We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting close to nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

WOW! What a great time we had at this resort. It was our second visit to this game farm and it only got better :) You know how sometimes you visit a game reserve and you feel cheated afterwards? Not here! The game is free to roam the farm (not the lions thought :)).
We went back to our tent (not a fair description - it is luxurious!) and almost bumped into two rhino's that went for a swim in the dam.
On our arrival we saw the African Wild Cat - a rare site and we felt extremely privileged.
The game ranger was excellent!

Room Tip: Any of the luxury or deluxe tent are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Maria

Thanks you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your second visit with us and are looking forward to your 3rd visit to surprise you even more!

Take care
Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I, both elderly pensioners spent 2 days at Botlierskop in mid-winter. The wild animals were free roaming and yet readily seen on game drives with the friendly knowledgeable guide/driver - with numerous photo opportunities. Service was prompt and extremely friendly, even to providing hot water bottles and blankets during the early morning game drives. The tented accommodation was private, heated/air-conditioned, along the river, with electric blankets and all amenities, and readily accessible with the on demand golf cart service. The meals provided a good choice and were of a high quality. We even rode the elephants!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Jan

Thanks so much for your wonderful comment. We are so glad you enjoyed you stay with us and are looking forward welcoming you back next year

Kind Regards
Botlierksop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me and my wife visited Botlierskop Private Game Reserve for a short breakaway of three nights. We didn't really know what to expect, but all expectations were totally exceeded! We had a great time, were able to relax and we truly enjoyed our stay. Good food, friendly service and fun activities add to a wonderful experience. We would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Tents in winter is no problem, thanks to air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Martin

Thank so much for the comment left. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward hosting you in the near future

Kind Regards
Francina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent two nights at Botlierskop in July- luckily choosing good weather for our winter visit and we had a wonderful stay in one of the luxury tents. The weather would not have mattered to our comfort much, as the tents are air-conditioned and the electric blankets, down duvets and thick faux fur blankets make for cosy sleeping. The tents are located along the river down a steep hill from the main lodge and while we walked to our tent most of the time, there are golf carts available if one feels less energetic. Sitting on the tent verandha watching the waterbuck & nyala and the cheeky vervets was most relaxing.

The warm welcome and hospitality and attention provided by all the staff was superb. The restuarant served up amazing food. Breakfast for R120 gave every option imaginable, with the breakfast cocktails and the venison sausage a highlight. The supper menu is a set menu with homemade breads & pates, soup, three choices for starter/ mains and desserts, rounded off with coffee. The food was delicious and at R230 was reasonable, but I would have liked to have had the choice of a 'lighter" option with fewer courses. We did a lovely morning game drive with a knowledgable ranger, seeing the various buck species, buffalo, rhino, zebra and giraffe, as well as the elephants and lion which are kept separately. The highlight for us however was the 'catwalk' with two 3year old lions. It was managed very well and although we walked and interacted for an hour with the lions, the staff were most responsible and at no stage did we feel any danger or threat from this magnificent predators.

The road to Botlierskop is good ( a short dirt road off the tar) and there is cellphone reception. Rooms are supplied with kettles, hairdryers and a fridge. The receptionist even located me a cellphone charger to recharge my phone!

Botlierskop is also an easy drive to the beautiful beaches between Knysna and Mossel Bay. A day trip to nearby Hartenbos with its funpark and flea market would be recommended in the holiday season for families looking for a busy interlude from the tranquility of Botlierskop. I would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for the tent on the riverbank for better river game viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donnaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thanks so much for your wonderful and in detail comment. Much appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay. We really hope to treat you in the near future

Kind Regards
Francina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed over in one of their safari tents looking over the gorge. Their attention to detail was amazing from the welcoming snacks to the vip guest gift for my husband's 30th birthday in our tent!! The stunning bath and outside shower is breathtaking ..... felt so near nature!!!We rode an elephant , got insightful information from the elephant handlers- it is highly recommendable!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank naturechildPaarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thanks so much for your wonderful comment. Glad you we could have spoiled you with the VIP gift. Hope to see you for your 30th birthday as well and many more to come.

Kind Regards
Francina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were looking for a break and have decided to stay at Botlierskop for two days. We had our doubts about the tented accommodation as a cold front moved in from the west, but were we surprised as the comfort of the tents were no diffirent from any other accommodation. We can only describe the tents as the most comfortable and luxurious accommodation we experience in a long time, never mind the most beautiful environment with Knysna Loeries on the deck in full view. The food, service and hospitality were special with a personal touch. We had the most awesome experience by doing the "cat walk", something never to forget. Really a special 2 days to recharge our batteries. Definately recommended and we are looking forward to our next visit. Francois & Mariana Janse van Rensburg

Room Tip: Tent 7 is very quiet and away from the rest with a nice view of the river and antelope grazing in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Francois J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Francois & Mariana Janse van Rensburg

Thank you so much for your comment. We are so glad you enjoyed our comfortable and luxurious tents as well as the food and all the special touches. We are looking forward hosting you again to recharge.

Kind Regards
Francina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The whole outing we had was very good which included an excellent Safari 3hr. trip.
Unfortunately during our trip I lost my car keys and every effort was made by the staff to make us comfortable.
The guide especially went out of his way and did a repaeat Safari drive with me to try and find the missing keys, but to no avail.
As my only solution was to get a spare key brought all the way from Cape Town, the staff and management went out of their way to make us comfortable until such time as we could depart.
The Safari, the accommodation and all the staff were simply superb and I can highly recommend this venue for either a day or a few days stay.

Room Tip: The tented accommodation is extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Clive

Thanks so much for the comment left
So glad we could assist and even happier that we found the car keys and that it reached you safely.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Francina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
10.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
8.8 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
360 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
13.6 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 38 in Mossel Bay
887 reviews
6.6 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#8 of 38 in Mossel Bay
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $148 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop reserve is stretching over 3500 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 17 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. The Manor house on the reserve has 7 rooms with views over the plains and good game viewing opportunities. Some rooms has baths and showers some only showers. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, horse back safaris, bush walks and spa treatments. Game includes lions, elephants, buffalo's, rhino'giraffes, black impala, zebra and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing