We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Red Carpet....”
Review of Kambro Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graaff-Reinet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kambro Cottage
Ranked #7 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Red Carpet....”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Absolutely fabulous...I honestly felt like I'd arrived to visit old friends who had gone to the ends of the earth to prepare for my stay - honestly! Such a beautiful cottage, such amazing attention to detail...gorgeous padded coat hangers, I don't even have those in my own home! The love and care that enveloped me when I walked through those doors...and lingered long after my reluctant departure...superb job Greg, you are a star!

Room Tip: Both cottages are wonderful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukulapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Kappers, Owner at Kambro Cottage, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kambro Cottage.and that you felt it was a home away from home.
It was lovely meeting and getting to know you.
We are looking very forward to your return visit next year together with your close friends!
See you soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
44
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a truly wonderful 2 night stay at Kambro Cottages which is well located on a quiet street with lovely historic houses and buildings and within 2 blocks of the main street. Kambro cottage has 2 separate self-contained cottages, we stayed in Somerset Cottage which was very comfortable, spacious, exceptionally clean and beautifully updated. Our host Greg was attentive to all our needs and delivered a delicious breakfast to our room each morning. Greg was very helpful in making restaurant reservations for us and giving us lots of information on what to see and do in and around Graaf-Reinet. We would recommend this cottage most highly!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Kappers, Owner at Kambro Cottage, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
To receive such a glowing review from European Tourists means a great deal to us at Kambro Cottage.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope we made your trip to South Africa just that little bit more special!
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Lovely little cottage, brilliantly renovated, clean and well appointed. The lounge/dining/bedroom area is tasteful and practical. Hardly ever find a mirror near an electric plug - blow dry your hair in comfort at the dressing table!!!!! Lovely small kitchen and stunning bathroom. Our landlord Greg was helpful and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is centrally located and within walking distance of most tourist attractions and some lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrownsSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Kappers, Owner at Kambro Cottage, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Many many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor!
We are most delighted that you enjoyed the smaller touches and attention to detail in our cottages.
We strive to deliver an experience out of the ordinary for our guests in the hope that their time spent in Graaff-Reinet is truly a memorable one.
It was fantastic meeting you and we hope the Karoo has found a special little space in your heart.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This Cottage is really lovely, a very cosy and nicly restorated place in the very center of the city.
Room was just perfect, very nice interior, small kitchen, very nice bathroom, everything super clean. The landlord was very friendly and helpfull, gave us precise tips where to go, what time it will consume, etc. Finally we got even a gift, a concrete owl from the famous "owl house"!
I fully recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norbert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Kappers, Owner at Kambro Cottage, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
It's always so nice to have happy guests!
We are so glad you explored our town from top to bottom!.
It really is the Jewel of the Karoo!
Thank you for your support and kind words in your review.
Hope to see you again if you are ever back in SA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Lovely accommodations with everything you could need for a short stay or an extended self-catered visit to the town and surrounding area.
With a beautifully decorated lounge, dinning room / office area and bed in a charming old, but spectacularly maintained building with 3m high ceilings, yellow wood floors, kitchen and wonderfully modern bathroom.
A quaint, country garden with vines covering pergolas, a splash pool to cool off in and escape the dessert heat and secure off road parking combine with the ever friendly and accommodating hosting of the owner Greg to make it the only place to stay when passing through or visiting Graaff-Reinet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Kappers, Owner at Kambro Cottage, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for such a comprehensive review of our B&B.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our cottages pleasant and comfortable.
We are most grateful for your support and hope to see you again in the near future.
Happy travelling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darling, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

After the thunder storms curtailed our camping at Camdeboo, Kambro provided us with a very enjoyable stay at very short notice. Although our stay was brief, the facilities and service was excellent and the host made us feel most welcome.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here twice. The facilities are excellent. The room is beautifully decorated, spacious and clean. All amenities were available as well as a stocked fridge with the neccessary drinks after a long day on the road. The pool was clean and warm with swimming towels provided. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank FleR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.2 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#5 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Obesa Lodge
Obesa Lodge
#3 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambro Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambro Cottage

Property: Kambro Cottage
Address: 73 Somerset Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation is provided in two tastefully decorated cottages, fully air-conditioned with en suite bathrooms and fully equipped kitchenettes. Private entrances and safe off-street, undercover parking is also available. The cottages are supplied with crisp linens, plush towels, toiletries and all the modern conveniences that you may need during your stay. Guests can choose between Self-Catering or Bed and Breakfast. Each room can comfortably accommodate two adults. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing