We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Reinet Guest House
Ranked #12 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

As a guest I could not have expected a warmer welcome! Nick and Alisa welcomed me into Villa Reinet as if I were family. Over a welcome cup of tea we sat and chatted in the homely and comfortable lounge and even the sun obliged and shone through an enormous bay window.
My room, which was spacious and comfortable, opened out into a beautiful garden. Even in winter the garden promised pleasant hours of restful contemplation under the trees and amongst the shrubs. An evening around the fireside with other guests and dinner afterwards made a welcome change from sitting alone in a restaurant. Nick and Alisa are proud of where they live and are willing to give boundless information about the area and places to visit. A memorable stay with a wonderful couple. Thanks Nick and Alisa!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    38
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
61
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Old house stuffed full with all the charm of its histoyr and the lively owners. Our children loved the dogs. Quiet street an easy and safe walk to historic centre of town, restaurants etc. A short drive to national park.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallée de la Loirel
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

the house is very nice with trees. As it was very hot we appreciate that.
A very good address with "huge" breakfast and , and the owners are charming and very kind people

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tienoumat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Reinet. It's near the centre of the town and restaurants are easily reached by foot. The building itself has alot of atmosphere, the rooms, the hallway and the garden all have a distinctive historical style. The owners are the warmest of persons one can imagine, really friendly and interested.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vloepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

that´s how you feel after 5 Minutes when you are talking to the owners!!!
Very helpful and friendly with a lot of good tips and advices what to do in Graaff-Reinet and the surrounding.
Rooms are very clean and the garden with the little pool is just lovely!
Defnetly a place to stay when you´re in town!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed there for one night on 8 Jan 2010 and can recommend Villa Reinet without hesitation. The small pool was a welcome surprise after a hot day's driving. Our room was set in the lush garden which is a major feature of the place and adds to its homeliness.

Our room was spotless, although the aircon (a must in Graaff-Reinet) was a tad noisy and barely coped with the heat.

The hosts are helpful, attentive, friendly and proud of their town. The breakfast was good too!

Although we prefer farm stays when stopping over in the area for one night, we will return to Villa Reinet in future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapstieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We found the property by accident, searching for another guesthouse which had closed between the publication of the Rough Guide and our visit.
We choose one of the courtyard rooms, which was less expensive (but smaller) than the room in the main house.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable and adequate for a one night stay.
For longer stays I would choose the room in the main house.
We had a very warm welcome with tea, juice or soft drinks offered, which was very welcome after our long, hot drive from Addo National Park to Graaf - Reinet.
The town itself can be explored on foot. It has many historic buildings and a stunning church in the middle of the town.
The owner booked us a table in a restaurant called the Coldstream which was excellent. They even offered to collect us from the restaurant after our meal. What a service!
The only drawback is that there are several dogs and cats roaming the garden. I have an allergy to cats and my wife is frightened of large dogs so she was a bit uncomfortable being in the garden with the dogs.
Breakfast was very generous and more than we could manage.
Overall a great place to stay if you dont mind the cats and dogs in the garden.

Dont miss exploring the national parks close to the town. The wildlife is incredible - go for a drive round the lake early morning or late afternoon, and the valley of desolation is breathtaking.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustymiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.4 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#5 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Obesa Lodge
Obesa Lodge
#3 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aan Die Oewer Bed & Breakfast
Aan Die Oewer Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Reinet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Reinet Guest House

Property: Villa Reinet Guest House
Address: 83 Somerset Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Reinet Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Reinet Guest House, a National Heritage Monument, situated in the historic Karoo country town of Graaff-Reinet (est. 1786). The perfect place from which to explore this exciting part of South Africa. Accommodation in comfortable, cosy garden rooms, or spacious villa rooms. All rooms have garden accessibility, are en-suite, air conditioned, TV, beverage tray, toiletries, hair dryer and percale linen bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Reinet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing