We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfying experience”
Review of Polka

Polka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
1,026 reviews
516 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Very satisfying experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We only spent one night in Graaff-Reinet and are very thankful for the hostess of our B&B to steer us to the Polka Restaurant - where we just managed to grab the last table available.

We started out with the carpaccio of beef and springbok, progressed to the main courses of fillet of game (also springbok) and the trio of breaded kudu, lamb with balsamic reduction sauce and game sausage served with fries and ended it all up with our first malva pudding. We also tried a few glasses of white and red wines (South African, of course) and ended it all up with amarula liqueur ("ladies drink", as the waiter explained) and decaf cappuccino for a total tab of just over usd50. The food was fantastic, the service very sweet if a tad slow, which did not bother us as we had the whole evening to spend in this nice place.

We do highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weberwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    249
    56
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We phoned to make reservation and left a message to which we never received reply. Normally that would have been that. However Polka came highly recommended and we took our chances and went there anyway. We were pleasantly surprised and had an excellent meal with a friendly and attentive waitress. I had the venison which was superb while my wife enjoyed her traditional Bobotie. Yes, we will definitely return when in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louwjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yum”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

great food ...good ciabatta and preserves..enjoy the setting and the fact that there is dining at night

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Santesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Compilments to the chef. The ambuance of the restaurant is excellent as well as the service. I will highly recommend it a visit and will surely return!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stopped at Polka for lunch while traveling through Graaff Reinet. The food was excellent and the restaurant decor delightful. Service was efficient and the staff very friendly. I highly recommend Polka to anyone visiting Graaff Reinet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anzhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polka also viewed

 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Polka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing