We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”

The Coldstream Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $170
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Coldstream Restaurant is open from 10.00am to 21.30pm. Our Pizza's are served from 10.00am to 19.00pm. Come and enjoy a nice relaxed dining experience here where children can play on the trampoline or swings and you can enjoy a meal inside or outside, depending on your mood! We look forward to serving you!! The Coldstream
Wakefield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Ate here on two successive nights. The food was excellent on both evenings as was the service. The bonus at the end was the low bill - about half what we would pay in the UK. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    86
    24
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“-2 rating at most”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Surprised by reviews on this site as bad eating experince all round. Unpleasant service as we were invisble to the waitress and 2 people got service only afetr first two had eaten. Meat too cold to rate as edible. Never again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge W, Owner at The Coldstream Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your frank review.
We take all comment (both good and bad) very seriously and try to ensure our service and quality is of a very high standard. That said, we do slip up sometimes and that is why we like to hear from our guests. Unfortunately whilst you were here, you did not inform anyone of your complaint. We have two chefs on duty at all times and they make a point of checking that every table is happy and dealing with any issues that may arise. If your table had alerted us to your unhappiness we could have had the opportunity to make good. Unfortunately they did not and thus we are in the situation where you have posted a bad review but we were not afforded the opportunity to rectify the situation at the time.
If you could see your way to giving us a second chance, we would be thrilled to try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We came through Graaff-Reinet and made a stop over for one night. As we did'nt have a reservation, we got a small table inside. The restaurant itself was nice furnished with a good atmospere. At the coldstream restaurant we ate the best food ever in South Africa. The service was top and the food was delicious. We tried Greek salad and it tasted like being in Greece, fantastic. As main we ordered an ostrich fillet and the recommended dish with three different steaks (ostrich, springbok and beef), the meat was really medium as we ordered and it was delicious. It is very hard to get tasty "african" food in South Africa. As desert we took Tiramisu, but don't try it, it is not worth it (it's ok, but not like Tiramisu in Italy). In total I really recommend this restaurant, for South Africa it is a bit pricey, but the food is excellent.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge W, Owner at The Coldstream Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for you comments and looking forward to seeing you again
Kind Regards
INGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
2 reviews
“Unappetising tough mutton speciality”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Disappointing food all round. Tough meat (mutton not lamb). Such a change from when we visited there 2 years ago. Sad to say that the steak ranch (Spur) offfered far far superior the eveing after.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tretief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
1 review
“MORE THAN PLEASANTLY SURPRISED”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

On our last night in South Africa 7 of us dined in the Coldstream. I really did not know what to expect as we were gueste with my son and family. They say one should keep the good wine until last abnd this was no exception. We dine out in the UK and I was more than surprised by the high standard of Cuisine and pleasant service. Everything about the evening was excellent and I take my hat of to the chef. All courses prepared and cooked to high standard and I look forward to returning to what can only summed up as a culinary gem of the Karoo

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APRICE987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coldstream Restaurant also viewed

Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Coldstream Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing