We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were treated like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We had such an amazing time at Botlierskop. The staff was professional and friendly. The environment was pristine and we enjoyed watching the wild animals from out deck. We tried all the exotic wild meats at the restaurant and this attributed to making this experience exceptional. Would love to go again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetrusJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Petrus

Thanks so much for your review. Really glad you have enjoyed your stay as well as the animals and most of all the dinner experience we have on offer. Please be sure to visit us again - we are doing major refurbishments next year in May and would really be a WOW so keep visiting our Facebook page for more updates!

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Botlierskop and we haven't stopped talking about it 4 years later. We plan to return and recommend this to anyone who doesn't have the time to head to Kruger National park. The wildlife, food and lodging are worth every penny.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JGalt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Sir

Thanks for your review.... 4 years is too long - you have to come back ...
We are doing some major refurbishments next year May - so please visit us and experience the NEW look.

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

treated like VIPs. took up a good deal from trip advisor which gave 40% discount on a night's stay with BKF and dinner, and a game drive. it was the best lodging my wife and I had during our trip to South Africa. the game drive was eye opener. bring warm clothing as it was freezing cold. there were refreshment during the game drive. saw the Big 4/5. there was a local made card next to your bed side to welcome you. staff were all very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eikpinng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Eikpinng

Thank you so much for the comment and so glad you enjoyed your stay out our Lodge.
Looking forward hosting you next time you are visiting SA again.

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for just one night during a two-week trip to SA from the UK. I was impressed with every place we stayed at, but Botlierskop was by far the best! We stayed in the manor house and our room was absolutely beautiful! We crammed a lot in to our visit, starting with an afternoon game drive when we arrived, where we saw a huge array of wildlife including elephants, giraffes, rhinos, lions... Our guide (Adolf) was fantastic and clearly extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the animals. So many amazing photo opportunities! The early morning game drive the following day was even better than the first one. We saw a mother and her one-week-old baby giraffe, as well as a family of rhinos relaxing by the river just after sunrise. Worth getting up at 5am!
The food was also great, and we also managed a dip in the pool, which is on the small side but with the most fantastic views! We also decided to do the 'cat walk' (walking with lion cubs). Botlierskop organised this for us but it seemed to be provided by a separate company and was about an hour's drive away (the drive itself was an experience!)... totally worth it in my opinion. We have some amazing photos of us actually stroking the lion cubs! Make sure you wear decent footwear if you're going to do this though (comfortable, flat shoes) - flip-flops are not ideal. All in all - a fantastic experience. Hope to visit again some day!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Liz

Thanks so much for your review.... So glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our New Manor House suites. The catwalk is very special yes .... and glad you had a change to experience this.

Hope to see you soon on your next visit to SA

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Can't disagree with any of the reviews. This place is an absolute oasis with unbelievable quality and service. The cat walk is an absolute must. Fantastic spa treatments available. We will be back very soon. Amazing value especially for UK travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear DJ

Thanks so much for your great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us ...and I cannot agree with you more - The catwalk is a must

Looking forward to your next visit for more amazing experiences on your next visit to SA

Kind Regards
Botlierskop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Oh how I loved it there. I stayed for a day. One unforgettable day! What amazing service I'm lucky to have had the best safari guide ever. He was so informative & fun. Thanks for a great experience. It was raining when I was there & I still had the time of my life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mariam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Mariam

Thanks so much for your review.
Glad we could contribute to your unforgettable day and really glad you enjoyed your safari with us
Looking forward hosting you again in the near future...

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Staying at the Botlierskop Private Game Reserve was an incredible experience. The service and food is great, everyone tries teir best to make you enjoy yourself. They have all sorts of wildlife there, you can feed and ride on elephants and even walk with lions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
10.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
8.8 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
353 reviews
15.5 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
490 reviews
10.7 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 35 in Mossel Bay
863 reviews
6.6 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 35 in Mossel Bay
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $204 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop reserve is stretching over 3500 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 17 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. The Manor house on the reserve has 7 rooms with views over the plains and good game viewing opportunities. Some rooms has baths and showers some only showers. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, horse back safaris, bush walks and spa treatments. Game includes lions, elephants, buffalo's, rhino'giraffes, black impala, zebra and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing