We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, try the springbok fillet”

The Coldstream Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $170
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Coldstream Restaurant is open from 10.00am to 21.30pm. Our Pizza's are served from 10.00am to 19.00pm. Come and enjoy a nice relaxed dining experience here where children can play on the trampoline or swings and you can enjoy a meal inside or outside, depending on your mood! We look forward to serving you!! The Coldstream
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, try the springbok fillet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

A lovely atmosphere, with pleasant service and a comfortable ambiance. The trio of fillet steaks were excellent, beef, ostrich and springbok, each tastier than the last, with the springbok fillet being an absolute treat. The fillets seemed quite small however, less than their reported 100g x 3. Still, a quite delicious meal.

The best food in Graaf Reinet in my opinion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank asoktheintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    83
    21
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely dinner at The Coldstream Restaurant. Situated next to the church we sat at a table in the garden. The food was escellent and the staff very helpful and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevoz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tastiest lamb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We ended a week long culinary tour of the Karoo at Coldstream. Their lamb ribs and lamb shank were definitely the tastiest lamb we tasted. The service was good and portions were very generous. Our only complaint was that the restaurant was quite cramped and we felt a little like we were in a communal dining room rather than a restaurant. But given that it was freezing cold and raining outside, we couldn't deduct more than one mark for this. It was not entirely their fault. The wine list was also very impressive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carriig_GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Disappointing Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant and were disappointed in quite a few things. The lamb kebab was very chewy, although, to be fair, I was offered another dish but declined as it was edible, but not enjoyable. As we were about to leave, a diner lit up a pipe, inside the restaurant. When we queried it with the staff, we were told that the owner knew the gentleman concerned and allowed it! All in all, a very disappointing dining experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GogoGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed in Graaff Reinet for 2-3 nights for the last 5 years and have always booked straight away to eat at The Coldstream. Its one of our favourite places to eat in SA. The food has always been of excellent standard and cooked to perfection and the staff are extremely efficient. We always enjoy our evenings here and I hope we shall return for many years to come

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coldstream Restaurant also viewed

Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Coldstream Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing