We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay and we certainly will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karoopark Guest House
Ranked #9 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“great place to stay and we certainly will be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

very welcoming place with everything you need at hand. the owners are very friendly and make sure you have a great time by giving information about everything and helping were necessary. one of the best places to stay in the karoo

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    99
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
79
82
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

This guesthouse was well priced and very accommodating to our needs. It is located in a quiet tree lined avenue in Graaff Reinet and one can walk around and view the other historic homes in the street as well as the magnificent church. The rooms (we had a double room) were enormous and the service adequate. Only complaint was that they did not provide sufficient towels, hand towels, face cloths or soap. The bath was also meant for a large frog - certainly not a human - because I couldn't sit in it comfortably. The showers could do with some updating but overall they delivered decent service.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjmartis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I've been so often in Graaff-Reinet, that it feels like coming home, especially when I stay in Karoopark. When you are often a way, you need a place where you are not a traveller or a stranger, but just a family member. Not only I felt like that, but all the others, even tourists from overseas.
The warmth of the owners and the staff makes Graaff-Reinet really The Gem of The Karoo.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkanDemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

I really love Karoopark Guesthouse. Buks and Louise Marais made me feel at home since my first visit to South Africa in 2004. Every year I try to visit them if I travel around the most beautiful country I know (I visited SA 9 times)
Karoopark Guesthouse is situated in the middle of the beautiful town Graaff-Reinet. They have secured parking and the people who work there can tell you everything about Graaff-Reinet and the things that you can do there. The rooms are spacious and beautiful decorated. I really loved it to sit in the bar in the evening and have a chat with different guests from different country's. So I would recommend Karoopark to people who visit Graaff-Reinet. (nice things we did there: visit the township, visit a rugby-game, flying in ultralights....)
And don't forget the witte hond....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo75Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

As Dutch tour organizers we had to find an alternative when our usual resort informed us that the were fully booked. The Karoopark was offered to us as a good replacement.
This alternative came out as being excellent: good rooms, a pleasant atmosphere and staff who made you feel very welcome.
The 'withond' story of co-host Chantelle made the quality dinner even more enjoyable.
In our view Graaff-Reinet is a 'must' when you visit South Africa and Karoopark is a very good choice when you are looking for a place to stay.
Can we compare? We visited RSA 29x; 25x as organizers and leaders of Dutch tour groups - so we are experienced.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenkvanderVegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We went for a 3 days to Graaff-Reinet. An interesting and beautiful place in the Karoo. We stayed at Karoopark, and I can really recommend this lovely place. The location is perfect, in the middle of town, safe parking area, a nice garden with a clean swimming pool. The breakfast was great, and we really enjoyed the excursions. We went for a game drive in Camdeboo National Park. We met Isaac and he was our guide in the township we visited. In the late afternoon, we went with an organised tour to the Valley of Desolation. And don't forget the Karoo lamb and the Withond! We had a lovely time and Karoopark is the perfect place for a nice getaway! Thanks Buks and family. We're coming back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

The rooms are clean and the beds are okay.

I would juts like ti say to every one rather dont pay the full amount pay 50% upfront and balance before you leave as you migjht change your mind and the staff are not friendly at all and lack of trying to help if you want to cancel dont count it...... RAATHER SAD AS I will not go there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.3 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camdeboo Cottages
Camdeboo Cottages
#4 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Manor Boutique Guest House
Queen Manor Boutique Guest House
#13 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoopark Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoopark Guest House

Property: Karoopark Guest House
Address: 81 Caledon Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karoopark Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karoopark Guest House is situated in the main road. Accommodation is available in en-suite rooms in the garden or in the colonial-style manor house. Karoopark has a A'la Carte Restaurant & bar, a swimming pool, secure parking, B&B or self-catering accommodation. Tours are also on offer to the nearby highlights such as the Valley of Desolation, Agava (Tequila) Factory and Camdeboo National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karoopark Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing