We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homeward Bound”
Review of Kingfisher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingfisher Lodge
Ranked #29 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Gordons Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homeward Bound”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Found the staff very friendly service was good and the rooms very clean.
The surrounding area was quite and a nice lot of birds to wake you in the
morning. Pleasant to sit out in the evening very peaceful after a long days
drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Pat & Macky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
18
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great place! Nikki was very professional and the breakfast was AMAZING! Nikki's recommendation for Polka was fantastic.. please go and eat there! Great wine and great food. Thank you again for a great time. My family had a great time too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Monekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooroopna, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Room very cold but we did get an extra heater. Breakfast was great. People very friendly. Lodge was close to the main shopping centre which is always handy. We thought that it was a little expensive compared to similar lodges we stayed at on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

1st thing we thought of when leavin is that we need 2 write review so ppl know about this awesome place.The room was fantastic,peaceful, electric blanket,heater etc.Breakfast was the best,really amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The room was very neat and clean. The location of the Lodge, although not in the centre of town, was good. We walked into town during the day. The staff was very friendly. I would suggest that management should be present at breakfast to ensure a more consistent offering. Overall feeling was good and we felt at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I spent a very comfortable night at the Kingfisher Lodge. As we arrived late and left early the following day we did not have much time to explore but the service was excellent, the room clean and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning lovely.
I would recommend the lodge to anyone staying in Graaf Reinet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our time in Graaf-Reinet was so refreshing. The staff at Kingfisher Lodge crept straight into our hearts. They made sure we had everything we needed and were always happy to see us.

Wifi was fantastic, the rooms were well equipped and the grounds were scenic and relaxing, with a lovely pool and deck for chilling in the shade of the warm Karoo sun. If you need to get away, this is probably the place to go to leave the city behind but still have all the amenities you can't do without!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.4 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Whyte House
The Whyte House
#14 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aan Die Oewer Bed & Breakfast
Aan Die Oewer Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
#9 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Lodge

Property: Kingfisher Lodge
Address: 33 Kitchner Avenue | Cypress Grove, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet grove next to the Sundays River, with giant old trees creating a tranquil atmosphere in the beautiful garden. This is where you can enjoy your stay in any one of our eight stylish suites.We have a comfortable reading lounge, TV room, wine cellar and pool side bar as well as an entertainment area for braais, potjies and general get-togethers, the Kingfisher Guesthouse is a place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Kingfisher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing