastic way to end our trip to South Africa. We saw so much wildlife and were very impressed with the service from the staff. Even the thunder storm in the evening put on a good show. It is definitely worth staying over as I don't think you's appreciate the surroundings as much if you were only there for the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    174
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
290
661
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived to 3 elephants drinking by the creek. Amazing first impression. Everything from the game drives,luxury tent to the outstanding food was impressive! I travelled with my family of 5 and we treated like superstars from the moment we arrived. The kids loved feeding the elephants and lion cubs,as well as riding the elephants. My husband and I loved the gorgeous tent with heated blankets and outdoor shower. The game drives were amazing...we saw something different every day. Our guide Neil was very knowedgeable and thoughtful,bringing us wool blankets for the chilly morning ride as well as hot towels to freshen up with after. He took pictures with our camera so that the entire family was in some together. The food was top notch as was the service. From beginning to end we received 5 star service. We really didn't want to leave. Definately will go back.

Room Tip: Luxury family tent had complete privacy with king bed as well as 3 pull out couches. Excellent exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What an amazing and awesome time we had. High fives to the staff and fabulous accommodation, especially the outdoor shower! Walking with the lions was a truly unbelievable as well as feeding the elephants. This is exactly what is needed for the soul. Cuisine was delicious and we had such an awesome time we have told EVERYONE about this place. Just one word of advice, if you plan to stay out later than 10 pm, inform the staff as the gates get locked. Thanks to all for a spectacular weekend away!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debmen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful experience. We were well looked after from the moment we arrived. ALL staff are very knowledgeable and totally customer focused. Tents were luxurious, all meals outstanding and we had an amazing game drive. Crossing the river on the pont was lots of fun.Would have loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I just visited Botlierskop for one night last week... From the second we stepped onto the reserve, we were treated like royalty. I could not have asked for better accommodations and experiences. We arrived on the premises and parked our car, someone was there within the minute to pick us up in a golfcart to take us to the lodge.

Our check-in was flawless, with a guide to explain everything and a welcome glass of champagne. Then, lunch was served to us on the deck while overlooking the game reserve, as well as an appetizer. From there, we did the cub encounter which was our FAVORITE.... We were able to play with and pet the lion cubs as well as bottle feed them which was a wonderful experience. After that, we were taken to our deluxe tented suite which was BEAUTIFUL. We got ready and then went on the game drive... it was EXCELLENT... a true safari experience. We assumed a game drive would be boring, and it is the furthest from it. You are in a safari vehicle fording rivers and going up the steepest hills on the edge of cliffs making it truly exhilarating! Seeing the animals in the wild was magnificent.

Then it was dinner time... I STRONGLY suggest trying the ostrich, njala and gemsbok along with the pepper sauce and mushroom sauce. All very, very delicious and I wish I could eat this daily. The meats don't taste gamey at all... they taste like prime cuts of the best quality beef. Also the crocodile is stunning... better than chicken! They also have a wonderful passion fruit sorbet palate cleanser that is out of this world! We then returned to our tent and took an amazingly romantic bubble bath together in the large accommodating tub with the tent doors open and the cool breeze coming in... We then went to sleep and could hear animals walking around on our deck! We woke up bright and early the next day for our activities and headed to the lodge for breakfast... WOW. The spread was huge and the breakfast food/cocktails were to die for! We then went on an elephant back ride which was scary and wonderful all at the same time. Our elephant guide was so knowledgeable about elephants. We learned so much! I also had the opportunity to feed Tsotse the elephant an apple! :) We then headed back to the lodge where we were escorted to our vehicle to do the lion walk.... The drive to the lion reserve was a safari in itself! Bumping around the mountains and through the pastures to get there... We then got to walk with the lions and even pet them! So perfect. On the drive back, our driver even went off road and took us up to see some cape buffalo bulls that were congregating around a mud hole! After that, the staff OPENED the curio shop for me to browse and buy some things.... then they dropped us and our luggage off right at our car.

The only strange thing that happened was when we left to go to dinner, we had the "Do Not Disturb" rock up... After dinner, we went back to our tent, the windows were up, there were bottles of water around the room, like staff had come in while we were gone. We also noticed that some things went missing... nothing major, just some biltong, some droewors and a piece of fruit... perhaps a monkey snuck in while the staff was setting up our tent for the night... I don't think any of our personal items were taken. Other than that, it was a PHENOMENAL experience and I HIGHLY recommend it. I tried to tip the staff well at the end of the trip because they were all so wonderful to us. My boyfriend and I will certainly be returning and staying at Botlierskop longer than one night next time. Thank you SO MUCH, Botlierskop for the wonderful journey!!!! Can't wait to see you again! XOXO!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BethieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

From the moment you drive in, you're well looked after. Many staff live on the premises so are around everywhere to help. The main lodge where you dine and relax is stunning. High quality furnishings and the view is gorgeous. The deck area is divine.
The tents are luxurious, for sure. We had to leave the heating on all night because it was very cold in July but that was fine. The outdoor shower is interesting in the middle of winter, but all part of the adventure and fun!
The game drive was extremely windy as it's quite high up and exposed, but the animals we saw were great. The little picnic you get to have half way through is awesome and the guides are very knowledgable.
The elephant ride and feeding were highlights for me. Once in a lifetime type experiences. I've recommended Botlierskop to many people since returning to Cape Town and would love to get back there to relax - as it's a perfect spot for that. You feel like you're a million miles away from the rest of the world.

Room Tip: If you have mobility restrictions, make sure you check which tent you are assigned, as the steepness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

my fiance and I decided to do something totally different for our wedding. We decided a wedding ceremony for just the two of us was all we needed, and some lions! We found Botlierskop through our photographer and I am so glad we did! I stayed in the manor house for the first night and my husband-to-be stayed in tent 7. The manor house is stunning and beautifully decorated. Right outside my veranda were the two white rhino sisters -- amazing! i had a lovely and thoughtful bridal package waiting for me and a lovely note outlining our stay. Soney was a BRILLIANT, patient and attentive coordinator. and Lounice was fantastic during our stay, helping make every little inconvinience seem like nothing! They food and service were both outstanding. i loved the elecrtic blankets at night, and the beds were quite comfortable! I think my only suggestion would be that it would have been nice to have a proper king bed rather than two single beds pushed together, but if thats all I can find to complain aobut -- that is pretty darn good! Our wedding day was magical. we each woke up to a champagne breakfast in bed followed by a nice relaxing massage. We had a ceremony under a large tree, with beautiful proteas scattered around. Every detail was perfect and carefully thought through and planned. Soney you are VERY GOOD at your job ;). The elephants were grazing around us at the ceremony and we got some photos with them as well. Soney surprised us with a chance to play with the new lion cubs -- only 5 weeks old!! I cried in delight! We drove around the reserve to take some photos and ended the drive with the lionesses -- we got some amazing photos with the two beauties! it was amazing!! We then enjoyed champagne by the pool and our breath was taken away when we saw our tent deck completely transformed into a fantasy dinner. it was magic!!! Our wedding day was so original, and so well suited to us! Thank you again!

The rest of our stay there was fantstic. We walked with the lions again and enjoyed some other activities. We took a trip down to Mossel Bay. We enjoyed hot chocolate by the boma, and enjoyed listening to the drummers at dinner! What a start to our amazing honeymoon.

thank you again to everyone at the lodge for making out wedding day PERFECT!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alainavarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
8.8 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
339 reviews
10.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
15.5 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 34 in Mossel Bay
814 reviews
6.6 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 34 in Mossel Bay
225 reviews
22.2 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 34 in Mossel Bay
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Property: Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop reserve is stretching over 3500 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 17 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. The Manor house on the reserve has 7 rooms with views over the plains and good game viewing opportunities. Some rooms has baths and showers some only showers. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, horse back safaris, bush walks and spa treatments. Game includes lions, elephants, buffalo's, rhino'giraffes, black impala, zebra and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing